We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1960 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #51 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Ana, United States
1 review
“Union”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place is a Union friendly and allow workers work with dignity.we were about 30 rooms from my co-workers and we all agree to stay only and buy at those hotels with union workers,at the same time worker are more to work with love and passion,everything was so nice and clean,rooms,restaurant excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We greatly appreciate you review and your business. We look forward to welcoming you and your group back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    94
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
67
18
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, mn
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A surprisingly intimate hotel for both Hilton and at an airport. Felt more personal and friendly than expected. Rooms were nice, especially if get one with harbor view. Other side looks out at a nice view as well. Nice walking path out front. So-so restaurant next door and average hotel restaurant. The hotel is a little out of the way except for the airport and it is expensive to park there ($21 per night). If you want to see San Diego, you will need a car. Still pretty close to downtown and to Point Loma which was a surprise treat with its lighthouse and tide pools. Much more comfortable and intimate than the usual airport hotel. No executive lounge.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the harbor. The other side should have been a nice view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our quiet and intimate location. We hope to seen you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed 5 nights from 5-10 February 2014. Not the best location but it was near to the venue of the conference (@ Sheraton).

The hotel provides free shuttle pick up from the airport and 4 times a day to the city. However, please note that you have to call the hotel reception if you need a pick up from the airport or downtown. There's only 4 scheduled timing for downtown which are 10am, 2pm, 4pm and 8pm. Special mention to front office supervisor, mr morales Gabriel, he has been very helpful during our stay. Bravo to him and keep up the excellent service!

Otherwise, a cab from gaslamp to the hotel will cost about $15. Or you can ask at the reception for a free shuttle to the airport, that's where you can take bus 922 ($2.50 per trip) to downtown where you can change to other transportation. Get the day pass ($5 for unlimited rides) which is more worth it.

Check in was swift (great to be a Hilton honors member). Checked in to room with marina view (west facing) on the 8th floor. Room was big with a king bed. I love the pillows! Firm yet fluffy! However, the mattress was to soft for my likings. Nevertheless I did had great night sleep.

No minibar in room. Coffee maker machine and Coffee Bean coffee available. Iron and ironing board available. Another Hilton without in room slippers. No shower gel provided. No mug for toothbrushing in bath room. Bath room was kinda small. May be a problem for ladies who wish to put on their make up. Hair drier available.

Room fixtures looks brand new. Can't find any flaws, except a minor tear found on the desk chair. Otherwise perfect!

Love the small balcony that offer great view of the marina.

We've gotten a family & fun package that includes wifi and breakfast. However it seems that wifi is free for all guests and only continental breakfast was given to us. The continental was quite pathetic to my standard. If you want to upgrade to a fell buffet breakfast that only add in 6 extra items ( sausages, scramble eggs, Californian biscuit and beacons etc) which cost an extra $6 each.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit during your conference and Gabriel provided great customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

nice hotel for overnight while waiting for our plane. locate really close from the airport yet super quiet and close to the water. hotel food is excellent although slightly overprice but nothing unusual for a hotel. If your looking for a nice quiet hotel this one is yours. if your looking to party, definetly not.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our quiet location on San Diego Bay. Our central location provides an excellent choice as we are only a few minutes from nearby attraction including the Gaslamp District for those looking for a nightlife scene. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was very convenient and an overall good stay. It wasn't out of this world but it was easy, clean and adequate. The taxi to downtown was more than I'd wanted to pay but it was convenient to the wedding reception which was my primary goal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We appreciate your business and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed only one evening during a lay over in San Diego. The airport shuttle was convenient; however, the hotel was outdated. When we arrived in our room, there was only lotion and conditioner on the counter (no soap or shampoo). I ran the hot water for 10 minutes and it continued to be luke warm at best. The staff was mediocre (there was a wait to check in, no assistance with baggage offered). We took a cab to the gas lamp district for dinner and it ran about $40 round trip. If you are looking for a quick stay near the airport, this may be adequate, but I would not recommend for vacation purposes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We welcome all feedback as a training opportunity whether constructive or positive. We have addressed your concerns with our staff. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service to the Gaslamp District downtown four times a day. During the first quarter of 2013 we finished a multi-million dollar renovation of our guestrooms, lobby, business center and restaurant. We have just completed updating our rooms with new mattresses and bedding.

If you return I am confident that you will experience the level of service you are accustomed to receiving and that we are accustomed to providing. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel staff at all levels and disciplines were well trained and courteous. They responded to special requests quickly and accurately whether it was for breakfast or lunch, or room accommodations. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you Jack A for your excellent review. We appreciate your kind remarks and they have been shred with our staff. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward toward next time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel
Hilton San Diego Airport
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton
Address: 1960 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.