We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My Wife and I booked into the US Grant for 4 nights prior to a cruise to Vancouver. We are Starwood members and part-time travel agents from Vancouver. A great acquisition by Starwood. This Hotel is a Beauty! The location, the ambiance, the history, the staff are truly wonderful.

The history about this hotel is very interesting. Worth reading about.

From check-in to concierge to housekeeping all employees are friendly, upbeat and just plain nice. Our stay and experience here is positive and upbeat. They even have a useful, useable gym, which can be a challenge in some hotels. Generally, the Starwood hotels, do a good job in the area of fitness rooms.

The location is central to everything. Didn't need a car. We walk to everything, from the port/water area, to Little Italy to Gas Lamp Quarter to the San Diego Zoo. It is all here for walking distance.

Our room is excellent, very comfortable, large bathroom, love the travertine tiles in the bathroom. Overall, one of our more relaxing stays at a hotel.

Room Tip: Communicat with reservation staff to help place you in a room that works for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
An incredible review and we couldn't be more appreciative! I can only hope that we did not overshadow your wonderful cruise! We are so proud of our legacy as an in indigenous landmark of downtown San Diego and are pleased you were able to learn some of our story. Thank you especially for recognizing our efficient fitness center; we have just recently enhanced some aspects of it! We look forward to your return. Jared Dir. of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    435
    141
    51
    36
See reviews for
288
728
122
431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,417 reviews 1,417 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on five days of business travel this month. What a wonderful place! The hotel caters to your every whim, and takes care of every need you couldpossibly imagine. The rooms are more than comfortable, with excellent bedding and furniture, huge mirrors and work accommodations. This place also has a business center, although you shouldn't need it with the broadband Internet access they give you in the rooms.

The service in this hotel is also beyond reproach, from the front desk to the concierge (where Mark Peak will send you to the greatest sports in town!). The hotel is also located right inside the Gaslamp District, and is surrounded by excellent restaurants on all sides.

The only downfall about this hotel is that you shold be prepared to pay out some extra bucks for almost anything. The valet parking is $35.00/day, which was not advertised in advance. Also, the "convenience refrigerators" have a weighing device inside them, and will charge you for anything you remove. (This is to be expected.) However, they do not leave much room for "doggie bags" from dinner, so be prepared to NOT need any extra refrigerator space.

Despite these few issues, this is a fabulous place, and I would gladly return here for any future stays.

Room Tip: They are all good, but for an extra $20-30/night you can purchase room upgrades to even better rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
A wonferful response from a wonderful guest! Thank you for your kind words about our lovely adornments but most importantly: I am most proud that Mark made such an impression on you! He is a true testament to why the Concierge is the pillar of our Luxury Collection brand. My apologies for the sensitivity of the mini bar fridges... Indiana Jones himself would not be able to remove one of our items without charge! We look forward to welcoming you back to our historic landmark in San Diego. And trust me, there are many more places Mark can direct you for your next stay! Jared Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend four nights at this historic hotel. The staff was extremely attentive, the room was spotless, the amenities were great and the room was awesome. We enjoyed a two king bed suite with a very large bathroom, a huge shower with ceiling-to-floor nozzles, a dining room table and a sitting room with a large HDTV. We were able to work comfortably in the room.

The hotel is located just outside the Gaslamp District and we were able to walk to restaurants and Petco Park. The concierge (Brooks) made several good restaurant suggestions (especially "Urban") and took the time to understand what and where we wanted to eat. The front desk staff were very accommodating with the several requests we had during our stay. Although parking was expensive ($35/night), the valets were always eager to give directions and provided us with bottled water every time we came and left the hotel.

We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel every morning and the wait staff treated our boys to some cookies before we departed. It was a nice touch.

We've stayed at some comprable hotels (Le St. James in Montreal and the Taj Compton in San Francisco) and this may very well be the best hotel we've every enjoyed.

5 stars all around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
So glad to hear about your amazing experience PamandBradFam! Your selection of booking the signature suite with two king beds proves to me you know your luxury! Excellent choice and we are so proud that you enjoyed our attentive and anticipatory staff. Our concierge truly know the best in the city, did you happen to have the mussels at Urban B+G? Probably the best I have ever had! Parking does tend to be a little high in these downtown areas, thank you for your understanding. I hope San Diego can keep avoiding San Francisco/Chicago/NY prices a little longer! We look forward to welcoming you back. Jared Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night for a special celebration. On check in the staff upgraded us to a suite and it was amazing. Every member of the staff who we spoke to was not only polite but genuinely interested in helping us. The hotel is in a great location and while we were concerned with traffic noise etc even though it was game night on a Saturday night other than the sirens we heard no noise. We were 1 block from Horton plaza and there are almost too many restaurants within walking distance to choose from. Fortunately the concierge was very knowledgeable and filled us in on what we were looking for. When we got back from our dinner the staff had put treat in our room with a congratulations card! On check out we were both given a bottle of water for our trip - a really nice touch. One of the best hotels I've stayed in anywhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise and a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your kind praise and we look forward to your return! I am especially pleased to hear the life of the city did not affect your relaxation during your stay. San Diego can certainly be a lively crowd at times! Especially, as you mentioned, with our location so conveniently located to hundreds of great dining and social establishments. Location Location Location! We look forward to welcoming you back RunnerAkl. Delegates of our management team just completed the Ragnar Relay this last weekend, maybe we will see you there next year! Jared Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay! Concierge Mark once again was very helpful getting us a reservation for dinner. Not a fan of hotel bars/lounges... That said we liked the band that played Saturday. What a cute girl with a great voice. Tom also made some good drinks. This was my second stay at this hotel. I think I will always chose this hotel when come to the Gaslamp.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our Chef concierge Mark Peak is a phenomanal concierge and an important part of our family. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel bar also! We were fortunate enough to receive the honor of the Grant Grill Lounge being the #1 Hotel Bar in North America last year (2012) and we can only hope for more accolades in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My one night stay at the US Grant hotel in San Diego was a real treat. It takes one back to the good old days when hotels were luxurious and grand. Beautiful, spacious lobbies, and employees do their utmost to make every guest feel important. Though the rooms are small, the bedding, towels and bathrobes are all first cabin. This place still has it. It's right downtown on Broadway and near almost everything.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the shape of a horseshoe. Try and get a room away from Broadway. It's a very bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings Robert,

Your review of our Grand Old Hotel is grand in itself. Thank you for taking the time to not only pen this gracious review of our hotel and services but also for your visit with us. We know there is a new world of choices in San Diego to choose from and appreciate that our 102 year old history had some allure for you.

We know that a one night stay does not allow you the time to truly appreciate all that we have to offer and expect a return visit soon.

Thank you,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a beautiful old historic hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and their details like the sheets, beds and bathroom are very high end and comfortable. However, being an old hotel, the windows are noise porous in spite of the heavy curtains. I was awoke at 5am by construction trucks backing up (beep, beep, beep) next door. We also walked to local restaurants and the surplus of homeless people taking advantage of the climate and generous government handouts make walking interesting. Also be prepared to be attacked by restauranteurs hawking their menus.

Stay here if it is convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings,

Your balanced review is appreciated. We know that people like to hear insights on a guest stay prior to making a decision for themselves and we hope that your feedback assists them in this mission. We agree that being a downtown hotel does come at the expense of some added downtown energy. From a location perspetive to all things San Diego we have come to rely on our proximity to deliver the best to our guests both inside and outside our doors.

We hope that while this stay was not perfect, that you come to find us again in the future. Let us know about your request for a quiet room as we have many different room types that may work better for you next time.

Thank you and safe journeys,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Amex, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.