We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

From check in to check out, this was a great experience and I highly recommend this location. You do need a vehicle, as it is in an out of the way location with only a Chilis restaurant next door (which was also very good).
The room was very nice and very comfortable and the hotel staff was friendly and efficient.
We stayed here for 3 nights after staying in the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines for 4 nights. And for the price savings, I would recommend the Country Inn over the Hilton. The size of the Country Inn room was comprable to the Hilton. The only major differences were the size of the TV screen (which did not matter to us), the large fancy pool and hot tub area, and the plush towels and robes at the Hilton (which you just can't beat)
If there is a Country Inn located where you are traveling, you would be wise to check it out! That is exactly what I plan on doing the next time I want a clean comfortable room, delicious complimentary breakfast, free parking and excellent service!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    115
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
176
86
21
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This stay was horrible. He had bed bugs... all over. we stayed for 3 nights and on the morning we were leaving we found them all over our bed. I understand they are now spreading rapidly now and are difficult to get rid of but i was most unimpressed with how the situation was handeled after being brough to the supervisors attention. There was little compassion for the fact we had been sleeping with bugs and we were only slightly compensated. The supervisor made comments such as "we dont breed them, they are everywhere, and that it was due to foreighners"... so unprofessional. everything else was great however.. the food was great and staff very friendly!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff, I am very sorry to hear of your experience as our guest. I assure you, we take every issue, including this, very seriously. Please contact me directly, at your convenience, so that we may resolve this matter to the best of our abilities and your satisfaction.
Warm Regards,
Ryan Foley
Ryan.foley@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Great, plentiful breakfast buffet, friendly service and comfy rooms. Location is not good if you're interested in downtown, but we visited many areas, beaches, hiking trails and downtown easily.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent one night here on a family vacation. Very nice and clean hotel. Great breakfast, nice staff. Highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were nice and very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel greatly exceeded my expectations for a relatively inexpensive ($150/night) business-traveler chain hotel. The room sported the usual accoutrements (flat-screen TV, desk, microwave, minifridge) but was generously sized and recently renovated. The bathroom had granite countertops with plenty of room to spread out toiletries. Minimal to no noise issues in the room. WiFi reception (free) was excellent throughout the hotel. The free morning breakfast was better and had more selections than I've found at Hampton or HI Express. It's located adjacent to a Qualcom office park, but I found it an easy commute into downtown -- 20 minutes straight down the 805 to the 163. There's nothing much around it, but if you've got a car and you're just looking for a clean & comfy place to lay your head, this hotel fits the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We really enjoyed this property, the staff was so helpful. Breakfast was really good & a variety each day. Nice pool. Rooms very clean & comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had an excellent stay with this hotel. We booked early and secured a great rate. When we arrived we were allowed to check in early and towards the end of our stay we were allowed to extend our stay at the same rate. The hotel was very quiet even though it was very busy. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The hot breakfast included in your price was the best I have ever seen. So many choices every morning from eggs and bacon to waffles to cereal to fresh fruit (cut up or whole for you to take with you) to yogurt to bagels, muffins, and toast. And I could go on. The hotel also had coffee, tea, and a snack out, so we were surprised with granola bars on our way out after breakfast and cookies on our way in! The hotel has a pool, hot tub, fitness center, laundry facility, and computers and printers for guest use, as well as other services we didn't even use. Although it may seem to far from San Diego, it was a very quick drive to all the big attractions from southern San Diego to Legoland and everything in between. The only thing I would say the hotel could improve on was the towels, but with that said, I wouldn't hesitate to book again and we stayed for 9 nights! Definately worth your money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.