We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, kids loved the breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place, kids loved the breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family(me, wife and two kids) stayed here in October for 4 nights. We used the hotel as a base for exploring the area. We drove down to Sea World one day, and up to LegoLand another day. We thought the location was very good and the room was comfortable. The hotel seemed to be pretty busy and even though there was a fair amount of traffic in the hallways at times, we were surprised that the noise didn't seem to come through the door(as it has at other times I've traveled). My kids enjoyed the pool and a cookie every evening. Staff was friendly and we may stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Y, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    113
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
180
87
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed there during a short vacation (followed by a business stay at a different hotel in the area). This hotel is not near the beach, which is about 15 minute drive away, so this is probably not the best place for a beachside vacation. Other than that, it is a very very nice place - friendly staff, comfortable room, nice bathroom, very comfortable bed, a large flat-screen TV with a good assortment of channels, including Showtime. The room rate includes free WiFi internet, free parking, and free breakfast for all occupants, with a nice assortment of hot dishes, cereals, yogurt, fruits, freshly-made waffles, bagels and cream cheese. There is coffee and tea in the lobby around the clock, a few times a day they make fresh cookies, though those go pretty fast, judging by the fact that most of the time we saw them all gone. The staff were all very friendly and attentive.
Some very very minor dings against this hotel are that the windows in (our) room did not open, and the air felt a little stuffy (but not overbearingly so). Also, the ironing board hanging in the closet made it just an inch short to lay the suitcase sideways. Other than these nitpicks, we enjoyed our stay very much, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are all very excited to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, along with all the other amenities we offer to our guests. We hope to once more be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time you are in the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Its located 20 mins away from the san diego zoo on a very nice area. Rooms and cleanliness are optimal and breakfast is great. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a very large parking are right in front of the hotel. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Andres T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community! On behalf of all of us here at the Country Inn and Suites, we are ecstatic to see that you were able to take full advantage of our quiet, convenient location to San Diego freeways; along with all of the complimentary amenities we offer such as our hot buffet breakfast each morning and the fresh cookies each evening. We hope to once again be able to provide the high level of service you have come to expect the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here October 2012. Everything was great- plenty of parking, fantastic free breakfast, plus we got free wifi. Lots of chain restaurants within driving distance. It is a little ways out of the city, and the traffic is the reverse of what I'm used to - AM goes away from San Diego, PM goes back to it. But we came from Houston so it was no big deal to drive the 15-20 minutes to sightsee. Close to Torrey Pines and La Jolla.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Allison_in_Houston,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers. It is great to see that your stay in San Diego was enjoyable, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our quiet, relaxing atmosphere. We hope to be able to provide a similar experience, the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed four nights while visiting my son who is stationed at MCAS Miramar. The hotel was convenient to the base and freeways to downtown. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable (better than the heavenly beds at the Westin we stayed at later in our trip). The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff was very friendly and always greeted us as we came and went. Free parking too.

Would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
John T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that you experience with us was quite enjoyable, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our quiet, comfortable location; along with all of the amenities our hotel offers. We hope to see you once more the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't have much reservation about staying here initially--but my expectations were far surpassed.
The staff was overtly friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. Not just cereal and bread... But DIY Waffles, Hot Oatmeal.. Real Bacon and eggs.. Caught me completely by surprise.
The pool, tho outside has an excellent temperature (and unfortunately the San Diego area was a bit on the cooler side) but the warmth of the pool made for a great swim.
The room was average.. It was clean, LCD Television, comfortable bed....
The surrounding area is quiet and right off the eixt. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Anem16,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that we were not only able to provide you with a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, but we were also able to far exceed your expectations with our friendly, helpful staff; as well as all of the complimentary amenities we offer, from the hot buffet breakfast each morning, to the warm, fresh baked cookies in the evenings. Hopefully we can once again provide you with the high level of service you have come to expect from us the next time you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been staying here for nearly 5 years on my bi-monthly trips to San Diego. I gave up at Woodfin Suites (new name now) and stayed here based on a very positive experience I had at Country Inn and Suites in Calabasas.

Bed and pillows are the best. The office chair is an Aeron, the best chair ever made for working. The shower heads are great, as is the pressure and the curved shower rod.

For a complimentary breakfast, they have the best. Fresh scrambled eggs NOT diluted with milk or water, bacon or sauage, potatoes or bisquits/gravy, hot fresh oatmeal (not from a bag) fresh cut fruit, 4 kinds of fruit juice including guava juice, fresh muffins, those great DIY Belgian waffles and superior coffee. They serve 1/2 and 1/2 for the coffee.

Kevin B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to once again share your experience with our potential cleints. As always, it is great to see that we consistently provide you with a relaxing comfortable stay, and we certaintly appreciate the continued feedback, and look forward to the next time you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.