We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large complex, Keep the map” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town and Country Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Town and Country Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Town and Country Resort & Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #158 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Edmonds Wa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Large complex, Keep the map”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our reservations got mixed up and we arrived one day earlier than they expected. However, with 1,000 rooms they were able to accomodate us. Our first room, on the first floor near the ice machine and two roads was noisy, outdated and needed remodeling. We requested a newer room the next morning and were immediately accomodated and placed in a large remodeled room that was comfortable and clean, This resort is right next to an exclusive shopping center and the trolley downtown which makes it somewhat convenient for getting around. If you don't go to the shopping center to eat (cheaper) you are limited to only the restaurants on the very large, complex campus that comprises the hotel. You will need the map they give you at check in!

Grounds are lovely and well kept.

I was impressed with the assistance of the bell desk. One excellent suggestion was that if we went to Kelly's Restaurant we could easily split a meal if we were not too hungry and there was no charge for extra plating. Great idea as the portions were quite large.

I wasn't impressed with the amenities in the room. We were provided with coffee but no tea and only one serving for sugar/creamer. If you have more than one person having coffee or if you like your coffee light it would be helpful to have more sugar and creamer. It isn't that expensive and for the price of the hotel they can certainly afford to be more generous in this regard.

For those who go - there is free coffee in the reception area in the morning as well as newspapers. It took me a few days before I discovered this.

Room Tip: Request a quiet remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It’s a great idea to hang on to the property map that is handed out at check in to assist in getting around. It also has great information on the restaurants we have on property. I regret that you were unhappy with the first room you were assigned, but pleased we were able to move you so you felt more comfortable. We will share all your comments with staff and do appreciate your letting us know of a few things we will work to improve on for future guests. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    701
    476
    287
    271
See reviews for
484
320
146
1,188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California, United States
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice room in good shape. But some weirdnesses. Coffee maker with no coffee. Mirror perched high on the wall above the headboard of the four-poster bed. Completely unusable. Doors to the very nice TV cabinet wouldn't stay open. Variety of problems getting on the internet. Free, but the front desk had a great deal of difficulty explaining how to get on and the codes to do so. NOTHING in the nice room book on the subject.

Could not determine if there was an additional charge for the gym, located in their Spa.

Poorly draining tub.

Diffident and somewhat inefficient desk staffers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and we do apologize for the lack of coffee in your room, the problem with the cabinet door and the slow draining tub. We do hope that you brought these items to our attention while you were still with us so we could fix them prior to your departure. Regarding the internet, the front desk does have all the codes, and there is an 8-sided table piece that has the internet information, as well as fitness center and restaurant information. There is a fee for the gym of $5/day. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved the rooms in this hotel. Very nice! We did wish that there was wifi and some kind of breakfast included. We found ourselves having to leave the property to go find food. Charlie's restaurant was good but understaffed and food was slow. The wait staff were so nice though! It is very confusing to find your way around. More signs would be helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We’re so pleased you loved our rooms and the food and staff at Charlie’s. We do have 4 other restaurants on property, so I don’t understand why you needed to leave the property for other options. We also very recently have put up a lot of new signage around the hotel to help guests find their way around and have hundreds of employees that would be more than happy to assist you. Regarding the internet and breakfast charges, we do offer a bundle package that makes this more affordable for our guests. We thank you for your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had to add additional room the night before attending this big conference. While struggling to get through the line and find someone to help, Josie happened to be the supervisor when we request to talk to. She was soooooo helpful to find additional room for us to be right next to each other, and blocked an easy location to make our stay convenient and comfortable. She is our angel! I wished that everyone is like her to provide services!!~

Room Tip: the tower is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for attending the conference here at the Town and Country! We’re so pleased that Josie was able to secure a second room for you right next to the one you had blocked earlier, making your stay with us much for convenient and comfortable. We agree that she is an asset to our front desk team. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us again in the future, whether it be for another conference or for pleasure. Again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at the town and country several times. The hotel is centrally located and the trolley is right behind the resort. There is a beautiful upscale mall walking distance from the resort. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you get an older room, they change you to a renovated room.

I do not know why people complain so much about a 3 star hotel. There are 4 - 5 star hotels in the area that cost twice as much. Who stays inside there room all day anyway? San Diego is a beautiful place and you are out all the time anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for being a frequent guest of our hotel. We are centrally located in San Diego, with the trolley, shopping center and golf all next door, not to mention everything right here on our 32 acres, including 3 pools, 2 gift shops, 5 restaurants, a spa and fitness center and, of course, the hotel and meeting space, just to mention a few. We do try to upgrade all our guests to renovated rooms and we are getting them all done just as quickly as we possibly can! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was there with group of people for a meeting and we had Excelleny rooms and service. The girls in the group kept bragging as they enjoyed the rooms as they have plenty of mirrors in the room and all over the convention center. The rooms have great views.

Great place for all kind of travelers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We thank you and the others in your group for staying with us. We appreciate your remarks on the rooms and the view you had, and, for the girls, the mirrors in various parts of the property. We thank you for taking the time to post your review and hope to be of service to you and the others again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here my last night in San Diego just to get away from everyone and spend the night together. As soon as we pulled up, the place was so cozy and cute. I liked it right off the bat.

Once we got to our room, we liked it even more. The King bed was HUGE, canopy style with a million pillows and very comfortable for a hotel bed. Also, the room had a back door, which led to a little patio, which I thought was great as well. I slept very great. Also, I loved how the hotel's hair dryer wasn't a piece of junk like many others. It even had attachments. The room was great and the hotel was really cute. I just wish we would have had more time to explore the resort and enjoy the place, as we arrived after midnight and left before 9 am. Still, I enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your short overnight visit with us. Perhaps on your next trip through San Diego you can stay a bit longer and enjoy more than just the room on our vast property. We look forward to having you again and do thank you for taking the time to post your online review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town and Country Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Resort & Convention Center

Address: 500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Mission Valley, the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites, businesses & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, beautiful bays & beaches. On property you will find tranquil grounds adorned with picturesque gardens & scenic walkways in addition to a full service spa, fitness center, 3 pools,large sunning deck and whirpool,4 restaurants & trolley stop. Shopping & golf adjacent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Town and Country Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town and Country Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.