We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #52 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old world elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am staying a the US Grant in a deluxe room with a view that any shopaholic would die for. I am across the street from the westfield Horton Mall. The hotel is in the Gas Lamp district with easy waling access to dozens of restaurants and bars and is only about a 10 minute cab from the airport.
The Hotel was build in 1901 and has been restored to it is fresh and updated, but retains the detail of it's original design with Dark Woods, lots of carved panels in the walls and a very elegant lobby with crystal chandeliers and top notch service. The staff are very attentive and make you feel like royalty. The beds are amazing with layers of fluffy comforters and pillows. This is a great hotel for a couple or work trip but I would not recommend it for a family trip. There are only 1 or 2 restaurants and both are pretty upscale. No pool, gift shop or kid friendly activities or areas of the hotel. Families would do better elsewhere; especially given the price. Beautiful, elegant, expensive, luxurious, good location; but not right for families.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloemom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I think this is the first time that we have been called a Shopaholics dream! maybe we should go into a new direction with our marketing department.... you may be onto something here Chloemom... Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This beautiful hotel was a classy setting for the first part of our vacation. The corridors were dark leading to rooms and the thick carpets looked like they may have suffered from water perhaps from sprinklers, but those were minor issues. The staff could not be more helpful. The quality of food was excellent. The setting is superb as it is centrally located on the edge of the Gaslamp area. We also had to stay at the Hyatt. Very different types of hotels the latter being better for families because of the pool, sun terraces, Seaport Village etc but can be very busy and almost a town in itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
I really like this review (not just because it is 5 star and we just had two "3 star" reviews in a row...) but because it draws a very honest comparison to different styles of hotels. What I appreciate most is that you enjoy and acknowledge the different styles as a guest and see their respective placed. We are not a poolside oasis with 4000 people bustling around. Similarly they are not a subdued ode to classic luxury of a sometimes forgotten time. We all have our place in this world of hotels and guests get the pleasure of exploring different hotels and styles. ("circle of life" music playing as you read this). but the denominator is service and for recognizing that I thank you. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Large hotel, central location, looks impressive, rooms pretty good too and great staff. Forget sleep however, the sound from the road is nonstop even on the 6th floor. Managed no sleep at all not helped by the noisey kids in the next room. The hotel charges for wifi, parking and pretty much any extra. A night time drink in the lobby worked our as much as dinner in town. For the price this is average.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
This is going to go on a bit of a tangent.... but this review reminded me of a fantastic TEDx talk I just watched regarding relative value and the skewed perception that human nature has with value. It was a fascinating statistical approach to value that essentially proved that the perceived "good" value was directly related to what is next to it or to one's own past. A great example was this: in a wine store you have an $8 bottle of wine next to a $16 bottle of wine followed by a $32 bottle of wine. What studies have shown is that human nature is adverse to getting the lowest price items to avoid being perceived as "cheap" as well as for their own internal standards of quality but equally adverse to getting the $32 bottle of wine due to it being too expensive relative the nice middle ground of $16 in the center. Most people bought the $16 despite quality comparisons. Even more interesting: when they added a $52 bottle of wine next to the $32 bottle, sales for the #32 bottle skyrocketed! Now suddenly it was a good "value" when compared to the one next to it, without even tasting the quality.

The TED talk had many implications and even began to speak to larger world issues such as poverty and terrorism and how we can act using corrected perceived value to assist in remedying these actions and our mentality toward them. Fascinating talk and your review re-inspired me to watch it again. Thank you for being my inspiration! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed with my family in the event suite ( 2 bedrooms) for five days during our first visit to San Diego, found the hotel furniture average & the insulation in the room was terrible ( from the street noises), the location is good with a walking distance to to the fashion mall....
stayed in the second floor where an event was going on & need to walk through the partying people to reach our room.
The hotel in desperate need for update !! but the concierge were very helpful , food & service at the Grill rest are great

Room Tip: avoid the 2nd floor or the rooms next to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haithamalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for the honest assessment! I am happy to hear about the excellence of the staff, concierge, valet and restaurant experience! You are right about the street noise, being downtown to get the great location you mentioned does have it's drawbacks on summer weekends. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your next visit in San Diego. Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We booked two king rooms and on arrival to the rooms were given the wrong rooms as they were twin rooms. We had to go back to reception again iThese were changed and then one room in particular must have been the smallest king room in the hotel. The other also had no bottled water in the room. It was slightly disappointing as we have stayed here before and had a lovely room. We had a couple of drinks on the 'happy hour' but each time had to ask for the Happy hour menu as the staff were not forthcoming with offering this. However, the staff are very nice and helpful especially the valet guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soot30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Sorry to hear about the confusion of the bed types at check in but I am glad the staff and service made up the experience to bring the review back to 4 stars at least! We hope we welcome you back in the future for a 5 star experience! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lobby. Comfortable room that maintained its historic ambience. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful, and customer - oriented. Room was well priced. Room service was overpriced. But lots of great restaurants in walking distance. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I've never met a valet like Paul the doorman at the US Grant and I can't imagine a better breakfast.

We got in late on a Saturday night after the long flight from the east coast -- sitting behind people who put their seats all the way back while the plane was still taxiing. Tired. Grumpy. Ready for whatever unpleasant experience was coming next. The cab pulled up and Paul was right there. Somehow, after fifty other Saturday evening check-ins, he remembered my husband's first name. Incredible. He immediately offered chilled water. Lovely. He smoothly took our bags, ushered us to the front desk, and introduced us to the check-in person. Perfect. One employee made all the difference in our moods and set us up to like -- or at least tolerate -- whatever came next.

Because of our Starwood status, the continental breakfast was included. I've had a lot of hotel breakfasts and thought I knew what to expect. But never, ever, have I had a free hotel breakfast that started with an amuse bouche. Three tiny, luscious muffins. And not just on Sunday. Once again, we were set up to like whatever came next.

Great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDinDC20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Wow CDinDC, thank you so much for your praise and recognition of Paul! As I a sure you know, it really only takes one ambassador to make a big difference in a guests' experience. We are very proud that Paul was able to do this for you and he will certainly be recognized. Thank you for your kind words about the restaurant experience as well; we look forward to welcoming you back! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,255 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#20 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing