We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, clean, comfortable, convenient, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle) to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle)
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Ranked #199 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
heerjansdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cheap, clean, comfortable, convenient, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This is a simple and cheap hotel. Decoration is basic. It is clean, room is spacious enough, bath/shower/WC/wash basin, good bed. Table for two for simple breakfast which can be collected free in the morning at the reception, bureau to work on with lap top. Good conventional large television with plenty of programs. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Free internet. Swimming pool. Parking.
Safe area to walk. Near (5 min. walk) Town&Country Convention Centre. Bus stop in front and about 2 min. walk with access to all destinations. Public transport is $5 a day for unlimited travel in the San Diego area.
Perfect place to stay if you can do without full breakfast and jack knifing attendants.
I will definitely go there again.
Not 5 star but a very comfortable 2-3 star. Very good value for your $$.
One draw back: No decent restaurants in the direct vicinity, so you have to go Down Town for that

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    161
    89
    46
    46
See reviews for
155
137
51
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel in December. Everything was fine: room, service, location. Very good quality/price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle), responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoy our rooms! We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego!

Alondra Vazquez
Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I like customer service of Ida, Rosy and Denai. they were all very helpful, friendly and easy to talk to. I wish best for all of them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle), responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that our customer service representatives Ida, Rosy and Denai were friendly and helpful! We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Great hotel for shopping, you do need a car because of the highway but its a great hotel for the basics! rooms are very clean and staff is great! very helpful!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle), responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us ! We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Reasonably priced, kids loved the waffle breakfast. No traffic noise from room and we were close to road. Annoying that every day we had to request more towels - 4 staying in the room and we arrived to find 2 towels - went and got more from reception, same story every day. WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle), responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that you like our affordable prices and that your kids enjoy our Waffle Breakfast! We apologize for the oversight that housekeeping failed to meet your request of additional towels. We will address it with our Housekeeping supervisor to correct the issue.We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The hotel was situated in a great location off of the 163 and I-8 where all of the bigger, fancier hotels are located. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk. We stayed Friday evening and departed Sunday. The room was simple, but still very comfortable and relaxing. The hotel is located between a high rise motel on one side and a resort on the other. But if I had to choose between those three, the Vagabond Inn would easily be my choice. They had a comfortable room, a great continental breakfast, great location and the value was second to none. I recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget and for those who want the best value for their dollar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle), responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that the Front desk was friendly and that you enjoy our amenities and breakfast. Thank you for choosing us!. We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We went to San Diego for Tennessee - San Diego game and I thought we would splurge on a Jacuzzi Suite at the Vagabond, which was right next to Qualcomm Stadium. Perfect !!! I got a ton of bonus points from my girl friend. The Vagabond thought of everything - great tub for two, 2 candles, music, bubble bath, etc. All I had to do was smile and say, "Yeah Baby".

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle), responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that you and your girl friend enjoy the amenities that our Jacuzzi Suite room has.We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle)

Address: 625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#92 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle) 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy SD with our newly renovated rooms. Located near the main attractions; Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp District, Balboa Park, You named. Our friendly staff will make you and your families feel like your home. Join us in the morning for breakfast with our delicious hot waffles and in the afternoon dive into one of our two pools or relax at the Jacuzzi. We hope you join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hotel Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn San Diego (Hotel Circle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.