We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Marina Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2005

Our room was in serious need of renovation, had a strong stench of smoke even though it was a no smoking room, burns in the curtains and TV screen, and black mold almost covering the entire bathroom floor, extreemly tight parking, and train crossing nearby.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    119
    60
    16
    41
See reviews for
50
101
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2005

I made a reservation on Jan. 15, 2005 to stay one night on Jan. 27. The website quoted one price, the hotel called me back and wanted to charge me an extra $10 for the same room. I received a confirmation e-mail for Jan. 27 for what the website quoted as the price. I cancelled the reservation on Jan. 18. I looked at my credit card bill and noticed a charge to the Marina Inn & Suites on Feb. 28, 2005. I called and spoke to the owners and they insisted that I had a reservation on Feb. 27! I had no proof of this reservation, and they will not help me out! I'm cancelling my credit card. This establishment is very untrustworthy and practices very shady business deals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2005

As a visitor from Europe I've never seen a dump like this before. Outsmoked rooms, forgotten underware of the last run away guest in the closet, and a rude, cheating porter who rips you off your money ($145 a night)
people beware, there are better and cheaper places to stay in SD.
If you are suicidal this is the place to be, Noisy from the front by heavy trucks and from the back by amtrack (blow the whistle boy).
Tear this place down please
(I moved over to the Bristol hotel after the second night -- it was 3 stars better and cheaper)

  • Stayed December 2003, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2004

If you are looking for a mold-smelling bathroom (an attempted paint job to cover it up on the bathroom ceiling), a large rusty ring aroung the bathtub drain, dingy white towels, a bathroom door that has to be slammed in order to close it, a desk chair that will fall apart when sat in, claims to have free phone calls which was advertised on their website, however, I was charged $0.50 per call, then this is it. I would NEVER recommend this establishment to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2004

Stayed for 1 week, good service and good location at a great price. Some noice from trains and street traffic. Close to marina, downtown, busses and trains.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2004

Booked through this website cos of the wonderfull rate, of 50 bucks for a night. Was cheapest available room in that area. The rooms are average, but great location, and cofee in the morning was a plus. Need more work. Other hotels on the same block were selling at 90 dollars or up, so i guess it wasnt a bad bargain if you wanna save a few bucks on the room and spend it on some other stuff. Housekeeping was above average. i spent 3 days and will go back if they give me the same good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2004

Had to call and make reservations - woke up person that answered the phone at the front desk at 11pm! He would not take my reservation, told me to call back in the AM and hung up on me! When I called back - he did not answer the phone. Hello are we NOT operating a business or WHAT! I might also mention that I am a tour operator and would never ever suggest to my clients this piece of trash property. Steer clear of this extremely rude and unprofessional motel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Just blocks from the Gaslamp, shopping, and San Diego Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.