We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1960 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #61 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mpls, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed in a standard room with beautiful views of the marina. Excellent location, near the airport with prompt complimentary airport shuttle service (be sure to call the hotel when you arrive) and about a $15 one cab ride to the Gaslamp district. The rooms furnishings and carpet looked new including the floor hallway carpeting. The room bathroom still looked original with a piece of tile that was missing, room door and wallpaper in the floor hallway also looked worn and not replaced. Customer service was outstanding from the courtesy shuttle, front desk and server at breakfast. What makes this hotel special are the views, location and service. The hotel could continue to remodel/renovate to justify the price.

Room Tip: Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Bekerba,

Thank you for your review on our Hilton, we appreciate the valuable information and feedback you have provided. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our breathtaking views and spectacular location as well as experience our friendly staff and take advantage of our amenities like the complimentary shuttle service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    147
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
70
110
31
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I chose to stay here because it was right on the harbor, super close to downtown San Diego, and the price was reasonable. However, we also had several problems with the room, starting with the smell! We couldn't figure out if it was because we were by water, and somehow the room would smell damp and a bit mildewy or what. Also, the tub filled up while I was taking a shower, and the hotel phone would not work. I called the front desk and they sent someone to drain the tub and we got a new phone. Still, it wasn't what I am accustomed to with the Hilton brand, so it left a lot to be desired.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with valuable feedback. We regret that you experienced these issues in your guestroom. I can assure you that you experienced an exception and not the rule at the Hilton Harbor Island. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams work diligently day in and day out inspecting our guestrooms and it appears we may have overlooked yours. We appreciate that you brought this to our attention and we have utilized your comments as a training tool for our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a gem on Harbor Island and while it is in fact an airport hotel, it is in a great location - quiet area with amazing views of the bay, marina and city. It was immaculate and relaxing yet close to sites like Seaport Village and Gaslamp area using the great all day $3 Big Bay shuttle.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you Scotty1221 for the 5 star review! We are thrilled you took advantage of our perfect location on San Diego Bay. Although we are less than a mile from the airport we do not get any airplane noise as we are not under the flight path. Harbor Island itself is quiet with very little traffic. Thank you again and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very good experience at this hotel. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast buffet was expensive but next door is the Harbor Island Deli. Would like to see handrails in the bathtub/shower areas. Balcony overlooking San Diego bay very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your visit. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. We have 12 rooms on property that are ADA accessible and have extra railing in the bathroom, tub and shower. Thank you again and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was immaculate. The front desk clerk ( Chris Treadsdale I believe was his name) was incredible and friendly. Very friendly to veterans. Great view from our room. Parking fees were covered and several restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you James P for your 5 star review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your fantastic stay. Chris is a valued member of our team and takes great pride in the service he provides, thank you for recognizing his stellar customer service. We look forward toward welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel has a great location for an overnight stay near the SAN Airport, service was very good, rooms are clean and they look recenyty renovated

Only negative is the size of the bathroom and the shower courtin which falls off as it has 2 parts and one of them couldnt stay in place

The shuttle is a great feature but you need to call them to be picked up at the airport

Overall a good stay

Room Tip: room 710 has a great view but the bed is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed most aspects of your stay including our views, service and cleanliness of our guestrooms and property. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Exactly what you should expect from a top tier Hilton Hotel. Shuttle to the airport and close to downtown but in a quiet enough area to leave the window open at night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank Sean M for your 5 star review! We greatly appreciate your kind comments and business. Our close proximity to the airport and downtown offer a perfect escape for those looking for peace and quiet on San Diego Bay. Thank you again and we look forward toward welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Address: 1960 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.