We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel In Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel In Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the opportunity to spend four nights at this historic hotel. The staff was extremely attentive, the room was spotless, the amenities were great and the room was awesome. We enjoyed a two king bed suite with a very large bathroom, a huge shower with ceiling-to-floor nozzles, a dining room table and a sitting room with a large HDTV. We were able to work comfortably in the room.

The hotel is located just outside the Gaslamp District and we were able to walk to restaurants and Petco Park. The concierge (Brooks) made several good restaurant suggestions (especially "Urban") and took the time to understand what and where we wanted to eat. The front desk staff were very accommodating with the several requests we had during our stay. Although parking was expensive ($35/night), the valets were always eager to give directions and provided us with bottled water every time we came and left the hotel.

We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel every morning and the wait staff treated our boys to some cookies before we departed. It was a nice touch.

We've stayed at some comprable hotels (Le St. James in Montreal and the Taj Compton in San Francisco) and this may very well be the best hotel we've every enjoyed.

5 stars all around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
So glad to hear about your amazing experience PamandBradFam! Your selection of booking the signature suite with two king beds proves to me you know your luxury! Excellent choice and we are so proud that you enjoyed our attentive and anticipatory staff. Our concierge truly know the best in the city, did you happen to have the mussels at Urban B+G? Probably the best I have ever had! Parking does tend to be a little high in these downtown areas, thank you for your understanding. I hope San Diego can keep avoiding San Francisco/Chicago/NY prices a little longer! We look forward to welcoming you back. Jared Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,038
    413
    136
    50
    35
See reviews for
270
693
118
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night for a special celebration. On check in the staff upgraded us to a suite and it was amazing. Every member of the staff who we spoke to was not only polite but genuinely interested in helping us. The hotel is in a great location and while we were concerned with traffic noise etc even though it was game night on a Saturday night other than the sirens we heard no noise. We were 1 block from Horton plaza and there are almost too many restaurants within walking distance to choose from. Fortunately the concierge was very knowledgeable and filled us in on what we were looking for. When we got back from our dinner the staff had put treat in our room with a congratulations card! On check out we were both given a bottle of water for our trip - a really nice touch. One of the best hotels I've stayed in anywhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise and a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your kind praise and we look forward to your return! I am especially pleased to hear the life of the city did not affect your relaxation during your stay. San Diego can certainly be a lively crowd at times! Especially, as you mentioned, with our location so conveniently located to hundreds of great dining and social establishments. Location Location Location! We look forward to welcoming you back RunnerAkl. Delegates of our management team just completed the Ragnar Relay this last weekend, maybe we will see you there next year! Jared Dir of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay! Concierge Mark once again was very helpful getting us a reservation for dinner. Not a fan of hotel bars/lounges... That said we liked the band that played Saturday. What a cute girl with a great voice. Tom also made some good drinks. This was my second stay at this hotel. I think I will always chose this hotel when come to the Gaslamp.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our Chef concierge Mark Peak is a phenomanal concierge and an important part of our family. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel bar also! We were fortunate enough to receive the honor of the Grant Grill Lounge being the #1 Hotel Bar in North America last year (2012) and we can only hope for more accolades in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My one night stay at the US Grant hotel in San Diego was a real treat. It takes one back to the good old days when hotels were luxurious and grand. Beautiful, spacious lobbies, and employees do their utmost to make every guest feel important. Though the rooms are small, the bedding, towels and bathrobes are all first cabin. This place still has it. It's right downtown on Broadway and near almost everything.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the shape of a horseshoe. Try and get a room away from Broadway. It's a very bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings Robert,

Your review of our Grand Old Hotel is grand in itself. Thank you for taking the time to not only pen this gracious review of our hotel and services but also for your visit with us. We know there is a new world of choices in San Diego to choose from and appreciate that our 102 year old history had some allure for you.

We know that a one night stay does not allow you the time to truly appreciate all that we have to offer and expect a return visit soon.

Thank you,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a beautiful old historic hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and their details like the sheets, beds and bathroom are very high end and comfortable. However, being an old hotel, the windows are noise porous in spite of the heavy curtains. I was awoke at 5am by construction trucks backing up (beep, beep, beep) next door. We also walked to local restaurants and the surplus of homeless people taking advantage of the climate and generous government handouts make walking interesting. Also be prepared to be attacked by restauranteurs hawking their menus.

Stay here if it is convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings,

Your balanced review is appreciated. We know that people like to hear insights on a guest stay prior to making a decision for themselves and we hope that your feedback assists them in this mission. We agree that being a downtown hotel does come at the expense of some added downtown energy. From a location perspetive to all things San Diego we have come to rely on our proximity to deliver the best to our guests both inside and outside our doors.

We hope that while this stay was not perfect, that you come to find us again in the future. Let us know about your request for a quiet room as we have many different room types that may work better for you next time.

Thank you and safe journeys,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days between 3/15 - 3/18. Beatiful hotel in an amazing location.. Walking distance to the Gaslamp, Horton Plaza etc.... ROOMS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND COMFORTABLE. GREAT BATHROOMS..FANTASTIC BEDS..CLASSY ELEGANT AND COMFORTABLE! One of the best hotels I have stayed at in the US.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a water view.. $3 5a day valet parking Be sure to eat at Brians 24. Great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you Chrisloris for your kind words and rich reviews of our "classy" rooms! Our location is truly bragworthy, being right on the North corner of the historic Gaslamp District, across from Horton Plaza and steps to a trolly stop; all of San Diego is at your fingertips! We look forward to welcoming you back and; of course; you stay classy Chrisloris! - Jared Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location but when we stayed here there was building work going on at the
Horton plaza which started at 7 am every morning. The hottel staff were very apologetic and understanding
The restaurant was superb and the food
Was first class but a slight criticism was the dress code as my wife and myself made an effort but there were people in there with baseball hats shorts and jeans
Which was not in keepings with a 5 star hotel more like Denny's

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Congratulations on your Honeymoon and thank you for celebrating with us! We also appreciate your understanding with the beautification of Horton Plaza across the street from us. Fortunately, it seems most of the major work is done for the summer with just some mild cleanup left so we look forward to your return! I apologize for the lack of sophisticated dress of the guests at times in the Grant Grill. While San Diego definitely celebrates a more casual small metropolis I am confident the food quality was well beyond comparison! Though I could never argue with the clever moniker of Moons Over My Hammy (Trademark).... Thank you again for the gift of feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back. Jared. Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.