We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, clean, comfortable, convenient, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Iris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego) (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
heerjansdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cheap, clean, comfortable, convenient, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This is a simple and cheap hotel. Decoration is basic. It is clean, room is spacious enough, bath/shower/WC/wash basin, good bed. Table for two for simple breakfast which can be collected free in the morning at the reception, bureau to work on with lap top. Good conventional large television with plenty of programs. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Free internet. Swimming pool. Parking.
Safe area to walk. Near (5 min. walk) Town&Country Convention Centre. Bus stop in front and about 2 min. walk with access to all destinations. Public transport is $5 a day for unlimited travel in the San Diego area.
Perfect place to stay if you can do without full breakfast and jack knifing attendants.
I will definitely go there again.
Not 5 star but a very comfortable 2-3 star. Very good value for your $$.
One draw back: No decent restaurants in the direct vicinity, so you have to go Down Town for that

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    192
    108
    57
    61
See reviews for
174
174
57
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel in December. Everything was fine: room, service, location. Very good quality/price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you enjoy our rooms! We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego!

Alondra Vazquez
Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I like customer service of Ida, Rosy and Denai. they were all very helpful, friendly and easy to talk to. I wish best for all of them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that our customer service representatives Ida, Rosy and Denai were friendly and helpful! We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Great hotel for shopping, you do need a car because of the highway but its a great hotel for the basics! rooms are very clean and staff is great! very helpful!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us ! We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Reasonably priced, kids loved the waffle breakfast. No traffic noise from room and we were close to road. Annoying that every day we had to request more towels - 4 staying in the room and we arrived to find 2 towels - went and got more from reception, same story every day. WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that you like our affordable prices and that your kids enjoy our Waffle Breakfast! We apologize for the oversight that housekeeping failed to meet your request of additional towels. We will address it with our Housekeeping supervisor to correct the issue.We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The hotel was situated in a great location off of the 163 and I-8 where all of the bigger, fancier hotels are located. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk. We stayed Friday evening and departed Sunday. The room was simple, but still very comfortable and relaxing. The hotel is located between a high rise motel on one side and a resort on the other. But if I had to choose between those three, the Vagabond Inn would easily be my choice. They had a comfortable room, a great continental breakfast, great location and the value was second to none. I recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget and for those who want the best value for their dollar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that the Front desk was friendly and that you enjoy our amenities and breakfast. Thank you for choosing us!. We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We went to San Diego for Tennessee - San Diego game and I thought we would splurge on a Jacuzzi Suite at the Vagabond, which was right next to Qualcomm Stadium. Perfect !!! I got a ton of bonus points from my girl friend. The Vagabond thought of everything - great tub for two, 2 candles, music, bubble bath, etc. All I had to do was smile and say, "Yeah Baby".

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorrrrr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time, to post a review online! I am glad to hear that you and your girl friend enjoy the amenities that our Jacuzzi Suite room has.We hope to see you the next time you visit sunny San Diego! - Alondra Vazquez, Guest Services Rep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#163 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#55 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#153 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#125 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: 625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#92 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy SD with our newly renovated rooms. Located near the main attractions; Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp District, Balboa Park, You named. Our friendly staff will make you and your families feel like your home. We hope you join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hotel Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.