We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, nice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great service, nice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for the St Patrick's Day festival. The service was beyond what I would expect from this type of hotel. The team at US Grant were welcoming and extremely helpful from valet, front desk, dining room, and housekeeping. It feels like a very expensive classy hotel without the big price tag. The lobby and rooms have beautiful decor. Loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Greetings,

We are so glad we were able to exceed your expectations during your holiday festivities here in San Diego! Thank you for your commendation on each department, we seem to have made quite an impact on you.

We hope when you return you are able to visit our Grant Grill to give it a try as well!

Best Regards,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    446
    147
    52
    38
See reviews for
292
747
121
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Outstanding in every aspect!!! Staff, service, and food were noteworthy. Close to Gaslamp district, Horton Plaza, and Old Town Trolley pickup!

Be sure to try Spa Breakfast with fresh fruit and egg white frittata!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello and thank you Betsy,

Your kind words mean the world to our team. We are glad that you found much of what is best about San Diego but rest assured there is much more to experience inside the hotel!

We hope to see you again soon,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room was very nice, just like the pictures online. The carpet was very plush, odd thing to notice, but it stood out in luxury. The bed was the highlight, very, very comfortable. I also really liked the bath ameniites, different and upscale.

The check in was smooth and the man offered a great dinner recommendation and then called them for me to check what time they closed without being asked - great service.

Very grand lobby, wish I had more than one night to explore the town!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Greetings,

I am amazed that you noticed our carpet, it's actually hand woven with patterns relating to our Native American ownership, that of which we are very proud of. Thank you for your all around lovely review.

We hope next time you are able to eat in our very own restaurant, the Grant Grill, and spend more time exploring downtown San Diego!

Warm Regards,

Douglas R. Korn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I just come back from San Diego where I spend three amazing says.
The property and the entire staff were amazing. From Steven at the Front Desk to the concierge and Pablo in the restaurant.
The room was pristine, the staff always smiling and engaged. Did I say that the Waffle brunch was "Yummy", loved the tangerinne coconut waffle, and the chocolate kit kat ones...
Enough said! what an experience.
Thank you for making this stay special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Greetings,

We are very glad you were able to have such a wonderful 3 day stay with us. It seems like you really were able to get to know a few of our staff members, and we thank you for your commendation of Steven and Pablo, as well as the rest of our ambassadors!

We do hope to see you again soon--be sure to come in on a Sunday for the waffle brunch you loved so much!

Sincerely, Douglas R. Korn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary. They upgraded our room to a higher floor in the corner, the "anniversary suite." They sent us complimentary chocolate truffles and an anniversary card. The valet service was very prompt. We requested a mini refrigerator be sent to our room and within minutes we received it. They even called our room just to confirm delivery. The customer service here was above and beyond. I've never experienced such amazing service!!! The location is perfect! One block over from the gaslamp quarter. The hotel is not only historic, it's GORGEOUS! We will stay here again. Had an amazing stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Grretings,

We are absoluetely overjoyed you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us here at THE US GRANT. Our ambassadors and valet take great pride in our 102 year old hotel and the service we provide to its inhabitants--even if just for one night!

We cannot wait to see you again, do come back and visit our Sunday Waffle Brunch in our Grant Grill next time you are in San Diego.

Warm Regards,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel is very clean and location can't be beat. Hundreds of restaurants within 8 blocks. Everyone on the staff was extremely nice with the exception of the restaurant staff but that's another story. I have stayed at over 20 spg properties in just last year and I can say for sure that this is by far the best experience I have had. In my past experiences with a touristy hotel, I have always found the staff to be meh (Westin St Francis I'm looking at you!) but this hotel has just been a great experience. Finally I can feel like I can relax because the staff will take care of everything and anything! Loved staying here and can't wait to be back.
Yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small but I think they have made an efficient use of the space.
Yes, it can get loud in certain rooms that overlook the 4th or Broadway but you're in a tourist spot, what did you expect?
Yes, it can be pricey but its worth it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so much for your high remarks, you seem to be a very experienced traveler and we are very ecstatic we have lived up to your expectations!

We are glad you were well rewarded as an SPG member and were able to sit back and relax during your visit. Do join us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Douglas R. Korn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the friendly helpful check-in, to the wonderful room (one of their slightly larger ones on a corner), to the comfortable bed, to the room's amenities etc... everything met or exceeded expectations. The bedding was definitely on pair with 'heavenly beds' and the decor was a fresh take on historic - feeling current but respectful to the hotel's history. The open areas are also great - as was the bar and the restaurant (see my separate review for the Grant Grill).

It should be noted that as a Starwood Gold member, they do have a designated floor that may have slightly better amenities or services - but I can't state for certain. Also, wifi (free to Gold) is $11.95/day. Parking is $35/day but offers in/out privileges (sadly this rate is similar to most downtown hotels). No resort fee as a downtown hotel.

The hotel is located at the north entrance to Horton Plaza and the north end of the Gaslamp district. It should be noted that when I visited in March the building across the street is being demolished - and even on a Sunday construction was going by 7:30 - 8 am. As an early riser this was not an issue, but if you like to sleep in I would check with the hotel as to when they expect the demo work to be done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you so very much for highlighting so many areas and aspects of our downtown hotel--from our Luxury Collection version of the heavenly beds in our guest rooms to the Grant Grill and even the parking option! Your attention to detail is very much appreciated.

Please come back for another visit--after April 2014, we will be excited to have the newly remodeled Horton Park across the street on Broadway for our guests to enjoy!

All the Best,
Douglas R. Korn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.