We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Absolutely fantastic. The rooms were really nice, we got drinks on arrival and the service you recieved while having food was absolutely amazing. The location is great and lots of restaurants near by. If i was to give them feedback i would suggest they give free wifi and not charge you.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review! I am proud that our restaurant service and food exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    441
    142
    52
    37
See reviews for
291
737
121
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Spent two nights in this hotel. Easy access to the airport, and downtown San Diego. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Corner room had nice natural light. Bathroom was clean, and modern. Some street noise from level 7, but not to bad. We had a corner room facing the Horton Plaza. Staff very friendly, and helpful. Fitness room was adequate. Restaurant was excellent for breakfast. Definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation CaliDasiy and we look forward to welcoming you back! A nice well rounded review of our highlights. See you on your next visit! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel exudes old world charm and comfort. Our room was spacious clean and quiet. The staff, especially Jose were incredibly cheerful and welcoming. The location is perfect in that it is in the middle of downtown. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I will be sure to let Jose know your praise, thank you for recognizing his efforts! We look forward to your next visit. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed at the US Grant the night before my wedding. Everything was absolutely perfect! The staff was extremely polite and knowledgeable. They were also very helpful with hailing cabs for us and our room service arrived promptly at the time it was requested. The room was stunning. We loved the unique art on the walls. The shower was beautiful and was the size of a walk-in closet. The hotel is also conveniently located in downtown San Diego. We got married at the courthouse and we could have walked there is we wanted to. This was a perfect place to stay to make sure the evening and morning before our wedding was as stress-free and ran as smoothly as possible.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small. You may want to specify if you'd like to pay for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Forget the niceties about the hotel, congratulations on your wedding!! Thank YOU for celebrating with us before your big day! I can only hope you were relaxing in a hammock somewhere tropical with a Mai Tai in one hand and a laptop in the other while writing this review. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back for anniversaries! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

San Diego first visit. Looking for a good hotel was recommended the US Grant. Stayed 2 nights. The reviews are quite accurate, location good, quality hotel and staff but; The location are the back is where quite a few homeless people reside, and hassle you for whatever. The hotel is excellent apart from our room, being a superior full room, meaning next to, NO, on the Lift Shaft Elevators, being constantly noisy. UP & Down all night! We complained by telephone, in person at the desk to No avail. All where going to do something and get back- No one did! We asked to be moved, same, reaction, all where checking no one got back to us. In the end we just got on with it! The best it got was they where going to shut the lift off at 11'ish back on at 7am, not sure that happened.

The staff at the US GRANT are very helpful and pleasant, but 'actions speak louder than words'

Loved San Diego waterfront, didn't get enough time to explore all, would have been better if we had a decent room we paid full bucks for!

Room Tip: Not by the Elevators Shafts need to specify
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Those elevators have been working hard for many many years in this historic building and yes, they can be noisy. A few reviews down someone described this situation and this is again the Superior Room with a Single bed. Definitely not for the light sleeper, it is our most historic room (smallest too). Sounds like you were visiting on a Sold Out weekend but even if there weren't any other room options, I apologize that no one got back to you. Despite a solution or not, the staff needs to communicate with you. Good feedback for me! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wonderful location. Stayed three days for a business meeting in March. Rooms on the small side when compared to modern construction, but very nicely appointed. Bed was amazingly comfortable. Staff is first rate. Allowed an early check-in so I could prepare for dinner after a morning round of golf.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I hope the early check in and comfortable beds meant success for you on the greens! It could be a good future marketing angle for us. "Sleep at he US Grant and take a few stroked off your next game". I know my game could definitely use it. I would have to sleep here for a month straight to be respectable. Thank you for being our guest! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My company just finalized an industry meeting for 200 people and this was a great hotel!

First, the good stuff:
* The staff was outstanding - attentive, helpful, corteous and polite.
* Facility was first-rate. Now, its not new, so if you expecting new, you'll be disappointed. The meeting rooms were very professional, A/V was excellent and all the attendees raved about the facilities.
* Rooms - all the guest rooms are re-done and are very comfortable. Great mattresses!
* Location - right on the outskirts of Gaslight district so easily walkable and right by the San Diego LRT, so simple to get anyplace farther away.
* Appearance - hotel is stunning. So much architectural detail!

I highly recommend this facility. My family came with me on this trip and they loved it too!

Here are my issues:
* Bathroom temps - not AC vents in the bathroom so air-flow can be a bit iffy and can get a bit stuffy.
* Noise - lots of street noise outside the hotel and older windows don't really keep noise out.
* LL meeting rooms - there were certainly usable, but a bit dated.

All-in-all, these are pretty minor concerns.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Everyone who has read my responses knows I LOVE balanced feedback. I find these to be extremely fair and appreciate them a lot. Thank you for recognizing some things very important to me... most important being the people! This is what makes a hotel in my eyes. I hope next time we can welcome you back for leisure instead! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.