We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, clean, but mediocre service/small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Luxurious, clean, but mediocre service/small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Headed to SD for a quick weekend getaway, and found the hotel to be really classy. US Grant is an exceptionally nice hotel -- the lobby is beautiful, the architecture is amazing. All in all, the service we found to be somewhat lacking and the staff not what we expected.

PROS:
1. Fantastic hard product - outside, inside, lobby, overall atmosphere is really nice
2. Rooms are super clean and tidy, just a bit small
3. Great lighting in the hallways and room


CONS:
1. Although a SPG Gold member, they did not properly honor all the benefits
2. Room was really small -- apparently upgraded -- but felt ridiculously small
3. Parking is pretty pricey

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I can always appreciate a mixed honest review; thank you for taking the time to share! I wish I knew what aspect of your Gold Membership was not honored... the only benefit in the Gold Program that is subject to availability is the upgrade so maybe that wasn't available and that is what you are referring to? Everything else should be automatic; I apologize if something was missed! I am glad you enjoyed our historic design and we hope to see you again. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    435
    139
    51
    35
See reviews for
287
723
122
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friend and I came for the Rock n Roll Half Marathon and stayed at the US GRANT. It was a really beautiful classical hotel with many modern touches. The room was fitted with everything expected from a luxury hotel. Nice beds and turndpwn service and the decor was classical, yet contemporary. I wish there was a pool too, but I don't see where it would fit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your finishing the Rock and Roll Marathon! We have tried to find a place to put a pool but in a historic building at times it just doesn't make sense. Thankfully our guests can use the Westin Galsmap's pool! We look forward to seeing you for the run next year. Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Everyone was extremely pleasant, the hotel itself is beautiful and well maintained and rooms are very clean, recently renovated and comfortable. A luxury hotel for a good price--definitely recommend staying at the Grant

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
You know what never dawned on me until I saw your review is how many terms the post office shares with hospitality. First class (experience), overnight (parking), priority (check in), 2 day (stay), postage...... alright I don't have anything for that one... Except that WE ALWAYS DELIVER! (Someone just got a high-five). Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Location is excellent, close to a shopping center and at one end of the gaslamp so you can walk the whole way along all the bars & restaurants. The room was lovely & plush, the staff were great especially the chap on check-in he was really helpful & they had some wine & treats delivered to my room for my birthday which was a really lovely touch. The breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for recognizing our front desk staff! I need to try and figure out who you are so I can see who checked you in and recognize them! We look forward to your next visit; hopefully a 4 night stay next time! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The US Grant has become our favourite hotel for San Diego. Consistently good/friendly service, spacious and well appointed rooms and a great, central location - opposite Horton Plaza and the Gaslamp Quarter. Suprisingly good value for a Luxury Collection hotel when there are specials. Our only gripe is perhaps inconsistency in the Grant Grill - especially for breakfast with variable staff helpfulness and food quality.

Room Tip: Try for a suite if possible - very spacious. Higher floor if possible as street noise can ben annoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Consistency is key Gourmand and I am proud that you recognized ours! And yes we do run some very enticing specials for a luxury property... keep your eye on our website! I apologize for the opportunity in the Grant Grill and will pass the feedback along as well. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again.... consistently! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is a luxury classic one...located two blocks from the charming Gas Lamp district...parking is available and the staff is amazing...from the front desk to the housekeeping...the parking staff is most helpful as well.

Room Tip: The location is such that a good room is any room...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer to clean/or clean and change linens....
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Short and sweet San Miguel Sandy! Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! (Sorry I couldn't work more "S" starting words into that sentence.... I never was great with alliterations)... Jared, Director of Front Office, not director of poetic prose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the moment we drove up, exiting our work truck in a disorganized fashion, everyone welcomed us with class. We made the reservation on a discount website that didn't appear in their system off the bat, but they handled it with grace. When they learned it was our anniversary, they sent a bottle of complimentary champagne to the room. The room was elegantly appointed. The food was incredible. Yes, parking is expensive, but given the location, it isn't surprising. Everything is walking distance. We left our bags with the bell at check out and our car in valet all day, walked around the gaslamp, down to the water, took a ferry to Coronado, explored the island, and came back at 10pm. No extra charge for parking or keeping our bags 12 hours past checkout. I highly recommend and would stay again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: King deluxe was very roomy. If a view is important to you, request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review and for celebrating your anniversary with us! We are hear to treat everyone from all walks of life with our historic charm and old world luxury service. Thank you for your patience with the reservation; sometimes third party websites have some hiccups but I am glad our front office was able to recover quickly for you! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.