We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very nice hotel in an outstanding location. Recently renovated and very nicely appointed. I fail to understand why they don't have free wifi. Pretty much every budget hotel in america offers that

That being said, I would certainly consider staying here again. BTW, its listed as one of the most "haunted" places in America in some places. That makes it all the more fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review Ms. Caleb,

While we hear many of the stories regarding our storied past we are elated that you have chosen to write part of your story with a stay at THE US GRANT!

We hope that you continue to be a fixture in our future with every stay in San Diego.

Thank you, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    451
    149
    53
    38
See reviews for
293
758
122
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My stay in room 702. The carpet looked and felt as old as the hotel. The #1 problem was the temp in the shower would not adjust to a comfortable temp. Only blazing hot. My lady and I could not take showers after hitting the town, or in the morning before we checked out. I called the front desk, late that night, and they offered to move us to another room. It was to late at night for that, and all of our stuff was unpacked, to go through packing and moving to another room was too much. We live in La Mesa and decided to stay at your hotel because it was near the restaurant we had a Christmas party at. My lady was very excited to stay at your hotel because her grandfather work as a elevator attendant in the 60's there. Unfortunately we had to wait to take showers when we arrived home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Furn619,

We apologize for not providing you with a memorable stay because of the issue regarding the water temperature in your room. We would love to have the opportunity to recover from your unpleasant experience especially since our hotel has a sentimental connection with your partner.

If your travels take you back to our property, I welcome you to contact me directly so we can prepare for your arrival and ensure that your stay is flawless.

Sincerely,
Douglas Korn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the US Grant for 3 nights while visiting San Diego. I'm very particular about where I stay when choosing a hotel and this hotel exceeded my expectations. Every employee that we came across was super nice, professional, and helpful which included the valet, bellhop, front desk, concierge, restaurant bartender, and the housekeeper. If you appreciate history and architecture then you would agree that this hotel is beautiful and possesses a great deal of character. Our room was very clean and well maintained, the bed was very comfortable, and the hotel is within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and shopping. We will definitely stay at the US Grant the next time we visit San Diego!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
So much goes into exceeding a guest's expectation Ambular127,

We do not take your compliment lightly and appreciate your feeling strongly enough about this to share it with others so they too may find out what the experience is all about!

Sincerely, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely, charming hotel. Warm staff. Only complaint (minor) is the low lighting in the room. Our suite's sitting area was practically in the dark day and night. Proximity to Gaslamp District and Horton Plaza a plus. Walking distance to USS Midway and Star of India,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is a landmark and the rooms are appropriately stunning. Very lovely accommodations and the drinks at the Grill were old school awesome (I enjoy a well-crafted cocktail, who doesn't?). This place is on the edge of the gaslamp district and has done me well on my several visits to San Diego. Easy driving access and good location. I ordered a movie one night (don't recommend that as they're crazy expensive) and we had tv issues for an hour. Someone came to fix the issue, but I never ended up watching said movie and they took the charge off (as they should, but with no hassle). Great experience both times I've been here and looking forward to the next. The grand lobby makes you feel extra special, if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Ava G,

You hit the nail on the head in so many ways! From our award winning custom cocktails to the lobby experience and everything in between, we have a lot to celebrate and appreciate your taking the time to join us in this endeavor.

Please come back to see us again for as they have in the past 102 years, some things stay the same and other things continue to evolve for the best!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basque Country
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the US Grant in San Diego after some research, as high end properties were hard to come by in the city due to the fact that most hotels of that category were located well outside San Diego proper, in La Jolla or Del Mar. We didn't find the Marina too appealing either since we wanted to be as close to the action (Gaslamp Quarter or Little Italy, Hillcrest was far off anyway) as possible. So, right before flying to the USA we came across The US Grant, which had very good reviews and a very nice appearance; to my surprise, room rates were incredibly affordable, so I immediately assumed there would be a catch.

Well, I was definitely wrong: right from our arrival we found the hotel to be sensational. A 1910 building with an enormous lobby, featuring beautiful carpets and ballrooms as well as a nice Christmas decoration. Check-in was speedy, although as it is often the case with big hotels I found the staff to be corteous and efficient albeit a bit cold and impersonal. Our car was properly taken care of (for US$35 a night) and we were escorted (through beautiful corridors) to our room on a high floor which, to my surprise, not only had great views over the city but had been completely renovated in a classic-chic style, with an ample bathroom (shower was not well-maintained, though), very comfy bed, a huge closet and overall modern facilities. We particularly liked a full-figure mirror at the entrance. There was complimentary bottled water as well as chocolate provided by the turndown service.

Breakfast was superb, too. It was à la carte but with plenty to choose from, and the staff was professional and attentive. A great way to start the day.

Location: unlike some reviewers, I didn't find it to be dodgy or scary. Granted there are some homeless around, as everywhere in San Diego, but it looks as if some people are scared off by the presence of poor people around. Not to mention it is perfectly located, within walking distance to all the action at the Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to two great breweries and not-too-far from Little Italy on foot. You can also leisurely walk to Labrea Park or the Marina during daytime hours, so its location is also perfect for exploring the city's attraction. You can do no wrong with this one.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the value for money turned out to be excellent. If you want a good property outside the major chains at the Marina area or the luxurious hotels well far off San Diego, do not think twice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Greetings Liilak,

Thank you for exploring San Diego from another culturally rich and exciting location; the Basque Country!

San Diego has come a long way from it's early days and THE US GRANT has been there to see this evolution. In full stride we are working hard to deliver the exceptional and it is agreed that at rates that make more expensive cities blush.

Your comments and photos are appreciated, as we know that you will help impact where they choose to stay when they come to San Diego and our hope is that THE US GRANT appeals to them for all the reasons that you eloquently explained.

Sincerely, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Overall I would HIGHLY recommend the US Grant. My boyfriend & I had am amazing time here. Everyone we interacted with was beyond helpful - from concierge, to valet (in & out privileges), to Tom, the bar tender (we got to know him quite well). The customer service was superb! Clearly a lot of care and pride has been taken to the upkeep and appearance of this historic hotel. The room we stayed in was quite large (corner room) and the lobby was impressive. The only downside was that the hotel is just on the edge of where the neighborhood starts to get a bit dodgy. Although there were many homeless people on the streets, hardly anyone harassed you for money, etc. they were just very present in the general area. That being said, the proximity to Gas Lamp, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. is perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in 524 and did not get much street noise - the room was quite large (not a standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.