We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more needs to be said” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What more needs to be said”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Brilliant ...rooms were glorious, service fantastic was like being royalty
Restaurant was amazing and the entertainment was truly sublime ...as you can tell we loved it ...good choice by my mate Colin ...they really looked after us ..bang on the corner of the gaslight district but as peaceful as you could wish ..and did I mention the rooms fantastic ..especially as Rhona managed to get us all corner rooms as we were on a silver wedding tour ...well done all

Room Tip: Do what you can to get a corner suite they are fantastic..felt like the cosby's
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I very much like your diction in this review and truth be told I am going to steal the phrase "bang on the corner" when talking about great locations! Thank you for the review and I am glad you enjoyed our corner rooms! We hope to welcome you back soon. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    993
    393
    130
    50
    35
See reviews for
262
666
113
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you want high end service and great food in a setting that feels exclusive (without feeling stuffy), check out US Grant. It's pricey, but you'll feel treated like a special guest. In addition to an attentive wait staff, both the chef and the restaurant manager stopped by thank us and ask how we enjoyed our meal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am very proud that the service level i the grant grill exceeded your expectations KDoph! You experienced exactly what we want all guests to experience, the feeling of exclusivity with warmth. We look forward to welcoming you back! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Since the first time I visited the US Grant over 25 years ago for a fundraiser, we have made it our home when we visit San Diego. Nothing in Southern California can compare to the experience; it's combination of retro elegance and modern amenities make it a 5 star stay from the moment you arrive.
This trip we needed a larger space for a small get together and the Signature Suite was perfect. Two wonderful king beds, a perfect party area for cocktails for 12 guests and a beautiful bath with a really (almost silly) huge shower.
Every amenity was considered, every staff member greeted us with a warm smile, and every service was provided promptly, efficiently, and graciously. What more could a guest ask for!
I truly cannot think of a more wonderful place to stay while experiencing America's finest city!

Room Tip: Because this is a historic building the room size and view will vary. I'd advise consulting dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
This is one fo those reviews I almost have trouble responding to because its not only so positive but so well written! Thank you truly for your feedback. Reviews like this are almost better than any marketing we can come up with to share the guest experience here and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share it with the world! Glad the signature suite worked so well for you; it is such a versatile room! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The US Grant presents a paradox. It is upscale and classy at the same time that it is located in a depressingly downbeat area. The common areas of the hotel are gorgeous. It is a throwback to the luxury of the early 20th century when hotels were populated by men in formal dress and women in gowns. The rooms themselves vary. I have stayed here twice; once the room was nice, but most recently it left something to be desired. My room overlooked an unsightly roof and maintenance stairs. It was also on the small side. The light at the desk was poor . I don't fault the hotel's management, however. It is an old building and there is just so much that can be done to upgrade the rooms. The bathroom has nice amenities and the bed was comfortable so I can't really complain except for the $14.95 internet charge. I don't understand why some hotels, especially those belonging to the Starwood chain, insist on charging for internet access. Less expensive hotels include free access in the price of the room.It is really annoying and is a factor in my often choosing to stay at a different hotel.
The real problem, however, and the reason for my downgrading my rating of this hotel is the neighborhood. It is geographically in a good location - at the beginning of the Gaslight District and near the courts (I was there on business). However, what is happening to San Diego? The streets are filled with homeless people. Flophouses dot the area (although in fairness some have been renovated in an attempt to create urban space to attract urban pioneers). However, after midnight the hotel closes most of its entrances, probably for security reasons. (A good idea). You literally cannot walk a block without seeing vagrants. This is not the hotel's fault, but the ambiance certainly detracts from a stay not only at the hotel, but a visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
A paradox is a good way to put it Stewart. So many guests love our location for the reason you already mentioned... close to the business areas and courthouse as well as steps to all the entertainment Gaslamp has to offer! But yes San Diego does have a homeless population, probably the other edge of the sword of having such beautiful weather year round. We actually partner with the city police and downtown partnership officials that make grreat efforts toward keeping San Diego a safe and enjoyable place to visit; they even house their quarterly meetings at our hotel. I face a similar paradox as you do in that our trip advisor rating for the hotel is marred by something completely outside of our control... but also knowing that the guest experience at our hotel doesn't stop at our front door. We are part of an experience, an indigenous experience, and thats what we strive for. We will be a part of San Diego through all of its growth and development as we have been for the last 103 years. If these walls could talk... (some guests think they do!) Thank you for being our guest Stewart and for the rousing conversation! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The US Grant is a historic hotel located close to the Gaslamp District. The hotel is luxurious with lot of character. We loved the décor and the time period it captured. Our room was perfect for 2 people; 2 very comfortable double beds and the bathroom that was updated nicely. We had an inside facing room. Not much of a view which was out of the bathroom onto a garden rooftop courtyard, but we were ok with that since we had virtually NO NOISE and got great sleep! Plus we were never in the room for very long. What makes this place so special is the staff. We found everyone to be pleasant, accommodating and genuinely concerned with making our stay as pleasurable as possible. The concierge, Lea Anne, was amazing and we loved her friendly personality. Her recommendations for us were spot on and she helped us navigate all of the public transportation since we did not rent a car. Kudos to Brooks as well for all help he gave us! The Grant Bar was great too; we ended up there a couple of nights for a nightcap before going up to our room and the coffee avaiable in the morning was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rooftop garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the review Monalisa! By the way, your trip advisor name shares the name of an excellent little cafe and italian market here in Little Italy! I am so proud that Lee Ann and Brooks had such a positive impact on your stay. They say anyone can build a nice box... but its the gift of personality inside that counts. Thank you for being our guest and see you soon! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Best hotel experience I have had so far. Stayed there for 5 nights, received a complimentary upgrade to a corner unit.

The staff was excellent, friendly and respectful.

The gym is a full gym with a number of modern cardio machines, free weights and a weight machine station.

The one minus is that there is no pool, but guests may use the pool at the Westin next door.

The food was above average, eggs were a bit cold but tasted good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind response! I am glad that how our hotel "treat"ed you was beyond expectations. We take great pride ni our service and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the e-world! We look forward to welcoming you back. - Jared, Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is almost perfect in every way. Our service was exceptional, the room was exceptionally comfortable and the food & drink was delicious. The location is ideally situated between the ocean and the Gaslamp district and walking distance to whatever we wanted to do or see. The only thing missing was a true spa. We got a massage, but we were tucked into a back room of the hotel that did not have much ambience at all. (However, the massage was really good!)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings Michelle and thank you for your stay and review.

We are elated that you found our hotel to be so exceptional. Akin to the novel Utopia, if everything was perfect would one fail to recognize where the exceptional does exist? Perhaps this is too philosophical for Trip Advisor but we do humbly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return! Perhaps next time we can host the massage in the comfort of your own room?

Seasons greetings,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego
Us Grant Hotel
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list