We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town and Country Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Town and Country Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town and Country Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Upland, California, United States
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“not quite there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice room in good shape. But some weirdnesses. Coffee maker with no coffee. Mirror perched high on the wall above the headboard of the four-poster bed. Completely unusable. Doors to the very nice TV cabinet wouldn't stay open. Variety of problems getting on the internet. Free, but the front desk had a great deal of difficulty explaining how to get on and the codes to do so. NOTHING in the nice room book on the subject.

Could not determine if there was an additional charge for the gym, located in their Spa.

Poorly draining tub.

Diffident and somewhat inefficient desk staffers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and we do apologize for the lack of coffee in your room, the problem with the cabinet door and the slow draining tub. We do hope that you brought these items to our attention while you were still with us so we could fix them prior to your departure. Regarding the internet, the front desk does have all the codes, and there is an 8-sided table piece that has the internet information, as well as fitness center and restaurant information. There is a fee for the gym of $5/day. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    805
    677
    425
    246
    228
See reviews for
450
301
142
1115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved the rooms in this hotel. Very nice! We did wish that there was wifi and some kind of breakfast included. We found ourselves having to leave the property to go find food. Charlie's restaurant was good but understaffed and food was slow. The wait staff were so nice though! It is very confusing to find your way around. More signs would be helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We’re so pleased you loved our rooms and the food and staff at Charlie’s. We do have 4 other restaurants on property, so I don’t understand why you needed to leave the property for other options. We also very recently have put up a lot of new signage around the hotel to help guests find their way around and have hundreds of employees that would be more than happy to assist you. Regarding the internet and breakfast charges, we do offer a bundle package that makes this more affordable for our guests. We thank you for your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had to add additional room the night before attending this big conference. While struggling to get through the line and find someone to help, Josie happened to be the supervisor when we request to talk to. She was soooooo helpful to find additional room for us to be right next to each other, and blocked an easy location to make our stay convenient and comfortable. She is our angel! I wished that everyone is like her to provide services!!~

Room Tip: the tower is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for attending the conference here at the Town and Country! We’re so pleased that Josie was able to secure a second room for you right next to the one you had blocked earlier, making your stay with us much for convenient and comfortable. We agree that she is an asset to our front desk team. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us again in the future, whether it be for another conference or for pleasure. Again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at the town and country several times. The hotel is centrally located and the trolley is right behind the resort. There is a beautiful upscale mall walking distance from the resort. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you get an older room, they change you to a renovated room.

I do not know why people complain so much about a 3 star hotel. There are 4 - 5 star hotels in the area that cost twice as much. Who stays inside there room all day anyway? San Diego is a beautiful place and you are out all the time anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for being a frequent guest of our hotel. We are centrally located in San Diego, with the trolley, shopping center and golf all next door, not to mention everything right here on our 32 acres, including 3 pools, 2 gift shops, 5 restaurants, a spa and fitness center and, of course, the hotel and meeting space, just to mention a few. We do try to upgrade all our guests to renovated rooms and we are getting them all done just as quickly as we possibly can! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was there with group of people for a meeting and we had Excelleny rooms and service. The girls in the group kept bragging as they enjoyed the rooms as they have plenty of mirrors in the room and all over the convention center. The rooms have great views.

Great place for all kind of travelers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We thank you and the others in your group for staying with us. We appreciate your remarks on the rooms and the view you had, and, for the girls, the mirrors in various parts of the property. We thank you for taking the time to post your review and hope to be of service to you and the others again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here my last night in San Diego just to get away from everyone and spend the night together. As soon as we pulled up, the place was so cozy and cute. I liked it right off the bat.

Once we got to our room, we liked it even more. The King bed was HUGE, canopy style with a million pillows and very comfortable for a hotel bed. Also, the room had a back door, which led to a little patio, which I thought was great as well. I slept very great. Also, I loved how the hotel's hair dryer wasn't a piece of junk like many others. It even had attachments. The room was great and the hotel was really cute. I just wish we would have had more time to explore the resort and enjoy the place, as we arrived after midnight and left before 9 am. Still, I enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your short overnight visit with us. Perhaps on your next trip through San Diego you can stay a bit longer and enjoy more than just the room on our vast property. We look forward to having you again and do thank you for taking the time to post your online review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a conference here so I stayed here for several days. Old, very outdated, just generally depressing. San Diego is so beautiful, but you would never know it if this is all you saw. The only positive is the staff all seem to really try to help you make the best of it. Beware...if they tell you your room has an obstructed view, they mean obstructed! Ours had a full block wall in front of the entire balcony! Had to switch, otherwise we would have never seen the sun. Also, they make you pay for everything. WiFi, fitness center, parking, etc...nothing is included. Room service menu is limited and unhealthy. No in room safe, refrigerator by request only, no microwave, tiny coffee maker as old as the hotel. This place is run down and worn out. The one nice area is the day spa, but the fitness center is as antiquated as the rest of the place. I feel bad for the staff, as they probably get so many complaints. But it's beyond their control, yet most remain friendly and keep smiling. However, I will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraw387, Sales & Mktg. Coordinator at Town and Country Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us for your conference. We are in the process of a major refreshing of the hotel so a lot of what you mention in your review is currently being addressed and we do appreciate your input. Microwaves are also available upon request and safes are available at the front desk for guest usage. Thank you so much for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Town and Country Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country Resort Hotel

Address: 500 Hotel Circle North, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Mission Valley, the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites, businesses & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, beautiful bays & beaches. On property you will find tranquil grounds adorned with picturesque gardens & scenic walkways in addition to a full service spa, fitness center, 3 pools,large sunning deck and whirpool,4 restaurants & trolley stop. Shopping & golf adjacent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Town and Country Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town and Country Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.