We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel with some actual history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cool hotel with some actual history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The U.S. Grant is a little bit famous: it has hosted 12+ US Presidents over its 100 year history and is definitely 0ne of more historic hotels in downtown.

Room: As it is part of Starwood’s “Luxury Collection” they have absolutely tried to give it the feel of a luxurious hotel. All the rooms and hallways have very dark carpet with light, creme colored walls. They mix that with crown molding, and lots of dark browns and dark blues to try and give it that sleek, luxurious feel. Be weary of the few rooms that have a terrible view, like mine. Don’t be afraid to ask for a switch.

Hotel Lobby/Common Areas: Huge lobby with very tall ceilings and enough shiny chandeliers to terribly distract any boy (and grown man)

Location: The location is great, while not on the water like some hotels you’re in a great spot to hit any and all of downtown San Diego.

BOTTOM LINE: Pretty cool hotel with some actual history that you can earn Starpoints while staying it. And, given its reasonable price, you might as well stay here rather than a generic Sheraton, Westin or W Hotel. Just make sure to request a room without a horrible view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay Jeffrey G and for your appreciation of our historical legacy! We have hosted many presidents, dignitaries and celebrities alike. For instance, did you know our 11th floor was added later as a radio broadcast center? F.D.R. gave a "fireside chat" from our 11th floor! Being in the middle of the excitement of downtown San Diego, our views are truly not what we are known for as there are mostly buildings in each direction. We are excited for the Horton Plaza revitilization to be completed so we can boast the best views of the plaza in the city! Thank you for your appreciation of our proud property. Jared. Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,053
    428
    139
    51
    35
See reviews for
283
713
122
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The pictures do not lie! My husband I stayed at the U.S. Grant from 05/17 to 05/20 in celebration of my __ birthday. The beauty and rich sense of history sets this hotel apart from others. The service we received from the beginning of our stay to the end was beyond our expectation. We were given a corner room (a free upgrade) and to my delight, a personalized birthday card along with strawberries and chocolate which were already placed in the room, compliments of the hotel. If you are looking for somewhere exquisite with easy access to many attractions, make the U.S. Grant your next hotel destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Greetings and thank you for your generous praise,

Our team is proud to be the heart of THE US GRANT. Your recognition will be readily shared to reinforce the work that they perform each day to define our guest's experience. As you mention, the pictures do not lie! How often have you looked at pictures online and been dismayed when you arrive to your destination? So happy to hear that this did not and would not happen on our watch as the beauty of the hotel communicates equally well in pictures as in person! Glad to hear that our service lived up to our structure!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed for business and was set up in a suite - two bathrooms, one bedroom, living room. Bedroom was extra large with king bed - Room 911 - the suite was so large that at times I could not hear housekeeping entering.

Great service and attention to detail, particularly housekeeping who did an outstanding daily service and turn down service.

Lighting in the room and bathroom were dim and difficult to do my makeup. The historic hotel keeps carpeting and some other classic features which have weathered the years well but show their age a bit. Bathroom amenities, Remede, were among the best I have smelled in a long time - the body wash had exfoliating bits and a refreshing eucalyptus scent. Hallway noise is audible even in the bedroom. They replenish two free water 16-oz bottles daily free of charge. There are ample wall outlets, particularly two near the jacket stand in the room. The bed is comfortable - as are most luxury resort beds. I cant think of anything outstanding about the bed but no complaints, I had good sleep each night. I used the Fitness Center one evening - small but plenty of free weights, cable machine, and a handful of cardio machines.

Speaking of exercise, from the hotel there is a 3 mile jogging route down to seaside village. The only complaint is that it is about 0.75 - 1 mile of running along sidewalk and unsavory road before hitting the waterside.

Taxi ride to the airport is $14 each way.

Room Tip: A colleague of mine had a room on the noisy side of the hotel - there is a nightclub or bar or loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We appreciate your sharing the great experience with our Trip Advisor faithful!

By all appearances your visit was a great example of a well rounded visit. From sightseeing to fitness centered activities you got to taste a bit of our history in the making! After 102 years we appreciate your views and hope that this plants the seed for your return.

Whether for business or leisure, San Diego and THE US GRANT are great places to experience luxury and comfort concurrently!

Safe travels and rewarding explorations,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed at the US Grant to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Our experience from beginning to end was AMAZING! The beauty & history of this hotel is breathtaking. The service was absolutely top notch! We were surprised our first night when a bottle of wine with chocolate covered bananas & fresh strawberries were delivered to our room with a note congratulating us on our 25th anniversary. Thank you, US Grant for making our celebration even more special! Sad that our trip had to come to an end, but will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Greetings and Happy Anniversary,

25 years is a big occasion for us all to celebrate. To be the hotel of choice for this life event not only shows your trust in us to deliver a great and memorable experience but also plants the seeds of a great relationship as you work towards your 50th!

Please come back again and thanks for making us a part of your special event,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Glamorous hotel which shows the glitz and glamour of the 1940's. It has faired well over the years. Our room was a good sie especially taking into account the size of rooms in that era. The service was great (they even provided a mini bar fridge so we can store our own items which was very much appreciated for our stay)

It is very well placed in downtown San Diego - walking distance to bay, GasLamp Quarter, Horton Plaza and if you are in the mood a 40-45 minute walk to Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo.

There is also some further development across the road from the hotel which I am sure will make the area even nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for your kind words John! We truly try to embody that classical era but bring it up to speed with modern luxury. I am glad that our luxurious rooms and excellent location served you well and am impressed that you walked all the way to the zoo from here! San Diego hosts a variety of marathons and runs, perhaps we will see you passing by soon. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to see Horton Plaza's return to glory as it finished its remodel in 2014. Take care John. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would stay at the US Grant again in a heartbeat. There are so many "nice" hotels, but what really separates the US Grant is its amazing staff. Ever single staff member we encountered from the front desk, to the valet, to the housekeeping staff went out of their way to make us feel like we were VIP guests (even though we definitely were not!) Everyone had a smile on their face and always asked how we were doing or how our stay was. The Concierge was knowledgeable and helpful and directed us to an amazing breakfast place (Seersucker). Beyond the service, the hotel is gorgeous and the rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. I never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello VIP,

We are glad you received the VIP treatment although as you comment, we treat all our guests in this manner. Whether here for 1 night or many, we are glad to hear that our mission of building a relationship with our guests was warmly received.

You are now a part of our history in the making and we hope that you continue to assist us with writing our story! Please come back for another stay soon.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very good central location in the Gaslamp district close to the Harbor and restaurants. We had a corner superior room were we could see a Little bit of the water. Please remember that this is an old hotel and central location. This means that the windows are not sound proof which means that you will have the traffic and any atmospherefrom the city Life were vivid in your room. Very clean and stylish room, as can be expected. We had breakfast outside the hotel so this can not be commented. Parking service was exellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for sharing your experience at THE US GRANT. We appreciate your feedback and commentary and hope this assists others seeking out an indigenous San Diego experience for their next stay! Always good to hear about our valet services also! They are a very valuable element of a stay being the first and last impression for so many of our guests!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.