We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe this place was so cheap!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Marina Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marina Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“I can't believe this place was so cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I paid less than $40 dollars for a stay here on a Friday night. Considering the location, it was a great value!

I arrived and this incredibly sweet lady named Mel was so helpful! She answered all of my questions about San Diego, events happening in the city, and transportation options. (I ended up going to December nights in Balboa park, an annual festival in the city).

For those of you who normally stay at luxury hotels, note that you won't have any of those amenities here. But for a budget hotel, this place hits the spot. Most rooms have a great view of the ocean and there's a small continental breakfast with muffins, hard-boiled eggs, and juice. It's located right next to Little Italy and the pier so go take a leisurely walk and explore if you're ever staying at this hotel!

The only downside about the hotel would probably be the parking situation. I checked in at about 5pm and took the last available parking spot. You'd have to do street parking otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, it’s great to hear about your experience. Our staff will always go above and beyond to help in any possible way, providing outstanding customer service and greeting you with a warm smile. Our location, as you mentioned, is fantastic! Extremely convenient… Our prices are always very affordable and it is a great deal. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    56
    14
    35
See reviews for
45
96
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent here 3 nights and were surprised by price and proximity to downtown. Metro station is just 5 minutes. Famous ship Star of India just 7 minutes walk. Friendly staff, free breakfast (mostly muffins and apples). There are also two 7 Eleven around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for posting your review on our hotel! We’re delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. As you mentioned, we definitely offer excellent prices, great quality and outstanding customer service. Our location is also something that guests love, very convenient, we’re glad you enjoyed yourself! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was fortunate enough to choose the Marina Inn where I stayed just during the end of October & first of November. Pooja, Nile along with the other staff members were awesome! They were always friendly, accommodating & professional during my visit! Pooja & her family were a joy and very kind to me while traveling alone. They made great recommendations on neat places to visit & good restaurants! I cannot express my gratitude enough! Thank you & Merry Christmas to you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time off your busy schedule to post such a kind review. We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. Our staff will always go above and beyond to help in any possible way… We maintain our rooms in outstanding conditions and cleanness, as we understand that is vital. Our location also helps in being so close to everything, we’re glad to know you enjoyed the restaurants nearby. O

nce again thanks for your comments, as your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very good value for money !
Impeccable staff (hyper pro, friendly and welcoming).
Perfect situation (near the airport, the train, the port, Little Italy, not far from downtown)
The rooms are clean as well and the beds are comfortable.
A little noisy but for us, it was not a problem.
For sure, we will come back !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! It's great to hear about your amazing experience with us! We're so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Our staff will always greet our guests with a warm smile and make sure to make you feel welcomed! Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

No frills, but our room was clean and we walked to Gaslamp, Little Italy and Seaside. Also the hotel is very close to the Amtrak station. Very friendly staff, and I agree the breakfast is just enough to tide you over until a real sit-down breakfast or maybe even lunch.

My only real area of concern was the shower; cold, to tepid, to scalding in a matter of seconds -be very careful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, your opinion matters to us! We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our breakfast is made freshly each morning, with plenty of choices to choose from, as you mentioned, in hopes to keep you satisfied for a while.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently had to plan a night stay for our brother that was in San Diego and us in Florida. After searching all night with no help living so far away we tried one last place which was the Marina Inn. The lady , Micheline, who answered went above and beyond for us to help out our brother. The room was great and food also was wonderful. It replenished our positive outlook after a lot of dead ends this night knowing that even as far away as we are we were still treated like we were neighbors . Great service and price was great. Thank you again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review on our staff and hotel. We are delighted to know that all your needs were met and that your brother had an awesome stay with us. Our staff always makes sure to give exceptional customer service to our guests and make the stay with us, unforgettable.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve your brother during his travel in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Allows pets!!! The area is nice, even a little grass nearby to walk the dogs. We were pleased with the service and value of the place. The managers were quite accomodating. It is a nice place to sleep and be amongst the attractions of San Diego. The breakfast was limited but served its purpose. We would stay there again if we needed a nice, inexpenisive room.

Room Tip: Still have smoking rooms. We were in the upstairs middle section and the rooms were smaller than an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Services at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Ybbarc74,

We would like to thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We are so happy to hear that your stay was pleasing for you! Our staff makes sure we do everything we can to make your stay with us, incredible. We're happy to know that our location was convenient for your needs, in the San Diego area.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to writing a review for us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Just blocks from the Gaslamp, shopping, and San Diego Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.