We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accessible room- beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rialto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“accessible room- beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

first of all i ordered a double queen bed fo me my wife and two teenage kids 16-17. showed up to the desk only for them to stick me with a accessible room which means they gave me a room for the handicap. my two teenage kids slept ont the bed with my wife and i slept on the floor.for which i had to or else i would lose a one night stay. the hotel had three football teams there so that's where my pre ordered double queen bed went instead, the first night was chaos,kids running up and down the hallway,no control whats so ever, then we slept only to get awaken by a bliniking and blaring alarm in or room @ 2:00 in the morning,which we all had to evacuate!turns out that kids from the team pulled it! then i had to pay and extra $20.00 to at least 1 night stay on what i originally ordered. beware of accessible rooms! make sure you need accessible(which means handicap) room if you are handicap use it if you have two teenage children and wife don't use it or you will end up on the floor like i did .. good luck was a nightmare for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I am very sorry to hear of your concerns and experience over this past weekend. I understand there was some sort of confusion or booking error made with your reservation, which was purchased on a 3rd party site, and I apologize if our staff was unable to remedy this matter to your satisfaction. If you have a moment, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns directly, so that I may address these items effectively.
-Ryan Foley
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    165
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
230
120
28
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craig, CO.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on business. Staff was excellent, as was the breakfast. Room was clean and quiet. I was on the 7th floor and at the end of the hallway, so I was worried about wireless, but the signal was strong and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and other potential guests. We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentar breakfast buffet along with free wifi access. We look forward to your next visit, and again, thank you for your kind remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed there for one night while visiting San Diego, very nice, clean place to stay. Staff were professional and polite. Breakfast was good (standard fare for Country Inn's) and fresh. Just the right number of seats for a busy area in the morning. Parking was convenient and everything worked like it was supposed to. Definitely staying here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Mitchpta,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and other potential guests. On behalf of our entire staff, I want to extend our appreciation for recognizing their hard work and service. It is also great to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. We hope you will continue to stay as our guest during future visits to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Arrived late with 4 kids and a wife, they were able to get us rooms that connected, very helpful, very clean and updated hotel. Breakfast was great and the staff was a complete pleasure. If I'm heading that way again, I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Chad,
On behalf of our entire staff, I want to thank you for the wonderful feedback and remarks you have shared with our team. It is wonderful to hear our staff assigned connecting rooms for your family, and that you had the opportunity to try our complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long birthday weekend. From this location we went to the zoo, the beaches and Sea World, all within 10-15 minute drives. It is located in a business park area rather than the touristy and somewhat overpriced "hotel row." This is a particularly upscale Country Inn, the room was very nice, everything felt very new. I will say we arrived VERY late on the Friday night (more like Saturday morning) and the hotel's lot (it shares parking with another hotel just across the way) was quite full. Had to park around the side, but that's just a busy weekend in beautiful San Diego for you! We pulled the blackout curtains and actually slept past Noon the next day, so no noise to wake you up and you know on Saturday morning there had to be kids running up and down the hall. Didn't hear a thing!!

The only drawback I could see was that, because it's in a business park area rather than a tourist trap, you had to venture out a couple of miles to find restaurants, even fast food. I would definitely stay here again, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us! Thank you very much for sharing such kind remarks and helpful feedback regarding your stay. Hopefully you had the opportunity to try our complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were very pleased with our whole experiece at this hotel. We were greeted nicely, checked in quickly and the room was clean and comfortable. We only ended up in Mira Mesa because of the crowds in San Diego, but we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
It is great to hear you enjoyed your weekend as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other potential guests. The staff truly cares about the level of service we provide, and the recognition truly reinforces their efforts. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a delight to stay in a hotel that offers so much for a very reasonable price. We were very impressed with our stay at Country Inn. Check in was smooth and the staff professional, helpful and friendly. The room was large, immaculate and attractive. This is the first hotel that we have stayed at that i has gone "green" where we could actually use the bedside lamps for reading in the evening. Breakfast was varied and included in the price. Parking and wi-fi was free. While it isn't in the middle of the city, it is quite close to the freeway and minutes from lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rfoley1, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
JSW842, On behalf of our entire staff I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other potential guests. It is wonderful to hear of your experience with our staff, and the comfort of your stay. Thank you for mentioning our Green Key award. We are so excited about our continued efforts in Responsible Business practices, particularly in our Green efforts and community outreach volunteer events. It is also nice to hear you were able to enjoy some of our complimentary amenities such as the breakfast buffet, parking and wifi. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you come down and visit San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#12 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.