We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Glam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The US Grant to your Saves list
The US Grant
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Total Glam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I felt like a 1920s movie star. Building is so deco and gorgeous. Rooms are tight but lovely (I still wear my US Grant slippers!). Great location, tons to do. Staff was very nice. Even let us stash our bags the day we checked out so we could explore the city one last time. For a unique hotel experience in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, this gem won't disappoint. I would absolutely stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    439
    141
    51
    36
See reviews for
289
734
122
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Walking distance to restaurants and shopping mall. Service was both welcoming and helpful. A lot of history seen and read throughout hotel. Room was a good size for a couple. I was impressed by the luxury though you can notice it is an older hotel.

Room Tip: View to garden is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel had excellent service. The only issue we had was the room was on the side near construction on the street and was very loud in AM. They didnt inform us of this issue ahead of time and it is prevelant enough that they certainly are aware of it. Other than that it was an exceptional hotel. I would recommend it highly to anyone wanting to stay downtown. You are within walking distance of anything downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

After all the reviews on this property I was afraid I'd be disappointed, but I was not. This hotel is as amazing as 99% of the reviewers say it is. First off all, the staff: Sergio at check in was amazing. Our room wasn't ready right away, so he took our # so he could call us when it was. We were told of all the things we could do in the area while we waited. He is fantastic at his job and a great representative of this property. Next up, Leanne at concierge. She basically took us on a history lesson of the hotel while telling us of all the things we could do in the San Diego area. quite possibly the friendliest concierge we have ever come across.

The hotel itself: you cant beat the area it's in. Close to absolute everything. Gaslamp, main shopping, water/piers, Hilcrest, and Little Italy all within minutes walking-no need for a car at all. It's beautiful, well maintained, and very comfortable.

Would return here without a doubt!

If I had to say one thing, the 150$ pet fee is too much. Even for a luxury hotel. I get the 35$ parking bc we are downtown, but even 75$ would be far more reasonable.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The US Grant hotel was built by the descendants on America's 18th President after the Civil War. It is a fine old fashioned hotel with charming rooms and great common areas. The hotel is well located for visiting the downtown sights, many fine restaurants and bars are nearby in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

CHECK-IN/VALET STAFF/FRONT DESK: The entrance to the hotel valet parking is quite tricky. You might go right pass it if you don't pay attention. We arrived to the hotel and were greeted by a very professional valet parking staff who had big smiles and addressed us as Mr. and Mrs. The professsional and friendly valet staff was consistent throughout our stay. We got 2 bottles of water from them everyday "for the road and the little guy". The young front desk staff was very friendly as well. Our son had a cold with temperature during our stay, the staff opened the closed gift shop and offerred tylenol (though we had to decline because we had to use children's tylenol). Overall, we couldn't be happier with the customer service. No complaint!

ROOM: Our room is on the 4th floor facing the Westgate hotel, which wasn't a good thing because of their all day construction. Not very good for napping or sleeping in. Our little one was quite unhappy to be waken up so early in the day (around 5AM...) The room overall is more like a suite. The king bed was very comfortable with a ton of pillows. The decor is quite dated and dark, but we weren't bothered much by it. There was a huge mirror on the floor leaning against the wall (not safe if you have a toddler). The bathroom is nice and clean and has everything that we needed, from cotton balls to magnifying mirror and a lot of clean fresh towels with timed lightning. There were always at least 2 clean bath robes for us each day. We got a call every night to find out if we wanted our bed to be turned. Oh, there were 2 compliment wate bottles in our room everyday, which were very nice.

ROOM SERVICE: The maids were very friendly and attentive. We had to use the long pillows to cover the pointy sharp night stand to protect our son from getting hurt. The maid understood that and didn't touch them (without us telling). When we saw them on the hallway, they were always polite and friendly to our little one. We ordered in-room service for dinner one night. The food was excellent, exceeded our expectations. We had the fillet mignon with seasonal garden veggies. Everything was very tasty and hot. We could tell that the veggies were very fresh. Our son was happy with his mac and cheese. The onion rings were very good, just like Red Robin. The room service staff was very warm and courteous when he delivered the food. We got a phone call about an hour after our dinner from the conceirge to see if we were satisfied with our meals.

LOCATION: One word - EXCELLENT! The trolley is right in front out the door. The mall is one block away, which has a lot of nice shops and restaurants. Very close to Little Italy and about 10 min walk to the Harbor. 5 min drive away to the San Diego Zoo, Spanish Village, and the models train museum (you can take the trolley there). The SeaWorld is about 10 min drive away. The San Diego Sarafi Park is about 20 min away (you will have to go on the freeway to get there, but quite straightforward).

Room Tip: If you have sleep problem, before you go, you should contact the hotel and ask NOT to be placed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Spacious room, clean, great decor, super helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Starwood, Amex, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The US Grant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.