We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1960 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #76 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Time Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very good experience at this hotel. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast buffet was expensive but next door is the Harbor Island Deli. Would like to see handrails in the bathtub/shower areas. Balcony overlooking San Diego bay very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your visit. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. We have 12 rooms on property that are ADA accessible and have extra railing in the bathroom, tub and shower. Thank you again and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    181
    57
    15
    4
See reviews for
89
129
37
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chino, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel was immaculate. The front desk clerk ( Chris Treadsdale I believe was his name) was incredible and friendly. Very friendly to veterans. Great view from our room. Parking fees were covered and several restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you James P for your 5 star review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your fantastic stay. Chris is a valued member of our team and takes great pride in the service he provides, thank you for recognizing his stellar customer service. We look forward toward welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel has a great location for an overnight stay near the SAN Airport, service was very good, rooms are clean and they look recenyty renovated

Only negative is the size of the bathroom and the shower courtin which falls off as it has 2 parts and one of them couldnt stay in place

The shuttle is a great feature but you need to call them to be picked up at the airport

Overall a good stay

Room Tip: room 710 has a great view but the bed is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed most aspects of your stay including our views, service and cleanliness of our guestrooms and property. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Exactly what you should expect from a top tier Hilton Hotel. Shuttle to the airport and close to downtown but in a quiet enough area to leave the window open at night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank Sean M for your 5 star review! We greatly appreciate your kind comments and business. Our close proximity to the airport and downtown offer a perfect escape for those looking for peace and quiet on San Diego Bay. Thank you again and we look forward toward welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in a harbor view room with two double beds on the 6th floor.
The first 2 nights went well enough, but things went down hill after that.
On the 3rd night there was a fire alarm around 3am. No one was answering at the front desk. We assumed we had to evacuate and went downstairs to do so. Upon getting down there, none of the desk clerks could answer any questions. We asked the firefighters if everything was okay after they came out of the stairwell, they said everything was fine and something about the water heater on the 4th floor and that we could go back to the rooms. We went back to the rooms. Then at 3:39am the alarms were going off again. No one was answering at the desk again. We went back downstairs to find out what was happening. My roommates and I believe that it is the desk clerks duty to keep the guests informed. We shouldn't have had to track down firefighters individually. There were several people on my floor that were very upset. The fire trucks eventually left some minutes after 4am, which led us to assume that it was fine to go back to sleep.
The room itself was smaller than other Hilton double bed rooms. The balcony was quaint with 2 small chairs and a footstool.
The toilet papers and towels (body, hand, and face) are rough. It would be nice if they got softer toilet paper and got newer towels.
The hotel is on an island. If you're looking for restaurant or activity choices that are walking distance, this is not the place to stay.
When we first book the hotel back in February, we saw on their website that they had a shuttle to downtown. Upon check in, we were told that they did not. That was disappointing.
They have a shuttle to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Choose a harbor view room. Much nicer view than marina/airport.
See more room tips
Green Features: They change the linens/towels every 3 days, unless otherwise requested.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we did have an incident occur that was out of our hands due to a discharged fire sprinkler. With limited staffing at 3am our desk staff did our best to answer all incoming phone calls when the alarm was sounding. We are fortunate that it was a false alarm and no one was harmed. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward top having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island and it was the worst hotel experience I'd ever had. I don't know how that hotel survives considering everything that happened there. Firstly, I booked a king or 2 double room. Instead I got a crappy queen bed in a tiny room hidden the corner. That's crap! I paid for a nicer room and was told it was all booked. I know it was booked, that's why I got the room way in advance! Secondly, maid service was crap too. I didn't have water glasses or enough towels. I went to the front desk and requested them. The man there smiled at me and said of course. Never got any requested items or even consistent daily maid service. I usually look forward to staying at a Hilton for the quality of service. I really wished I could have stayed anywhere else this trip. Thirdly, the fire alarm going off at 3 am. I went to the front desk to find out why only to be told it was a false alarm. Then I hear from others that sprinklers were going off inside the rooms and hallways. I was so exhausted by this point that I cried at the front desk. I couldn't go back to my room for several hours. If there was a chance I could get another room in a different hotel, I would have left immediately. I paid over $1000.00 for the worst stay of my life. Every time I talked to the hotel staff, I was placated but nothing was resolved. So damn angry!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you Linn H for staying with us and reviewing your experience on TripAdvisor. I can assure you that you experienced an exception and not the rule at our Hilton. As you can see from our TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award and our overall satisfaction rating the vast majority of our guests thoroughly enjoy our property.

To your point of not receiving the room type you booked: You booked your reservation through the housing bureau for the convention you attended and you selected single occupancy for a lower rate and were guaranteed one bed in which you received. Our other guestrooms with king beds and two double beds were given to the same convention guests who paid the higher rate for double or triple occupancy.

Housekeeping service: Our housekeeping records show that you had your "Do not Disturb" on your door, therefore our staff did not service your room or knock or go into the room when you requested items. Our staff respects the privacy of our guests and will not disturb guests when they display the "Do not Disturb" sign.

Fire Alarm: We did have have a situation occur that was out of our hands in which a fire sprinkler had discharged. The fire department made the "All clear" sign shortly after they inspected the property. We are thankful that everyone was unharmed and it was indeed a false alarm.

Thank you again and we hope we have the chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton. The gym could use more machines to work out. The service in the dining facility during lunch was sloow. Breakfast was great! the chef kept making his rounds to insure everyone had what they needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. We greatly appreciate your 4 star rating. We are thrilled you enjoyed our full service restaurant, Sierra Pacific fr breakfast. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Address: 1960 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.