We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, location and history in a great city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Character, location and history in a great city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Don’t ask me why, but in all my trips to States I’ve never made it to San Diego until now. Having stay at the US Grant I rather regret that. Ideally situated near the gaslight district this historical hotel (with excellent panels explaining it’s story in the lobby) really helps you place the city in context.

The hotel itself is well furnished; whilst the corridors are rather tired the room and public areas are good. Though for myself I wish they made a little more of the historic themes in the room décor. Another gripe I do have however is the comms. Whilst recently decorated the rooms still have prehistoric IT and telecoms in them which is a shame. But in all honesty these are niggles. The is a solid hotel in lovely part of a lovely city – enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,033
    414
    134
    50
    34
See reviews for
272
700
119
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We just returned home from our 5 night stay at the US Grant in Downtown San Diego. It was outstanding. My wife and I went for our anniversary and for a vacation to a city we've never been to. I'll start by saying I am a Starwood Platinum Member and was able to use my points to stay for free at the US Grant. They didn't have any suites available when we checked in, but Merri was very helpful at the front desk and has us in a suite by the 2nd night.

The lobby of the 90+ year old hotel was gorgeous and we were greeted with great service as soon as we entered. I'll be honest, I was a little worried at first. My wife and I are in our mid-20s and I was concerned we wouldn't be treated as nicely as the older folks in suits that I'm sure tipped much more than I could. But I was pleasantly surprised. We received impeccable service every moment we needed it. I have stayed at other top hotels (Ritz, 4 Seasons, etc.), and the service was comparable, if not better at times. We we're surprised with chocolate strawberries on our first night since they knew it was our anniversary! Now to the details.

Location: Perfect. In the heart of Downtown across from a large mall. Gaslamp District (which is the place to be every night) is a mere 2 blocks away. We went there every night for dinner and had a 10 minute walk at the most.

Service: As I mentioned perviously, service was great. We did the "Make a Green Choice" which credits my account with 500 starpoints each night for turning down room service. So, I can't rate housekeeping. However, room service was timely both times we ordered it.

Food: We only ate breakfast here, but it was outstanding. Pablo was our waiter every morning and he was awesome! The food was delicious every morning. I am sure the 4 diamond restaurant is also outstanding for dinner. We also had their signature cocktail featured on the Food Network "Pumpkin Smash" martini. It was the perfect blend of sweet and savory.

The rooms were also clean and in great condition. The beds were very comfortable and plenty of pillows. I didn't rate value because we stayed for free and didn't use the spa, so that wasn't rated either. Brooks and everyone else at the Concierge were very helpful when we needed advice on how to get to the Ferry, Little Italy, etc. We we're greeted with smiles at all corners of the hotel.

All in all, and amazing stay and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great vacation getaway!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Greetings HealthBar09,

Thanks for making the journey to San Diego and for selecting THE US GRANT as your home away from Atlanta! Merri and Pablo are ambassadors of the purest caliber and will be celebrated for their achievement with your stay! Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and for allowing us a few days to straighten out the upgrade opportunity! It is not every stay that we are able to achieve this and the patience and foregiveness you accommodated to allow us this room move mid-stay is appreciated as we do truly desire to exceed the expectations of our guests!

Please do come back for a visit when you get the next opportunity. We will be sure to deliver the same special care and recognition as with this past stay!

Sincerely, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The vast lobby/hall probably shows straight away what this place is all about - good to have found an Expedia deal that probably saved us a fortune. It's conveniently located in the city centre and within easy distance of the waterfront area. Comfortable bed. Only minor negative, bathroom rather small, no doubt because impractical to knock rooms about too much. And make sure you have your wits about you if you're arriving late at night and looking out for the valet parking entrance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is located in the Gas Lamp district which has numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance. One thing that I have noticed staying in the district is that the trucks (trash, delivery) begin around 4 AM and you can here them clearly when you are in a lower floor room.

My room was nice although the TV had some issues with the quality of the reception on several of the channls. The bathroom was nicely updated. Another issue was that the window covers do not block the light coming from the street. I was on the third floor and the room was not sufficiently dark with the shades drawn.

The staff was very nice and helpful. Valet parking is very expensive ($35). Ugh.

Not a hotel to bring your kids to. Not sure if I will stay there again - depends on the price at the time I am booking my next trip to SD.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more likley to have light and noise pollution from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I recently took a semi-business trip and decided to use my Starwood points to get a suite at the US Grant. When I arrived, they had upgraded me from a "Superior" to a "Luxury Suite." This was a very large room with two queen beds, overstuffed pillows, and excellent quality furnishings. The views from the hotel were of the Gaslamp area, and gave you that nice full security in a large urban environment feeling. The bathroom had a massive tub/shower and two sinks in a marble shelf. The entire experience was one of unrestrained luxury.

I was there for a conference, so did not spend much time in the lobby areas, but these were very well done - brass, marble, big heavy furniture, soft thick oriental carpets. All very classy.

My wife and kids found that access to the harbor areas and a bus line to Coronado Island was very easy. The hotel was easy to get to from the airport too, either by cab, shuttle, or for me ( I was by myself when I arrived - the Family came later) - I used the public bus to get from the airport to the Hotel. The bus cost $2.25 and dropped me off right in front of the US Grant Hotel - less than 20 minutes in transport, no waiting for a spot on a shuttle or renting a car.

There is WiFi available throughout the hotel for a fee. I did find that in my specific room, the WiFi signal lacked a little... that's about my only complaint about the whole experience.

Room Tip: Ask if any cheap (or free) upgrades are available when you check in. Corner suite is large with bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Albequerque is a journey from San Diego but a piece of your heart will always remain here.

We are elated that this stay exceeded your expectations! This is our most sought after achievement. Your details are all poignant and well positioned to assist fellow global explorers with their selection of a hotel and for this we are very grateful!

When you are ready to reclaim that portion of your heart we will be ready to welcome you back to THE US GRANT.

Thank you, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at The US Grant hotel. Both times have been great experiences. The hotel is rated a 5-star hotel, the rates for the fall time of the year were very reasonable. Since it is a Starwood Preferred Guest hotel, we got upgraded to a nicer room on a higher floor. They also offered to give us additional SPG points for going green in the room (they don't change out the sheets or towels during our stay unless requested). The hotel is situated so that a very short walk puts you in the gaslight district or up to Balboa Park. The only downsides to this stay - $35 a night for parking a car and a annoying fan noise from the room below us that they couldn't fix (they did offer to move us).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Still sunny and warm here in San Diego,

thank you for sharing your insight on your stay! We are happy that the Make Green Choice Program was something you enjoyed. Being a Luxury Collection property we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests with personal service and the option of this program allows guests to build their loyalty to Starwood and our hotel, we like that!

Please do come visit us again. Mention the minor inconveniences you encountered and challenge us to doubly exceed your expectations during your next stay!

Thank you, Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a lovely property in the near Gas Lamp area of San Diego. The suite was expansive, nicely furnished, but needed more light at night in the bedroom. Bathroom had no tub, but a large stall shower was perfect. Plush towels. What kept me from giving this a five-star rating was inconsistently of service (two of four nights, turndown service was missed), need to call everyday for proper newspaper delivery, need to call for my shoes sent for an overnite shine. The service in the breakfast room was great on the other hand! Food in the a grill at dinner was 4+ but not tops. On a busy Sunday when I was departing, only one available bellman for luggage needs, and he was helping someone else!

Room Tip: 10th floor suites are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.