We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night of Honeymoon ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First night of Honeymoon ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A charming hotel centrally located with good facilities and a reasonable to good level of service. Reception staff particularly helpful, Room was clean, tidy and spacious with all room facilities you would expect. A grand hotel if a little dated, but would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    189
    68
    26
    15
See reviews for
78
206
52
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I reserved 2 rooms and at check in I was snubbed by the front desk employee when I inquired about rooms on the higher levels. I was told the hotel was completely booked before I could even finish my request. He was extremely arrogant and unfriendly. When we checked into our rooms, we noticed immediately the shower and the toilet was flooded with urine and feces. Thankfully and surprisingly we were able to move to another room. This was also after the front desk employee told me the hotel was completely booked.

There's no self park and valet is $32/night. After check out, we dropped off the luggage in my car. The valet attendant walked us to my parked car and I noticed the lights on the dashboard were on and the car was in park. My brand new Prius was left running overnight! When I confronted the valet manager he just gave me a blank stare and asked me what I wanted him to do.

Worst service and experience from beginning to end! This is NOT a four star hotel.

Good luck requesting a room with a better view and be careful when you leave your car with the valet!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestgateHotel, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Cindy B,
Thank you for posting your recent experience here at The Westgate Hotel. Clearly your experience appears very far from the hospitality and service we strive to deliver to every guest every day. I personally apologize to you for this.

Our hotel did experience an issue with plumbing systems during your recent stay; we only became aware of this around the time of your arrival. A problem affected certain rooms within the tower. We did relocate you to a higher floor away from this issue as well as other guests who were unfortunately affected. As with plumbing in our houses or apartments these issues can occur. Having resolved this situation, we continue to maintain an aggressive preventive maintenance program helping to avoid these occurrences whenever possible.

The Westgate Hotel continues to enrich our guests experience with many wonderful new amenities and guest comfort enhancements such as our new lap pool and exercise deck to every room receiving a new bedding package including plush mattress and down filled pillows. I hope you would give the hotel another opportunity to be of service when staying in San Diego; to experience the hotel as so many of our guests have. Creating wonderful memories and relaxing getaways.

Sincerely,
Richard Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Quaint old fashioned hotel, but all the upgrades you need for a lovely relaxing stay. Massive rooms, flat screen tv. Wi- Fi Tea and coffee. Beautiful bathroom, shower etc etc. fine soaps and shampoos.
A little touch ice in the bucket already in your room. Good bar for early aperitifs, nice restaurant some might find a little expensive.
Breakfast a la carte no buffet
Nice windows and views

The only downside and nothing to do with the hotel is the need for the a Emergency services to use their sirens at 3oc in the morning when there is no traffic about.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestgateHotel, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear COYMB,

Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your recent stay! The Plaza Bar has been voted one of San Diego’s finest piano lounges. Currently we feature great local talent in the lounge every Friday, Saturday and Monday. In addition, Thursday’s through the summer the Westgate is featuring a poolside Jazz series; another great way to enjoy those aperitifs. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

You're greeted by a wonderfully elegant and spacious reception area, the rooms equally so. All the staff were incredibly affable and helpful and the hotel itself is immaculate.

Turn left out of the hotel and you're in the Gaslamp district, a lively and fun area for party-goers and shopper alike, turn right and you'll find a tram stop to take you around the city.

I'm sure only the the most pedantic of guests could find fault with this place, and I'd recommend anyone to try.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestgateHotel, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Blue133,

Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your recent stay! The hotel was designed to rival the Grand Palace hotels of Europe. Inspired by the palace Versailles the lobby contains original works of art and many antiques. The hotels central location provides easy access to all San Diego has to offer including the vibrant Gaslamp Quarter. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean.
I found all the staff to be courteous, helpful and approachable.

The best thing that stands out about this hotel is the food! I ordered three lots of room service and it was all exceptionally brilliant.
It was hot in temperature, great quality, appealing to the eye, just enjoyable. Food for all of us when away from home and travelling is a big thing, we all have varying tastes and standards. This hotel is pleasant and again I emphasise all the staff are great.

It's in a great location with a shopping Mall directly across the road and within walking distance of the gas lamp area.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a wonderful, wonderful, stay at The Westgate Hotel.
It was so lovely that we stayed on an extra three days.
The room was wonderful, the pool felt spa-like and staff wecoming.
I highly recommend the Westgate Hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent 4 night on the 06/17/14 on wesgate hotel with my friend it was nice,we liked the hotel and the location was great. The staff was nice sepacily shraddha carlin.
She was really helpful. I will go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.