We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great style and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 12 more sites!
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great style and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very good central location in the Gaslamp district close to the Harbor and restaurants. We had a corner superior room were we could see a Little bit of the water. Please remember that this is an old hotel and central location. This means that the windows are not sound proof which means that you will have the traffic and any atmospherefrom the city Life were vivid in your room. Very clean and stylish room, as can be expected. We had breakfast outside the hotel so this can not be commented. Parking service was exellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for sharing your experience at THE US GRANT. We appreciate your feedback and commentary and hope this assists others seeking out an indigenous San Diego experience for their next stay! Always good to hear about our valet services also! They are a very valuable element of a stay being the first and last impression for so many of our guests!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    993
    391
    129
    50
    35
See reviews for
261
666
112
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip last month for the second time this year. First off the rates were fantastic; actually it was one of the better rates for all of downtown San Diego for mid week at @$135/night. I brought my wife with me so she could enjoy the city while I worked and it was her birthday week.

The room is nice, it is an older hotel so the rooms are a little small but the beds are very comfy and the bathroom was well appointed and clean. Max the social coordinator/bellman was awesome. He gave great suggestions for restaurants and bars. The valet always offered a bottle of water to us and that was always a great plus.
Even after an afternoon jog the front desk offered us cold or room temp water. The restaurant and bar are very nice. It is a bit on the pricey side but this is San Diego. Great service and great value for this historic hotel in SD.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
You are clearly a savvy traveler ledieff by staying with us at such a great rate! While our rates ebb and flow with the city as all hotels do, our service does not falter and I am glad the valet and concierge impressed you! We at the front desk certainly want our guests to stay hydrated as well. Thank you for your business and for taking your time to leave your experience for others to read. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The US GRANT, San Diego

Elegant despite her age

A walkable few blocks from the San Diego Convention Center and just about at the end of two rows of streets of restaurants and shops, the US Grant personifies the elegance of the boomtown heydays of Old San Diego.
Despite her age, she has evolved into a hotel that has coped up with the times.. Rooms are big ( like of those built in those days), beds are comfy- you're smothered by 4 pillows. Bathroom amenities are present with 5 sets of towels ( for 2 guests)! Standard amenities were present.
Wifi was charged in the rooms but free in the lobby . But oftentimes, the free wifi reaches the upper floors ( mine was on the 6th).
Personnel were VERY accommodating, hospitable and pleasant as expected a luxury hotel and checking in and out was a breeze.
The ONLY thing I didn't really like was the whiff of mustiness brought about by the carpets that lined the floors of the corridors. It also made lugging the suitcases difficult.
Again, as in most hotels, make sure you get a room close to the elevators.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the elevators.. The carpets make lugging the suitcases difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I love your description of how we "personify the elegance of the boomtown heydays of old San Diego". What a magical picture you paint! I am most proud that our service continues to personify not only that old world charm but also that of modern luxury. You are right about the thickness of the carpet on the guest floors. Interestingly enough, the quality is so high that not only is it slightly harder to roll items over it but as the carpet moves it creates a shadow impression when you look from different angles! Our proud social hosts work hard moving those bellcarts on those carpets every day. Thank you for being our guest and we most certainly look forward to your return! Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located on a busy corner in the Gaslamp Quarter, this historical hotel -- named by the builder after his father, U.S. President Ulysses S. Grant -- retains an elegant, old world luxury, with damask walls, marble stairs, plush runners, opulent chandeliers, and a jazzy lounge that harkens back to the 1940s. The only parking available is valet, but it's very fast and convenient. The hotel boasts one of the best brunches anywhere in Grant Grill, and is located within walking distance of Little Italy and its amazing farmers' market. The rooms are clean and modern. A little pricey, but worth it to people who want luxury in a central location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I love your style Niki D and you have an eye for history and luxury! To add to your historical facts you listed, the original builder was none other than Ulysses S Grant's own son and wife! It was built in his true honor and we are proud to uphold that legacy of what they dreamt as the finest hotel of its time. Our full story is displayed in our 4th Avenue entrance when next you visit us! Thank you for being our guest and adding to our proud heritage! Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the US Grant, a luxury hotel of the Starwoods group. We found a wonderful deal for $149 for a king deluxe room. The hotel is historic and beautiful with all the modern amentities. The desk help was friendly. We arrived early and they held our luggage and called us on our cell when a room was available. They upgraded us to a corner room. Even though it was on the Broadway side, there was no city noise. They also allowed us a late checkout which is downtown hotels is rare. The hotel and experience could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was quiet and lovely. We did have a corner room which we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review bitler! Our deluxe rooms are indeed memorable with their preferred location and I am most happy to hear the sounds of the city did not disturb your restful slumber! I will share your praise of our front desk with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great stay. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was once a grand old hotel in the center of town, but there is no town today, only this hotel, SRO's and pawn shops. The only reason to go to San Diego is for a convention or for the beach. This hotel's location has neither. It's about an $8.00 taxi ride from the convention center and god only knows how far from the nearest beach. It's sad how far a neighborhood can sink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am saddened to read that you did not enjoy your time in San Diego Stephan! While many guests love the life and excitement of the gaslamp district right outside our doors, it certainly may not suit everyone. You are right that San Diego's amazing beaches are a short drive away from the heart of downtown. I can only hope that we get the chance to welcome you back and perhaps this time we will have one of our esteemed concierge create a day itinerary for you to see all that San Diego has to offer! Thank you for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were in San Diego for a convention and could not be happier that we choose to stay at the US Grant. The hotel was very nice, good location, and the staff amazing! Everyone that we encountered went above and beyond...from the minute we arrived and through out our stay.
Check in was very efficient. The concierge staff was great (they assisted with transportation and also we were able to purchase tickets directly from them for the trolley tour). We were glad we tried in room dining services...the food arrived promptly with a beautiful presentation. Our room was clean and well taken care of...including turn down service. The valet and bell staff were also very polite and always offered us a bottle of water as we were heading out for the day. The Hotel lobby is beautiful. We had a very nice lunch and dinner at the Grant Grill. Saturday night they had entertainment in the Grant Grill lounge which was a very nice end to the evening. We choose the Grand Deluxe room and I was happy to have the extra space. Looking forward to another visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I must say, EllaS6507, you covered alot of ground in that review! I am so thankful and proud that it was all as positive as you described it. A hotel is made of many small moving parts and when it all comes together it is a truly magical response. Excellent choice in booking our Grand Deluxe room as well! There are only 5 in the hotel so it is definitely an exclusive room to be in. Thank you for being our honored guest and we look forward to your return! Jared Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego
Us Grant Hotel
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list