We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2380 Moore St, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Nice location and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We traveled to San Diego for the USMC graduation of our brother, and the La Quinta Old Town was only a short distance from the Recruit Depot and also only a few blocks from nice restaurants and gift shops. We were late for the continental breakfast one morning, but the front desk attendants were very helpful in directing us to places to eat. The evening staff member (Susanne was her name) was very friendly and helpful, even though we kept going back to ask questions we had forgotten (Loooong roadtrip= forgetful/tired minds), and even booked us a last minute room that we wanted to add for super cheap since we had forgotten to get military discount when we had first checked in for our first reservation. One thing I should warn people about is don't be suprised if you book online and you end up paying more when you check in because of expensive state and tourist tax (NOT the fault of La Quinta, but the state of CA, but still shocking none the less, esp. us travelling to CA from a state that has no tax) although there is $10 a night parking, but we already knew about that. Also, for those of you with Skymiles accounts, be sure to sign up for La Quinta Rewards because you can transfer those La Quinta Rewards to your Skymiles account, just let the desk attendant know before you check out!

Other than all that, the rooms are nice and clean, you can get internet, room service, and there is a beautiful pool/hot tub area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the La Quinta Inn Old Town. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the sites of Old Town while you were here for your brother’s USMC graduation. We are fortunate to be within a short walk to all the shops and restaurants that Old Town has to offer and should guests want to explore San Diego even further we are within walking distance of public transit as well. We work hard to provide guests with exceptional guest services and well maintained rooms and are glad you took notice to tell other travelers. We would again like to thank you again for taking the time to review the La Quinta Inn Old Town and would also like to say Congratulations on your Marine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    130
    70
    23
    15
See reviews for
182
114
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

my wife and I came out for our son's graduation from USMC Boot Camp.
The staff at LQ is wonderful - they provided all the info we needed about getting on MCRD and about the family day and graduation. The room was nice. If there is anything to complain about it's that the room for breakfast was a bit small.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the La Quinta Inn Old Town Airport. We couldn’t be any more happier that you found our hotel a “great place to stay” at during your Marine’s graduation. We continuously strive to work hard in providing guests exceptional guest service and well maintained rooms and are glad that you took notice of those things. We again appreciate your feedback in telling other travelers about your stay and look forward to having you as guest in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We booked a room at this location using United miles and planned to stay with my family of five after a day at Sea World. A few weeks before the trip our plans changed and I called ahead and asked to move our reservation three days back. The person on the other end of the line said she had moved our reservation and that it would not not be a problem. I wrote down the time, daye and name of the person I spoke with.

However, when we arrived our reservation cold not be found. After being asked to wait 30 minutes while other guests checked in I was told I would have to pay for a new room. I went around the corner to the Western Inn and found a less expensive room with the same location and better service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is the best location no need to rent a car if you stay here
they pick you up from the airport and bring you back
the public transportation is 6 blocks away and the staff helped us
except the 7-3 worker she said she was too busy checking folks out and checking folks in to
go the extra mile for anyone. so get your advise from the 3-11 gal that was her specialty
we had trouble with a reservation the 7-3 lady could have said too bad so sad
but the guy working on the morning we had the issue took control and ta da solved it with expedia on the spot.GREAT breaskfast but get down b4 9 they have no exceptions
the 7-3 gal did not budge on the matter did not bother us but late sleepers it did but rules are rules. Clean the hot tub was not real hot.
but this was close to old town
so if you got done for the day you could always walk up there to complete you day
I would say for the adverage JOE like us not the upper class this is the deal of the day
it was 89.99 plus tax the best buy in San Diago.It was very quiet.I never give anything a perfect rateing then there is no room for improvement and besides one personality it would have been perfect.

.

Room Tip: we had a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLQOT, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, as it helps us improve our service. The hotels location is great. Our complimentary shuttle to and from the airport runs from 6am to 8pm. San Diego city public transportation is 6 blocks from the hotel with an average of 15 minutes in walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

HIGHPOINTS:

Walking distance to Old Town and surrounding hilly community and close to rail station.

Basic Euro-style continental breakfast offerings with plenty seating space

Very close to on/offramps with the 5 freeway, a big plus if you plan to be using the motel for staging point of multiday vacation (family,sightseeing)



LOWS:

Bad Wi-Fi signal capture - frustration and futility

Parking space underground with super tight allowance, space limited, bad during peak season.

No desk in room and tightly cramped

Broken off temperature regulator knob in room refrigerator

Bathroom could use some fixes

Room Tip: Bring your own multi-prong outlet, sound from nearby freeway wasn't a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLQOT, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Our complimentary deluxe breakfast offers hot waffles. We have different room types in the hotel that include desk and an office chair. Feel free to email or call us to book any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Good breakfast.
The room - 301 - was rather small - otherwise a 4 would have been considered.
This room was ' the only King available' after booking in advance.
It was however clean and had a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLQOT, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Summer is one of our busiest season therefore we recommend to book in advance. All of our rooms have microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge. We hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego. We thank you for staying at La Quinta Inn Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Customer service was good, not extra friendly but certainly hospitable. Room was very nice with large TV, microwave and fridge. Not too much in the neighborhood but easy access to freeways and a short drive to Sea World, Zoo and beaches. Parking garage is Very Tight and there is an extra charge for parking. We booked a week in advance and I think this was a good deal for the peak summer season. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport

Address: 2380 Moore St, San Diego, CA 92110
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town / Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.