We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor
2353 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOISY!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The motel room itself was actually very nice. Recently remodeled. But the location of the motel is TERRIBLE! The airplanes that land at the airport, passes right over the motel, and it's very noisy.

Also the train track is located right next to the motel, and the trains "honk the horn" as it passes the motel.
On the good side, it gets quiet enough to get some sleep, between 12.30 am and 06.30 am.
After 6.30 am, all hell breaks loose again unfortunatly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    32
    18
    13
See reviews for
11
13
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Long story and an even longer day of travel. Just needed a place to crash for a few hours till my flight home to Phoenix. I've been to SD many many times before and new of this Motel 6, called, the receptionist was great, told me what he had left. Now it was late so my choices were very limited. Anyhow, got there, checked in, he offered a toothbrush and all other toiletries, again, long story and a longer day why I had nothing on me. He offered a 4:30am wake up call and he called Super Shuttle for a 5am pick up as well. Again, the staff is awesome, but they can only do so much. Be warned, till approx 10:30pm you will hear the planes landing as well as the train next door. Also the rooms are very very dated so don't expect any sort of luxury.

If you just need to crash and be within 5 minutes of the airport and don't want to spend an arm and a leg, stay here. Just try and get a non-smoking room, the smoking rooms smell like a Laughlin casino.

Room Tip: Try for a non-smoking room...as a smoker I don't smoke in my rooms but this property is very old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

The carpets needed cleaning, the room could have been cleaner but the biggest problem was the NOISE.
Planes landing and taking off, busy roads, Amtrak trains howling and a car garage place next door all added up to a whole heap of noise. The hotel could help this situation by Installing some sound proofing and better windows.
Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boissevain, MB, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Close to airport, railway & trolley lines; close to harbour; rooms are fairly decent; prefer the lino to carpet so nothing can be hiding in it; had some issues with 1st room and staff was quite nice about 2nd room (different staff member than when we check in or in the morning); fridge in room was nice especially in a motel without breakfast.
Check-in staff was not very friendly and gave completely different story about airport shuttle than truth turned out to be in the morning; were told that they had a minivan and even talked to the driver (?) but in the morning it was the blue airport shuttles that serve the whole area, times and names were all mixed up compared to what we had signed up for, AM staff not helpful is solving the shuttle issue; shuttle has $5 charge/person-had understood it to be free, adds up when you're 14 people!!
Didn't bother me and I knew the noise would be there, but if you haven't googled the motel location - it is pretty much at the end of the runway so NOT for light sleepers! and the trolley and railway lines run behind the motel as well. Quiet time is from about midnight or 1- 6:30 am? I personally loved watching the planes come in.
For a motel that offers an airport shuttle (or do they?), they should have a public access computer to print boarding passes in my opinion. (A question I forgot to ask when booking.) Apparently we could have given the information to the manager and he would have done that. NOT something I'm comfortable with - I want to be there to do my own check in and baggage payments at the same time.
Free Wifi didn't want to work in the 1st room but once we switched rooms, worked perfect.

Room Tip: Some rooms are remodelled and some are not. I liked our remodelled one, friend had old one and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

This motel proximity to the airport is definitely the downside to it. Planes are landing non stop at proximities of 40 feet or so! Add the street noise to the mix and you have a very noisy place.

The rooms are big but have a bare bone feeling to them. The floors are vinyl instead if carpeted giving them a very cheap feeling.

Parties go on and the Premises and it seems to be allowed by management.

On the plus side the hotel offers free wiFi, cable, free parking and its located close to downtown.

I paid $44 for a night, I guess if I had to I would stay there again but it wouldnt be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOW
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Everything is OK with the motel: staff, room quality, bath-room, but the noise from airplanes flying 50 meters above is incredible!!! Add to it a railway behind the motel...
If you are very tired or have to get up rather early or don't have another option - then the place is OK.
It's close to the Maritime Museum and about 25 minutes walk from Gaslamp street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London & Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Motel 6's website stupidly lets you book into the sister property (Downtown) with a child in tow, even though the rooms don't have the ability to put them up. So, we ended up here by default as they do have enough room for couples with children.

At first we were alarmed by the reviews before coming here, but actually it's much better than expected and I'm really glad we were forced to move. We had a massive, newly refurbished room with a fridge. It was also cheaper than Downtown and had free Wi-Fi too.

Granted, it's next to a strip club, railway line and beneath the flight path of the airport (so close you can almost see the passenger's faces) but we weren't bothered. Never saw any trouble from the strip club (it's far away enough next door and you can't see it from your room) and the planes landing was very exciting. I personally loved being so close to an airport and I'm not even a plane spotter! Most flights have landed by around 10.30-11pm, so noise isn't really an issue from the airport. The departures runway is away from the property, so early morning noise didn't really happen for us. You might get train horns sounding if you're unlucky until about 1am, but that's about it.

We didn't use public transport and drove to most places. In particular I would recommend a trip to 'Old Town', which is about 5-10 minutes up the road. We ate out here and loved every minute of it - the ambience is incredible.

This isn't as bad as other reviews make out we have stayed in far worse places.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor

Address: 2353 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor Hotel San Diego
Econo Lodge San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 - San Diego Airport/Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.