We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Felt like a star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here on business and could not believe the awesome room I got. It was on the 10th floor (which was confusing at first, since the initial elevator I got in did not go that far.) It was like my own secret floor. I had a room at the corner, which was enormous and felt like my own studio apartment. The art and decor was very modern considering the traditional, grand style of the lobby. The bathroom was oddly laid out but I liked having a window with natural light in there. The hotel is close to everything- Horton plaza, gaslamp, etc. The bar is classic and fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I like the sound of this! We get alot of business travelers here and there's nothing I like more than turning business into pleasure with a great experience! So glad you loved the room and we hope to welcome you back for business, pleasure, or both very soon! Jared, Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,039
    415
    135
    50
    35
See reviews for
271
693
118
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

You may not believe this....I couldn't. I booked this hotel thru their own web-site in January, paying in full at their "Prepaid Rates", with non-refundable terms. At check-in, it was confirmed 5 nights, and was indeed fully prepaid. Stayed May 30 - June 3rd. At check-out, confirmed again that outstanding balance was $0. Then a month later, my Visa shows a charge for over $400. The "prepayment" from January mysteriously became a "deposit" to be applied against increased room rates. I called and e-mailed, their position is non-negotiable...especially if you live 3000 miles away in Canada. VERY VERY upsetting

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out Bill... I am very curious about this situation! Now what you say is partly true in that any "prepaid" reservation is in fact a deposit for all your room and tax for your stay... and that is applied to your bill (to offset your charges). So, without knowing your actual name or reservation, I would speculate that the $400 you saw was either your incidental charges (parking etc) or maybe just the hold at check in on your card? Either way I defintely want to explore it further with you. Feel free to contact the hotel at 619.232.3121 and ask for me. I will look into it personally for you as we are certainly not in the business of building loyalty by scamming our customers! So sorry for your experience and the perception you have and looking forward to clearing up the air about this situation. Jared, Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautifully remodeled, luxurious, with exceptionally attentive and friendly staff. Centrally located in the Gaslamp District and just blocks from a hundred wonderful shops and restaurants. It was nice to stay in a hotel that isn't just another impersonal space. Rooms were a bit small but that is to be expected in an older city hotel. First- rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I really like your comment about not being "another impersonal space". It kind of relates back to the cookie cutter response a few days back. Fight the norm! Don't be a room number! We are on the verge of a revolution here Wendy and we will lead the charge in personalization! Thank you for the review, hope to see you again! Jared, Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a beautiful historic hotel that has been expertly renovated for the perfect marriage of old and new design. The guest rooms, of course had a heavenly bed, but also had a great layout with very high ceilings and arched windows. One really nice feature was that the room had a small foyer with a hall chest and closet before you entered the actual room. It made the room so much more comfortable and less like a generic hotel room. It was also a nice place to leave your phones, keys, etc. The decorating was beautiful with unique muted patterned carpets, modern empire style furniture, intricate millwork picture paneling and a marble bath. The lobby and restaurant were beautifully decorated as well. The service was excellent from the front desk to the valets to the restaurant and bar. The overall atmosphere was very sophisticated, civilized and quiet. The location of the hotel was excellent right next to the Gaslamp Quarter; however I was not that impressed with Gaslamp Quarter, but it is good central location from which to explore San Diego. The price was great too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Two Oasis comments in one day!! This must be a record. Or a sign that even without a pool we are still considered a paradise to escape the sand blistered desert that is San Diego. Well, all of San Diego is a paradise really so I am proud we are at the top of it. I must say I am very impressed with your description of our hotel. We may need you to write some adverts for us! Clearly a polished writer and traveler! I am humbled by responding to such a ornate review. Thank you again! Jared, Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was placed in this hotel because the site of our convention was full. How fortunate for me. I had a fantastic stay here. As others have noted, the building is grand and fabulous inside and out and it's in a great location for exploring the city. My room was very comfortable and quiet - met my high expectations. As for the staff, from the minute I was greeted, I was made to feel incredibly welcome. The reception staff were very friendly and obliging and more than happy to talk to and give advice about places to run in the morning to where to go to for dining and entertainment at night. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I love the title you have bestowed upon us! I only wish we had a pool in our oasis! Thank you for discovering us, even if by chance with your conference. Being the most historic downtown property we sometimes keep a low profle so I love hearing stories like this where guests discover us by chance only to be brought back in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back to this Gaslamp Oasis! - Jared, Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms really differ from one another and so do prices. The bar is a huge disappointment, closes early and the cocktails are awful. I wouldn't stay here again.
Our friends complained and got upgraded we had and booked through Centurion card and got declined

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I am very saddened by your review doyletv! Its true our rooms change from one to another which some guests love but i do respect the ones that do not care for it. But what is more concerning to me is saying the cocktails are awful! I very much want to know which ones you ordered. The cocktail program is one of our highlights at the Grant Grill and our bartenders participate in multiple cocktail contests. I hope you give the others a chance and I can only hope it was either a one off or just not the right cocktail for you. We do have quite a variety right now with our raw cocktails (rawcktails I call them), sur lie cocktails and signature cocktails using herbs from our rooftop garden. Sorry the one you picked didnt suit you, but thank you for visiting us and hopefully we will see you again for a different one! - Jared, Dir of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a stunning hotel with all the amenities you could possibly dream of! Given the opportunity I would be happy to stay at this lovely retreat as often as possible. The concierge Lee Ann Kinkelaar especially gave such excellent service that I cannot say enough about her! She made our stay just the most wonderful experience! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the San Diego area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Rest assured that your kind praise for Lee Ann has already reached her and her managers to recognize the great service she provided you during your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you time and time again. Jared, Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.