We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows to your Saves list
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Meatball Trio!
Ranked #49 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel may not be downtown but offers good accommodation with an interesting choice of local restaurants/eating places within walking distance. This was our fourth visit and we have never been dissatisfied. Great for all ages. Spent a great afternoon by the pool listening to cool jazz, eating and drinking - excellent service provided by the attentive friendly staff. Every room has a picture of a 30s/40s film star/celebrity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have more shade
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels changed when left on floor. Separate trash and recycling bins in common areas.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you very much for returning to stay with us! Although we are not downtown it is a short drive to everywhere in San Diego. We like to recommend the North Park area to our guests as it is much closer (5 minutes) and has an array of great restaurants and bars for entertainment. It's great that you had a relaxing day by the pool and thank you for the kind comment about the staff. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and have a nice safe trip back to London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    162
    46
    26
    20
See reviews for
157
109
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed here with a friend over 9 nights and it was a perfect stay. When we checked in we were given a poolside room which had a lovely view of the pool area. The room was in great condition and was very clean and the staff at reception were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for such an extended period of time! Poolside rooms are either ground level with a patio or we have second floor with balconies that all have direct views of our famous Weissmuller pool. I will make sure to relay your comments to all of the front desk team and am pleased you found everyone to be so helpful. We would definitely like you to stay with us again, please contact us directly when you figure out a time and date you can return and we would love to assist you. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel is in the North Park area of San Diego, only 10 minutes from the airport, downtown, etc. So, great location. Also, not being right downtown you don't get burned for a $40 per night parking spot and the nightly rate was very reasonable. The area itself is loaded with any kind of restaurant you might want and you are only minutes away from Trader Joes, Starbucks, etc.
The hotel is groovy and hip. The pool area is awesome with a serious fun vibe. Maybe not the best place for toddlers or babies but my 11 and 13 year olds loved the action. During the day music is on and the place gets packed, but by 10PM, the place is very quiet. If you want a deck chair grab one first thing in the morning.
We stayed in a Suze Suite which was perfect for our 2 kids, and us. The bathrooms are small but there are 2 in these rooms so, no problem!
We really enjoyed our 3 nights here and would stay again. Good staff, decent rooms, and more atmosphere than you can shake a stick at!

Room Tip: Families should stay in a Suze Suite, and ask for an upstairs room to help keep the noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of you and your families stay with us. I believe you covered all aspects of the Lafayette! 10 minute drive from all area attractions (or a fairly inexpensive cab ride) including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and downtown Gaslamp District. I would suggest taking a peak at the pictures of the Suze Suites to really get a visual on the room as they are perfect for family vacations such as yours. Very glad that your children enjoyed the pool party as well, generally we suggest with toddlers and babies during the weekend to come a bit earlier or a bit later as it does get fairly crowded mid-day. Thank you again for staying with us, please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Melissa Ruiz & Aimee Moya provided amazing service. The entire staff at Lafayette is cordial, respectful, professional, and friendly.

We always enjoy the Suze suite as it's so kid friendly- the kids always love drawing on the chalk board.

Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Lafayette! We will make sure that Melissa, Aimee and the rest of the staff receive your kind words. Our Suze Suites (or family) suites are perfect for any family traveling together as they are equipped with bunk-beds for the kids and as you mentioned a chalk board for them to entertain themselves with. We hope the rest of your trip was as amazing as your time with us and hopefully you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel was a total gem along with the 30s style theme the room was beautiful an upstairs poolside with balcony totally lovely. The lovely music played around the pool all day from Doris Day to Frank Sinatra. I would definately come back to this hotel one day as it was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
We're all very pleased we could accommodate you and your family and you were able to enjoy the Lafayette and all of our history and the nostalgia it brings with it. Our pool is open for hotel guests from 7am-10pm daily where we play a wide array of hits from that era unless we have a pool party or special event. The poolside balcony rooms are perfect for these events especially our pool parties during the summer (Memorial Day to Labor Day) as you can sit back and enjoy whilst people watching. It would be our absolute pleasure to have you back on your next San Diego visit - just let us know when you can plan your next trip to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Found this place on google and really wanted to check it out. Our daughter just started at SDSU so I want to find a place we enjoy since we will be visiting a few times a year. We found it. Love the area, close to the school. Not a chain hotel. It was just my wife and I so we got a basic room. We will be back to stay in one of the bigger rooms with our son when we visit next. He is going to love the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Perfect! We love having all our SDSU families stay with us, we're only 10 minutes away from campus! Hopefully she enjoys her first year as an Aztec and you are able to come down and visit her throughout the year. Please let us know when you are coming down next so we can provide you with the different options we have in terms of larger rooms/suites/bungalows. Thank you for choosing the Lafayette, we're excited to be your home away from home in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeRoy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The stay was awesome overall! The receptionist Meme hooked us up with an awesome deal! She was very personable, and genuinely cared about us enjoying out stay. Her and other staff made our stay just incredible! The only negative I can think of is that the pool closes at 10:00 pm

Room Tip: Poolside was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for enjoying your stay with us at the Lafayette, we will make sure Meme receives your gracious comment! The pool is open from 7am-10pm for hotel guests and is also open for locals and Swim Club members until 7pm. Unfortunately we can't keep the pool open later than 10pm as there are guest rooms surrounding the pool area and we try our best to be respectful of guests that may be disturbed by the noise. We hope you and your family enjoyed the rest of your trip out to San Diego/California, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.