We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Nice hotel with great location. The rooms are spacious and quite nice. The fitness center was also good, and the Internet is reasonably fast. The only down side is the mandatory resort fee, which I was not aware of before booking. When I was surprised about it, the staff was a bit rude and just said this is "standard in the USA"...

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    194
    68
    26
    15
See reviews for
78
212
52
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed over NYE and we just loved everything about this hotel! It is across the road from the Westfield shopping centre, the main street with all of the nightlife is 2 blocks away and everything else is within easy walking distance.

The rooms had fast internet and were really clean and comfortable. The running track around the pool on the roof terrace was great and well maintained.

All of the staff at this hotel was so friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy working here. The hotel had a lovely old charm feel to it and we would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this gorgeous hotel over a weekend night and every aspect of my stay exceeded my expectations(which tend to be very high) From the moment of check in to the minute I checked out I was constantly impressed with the service and the surroundings. One of the brightest aspects of my stay was the incredible Concierge, Ms. Shraddha Carlin. Ms. Carlin was thoughtful, attentive, informative and gracious and these are the hallmarks of great service and of a great Concierge. The Concierge was a shinning star in the hotel and a wonderful ambassador for the Westgate and the city of San Diego, she helped make my stay so memorable.
The room that I stayed in was a stunning one bedroom suite that had panoramic views of the San Diego skyline. The décor was classic with French inspiration and the room offered every amenity that a traveler could wish for. The bathroom was nothing less then true luxury. Deep soaking tub, marble floors, large marble walk in shower, plush towels, great lighting, wonderful amenities and on and on and on. No detail large or small was overlooked in the room.
I had room service that was simply delicious. I also had the chance to visit the new pool and Jacuzzi at the hotel. What a great experience to sit in the Jacuzzi and watch the sunset over downtown San Diego.
I cannot wait to visit this amazing hotel again and experience its beauty and the great service of the Concierge and staff.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a city view Make sure you ask to speak with The Concierge, Ms. Carlin to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the Westgate Hotel over New Years and we were THRILLED at our decision. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is within walking distance from the gaslamp district and other attractions. The room was clean, tidy and spacious with fast internet. They had a fantastic running track on top of the roof surrounding the pool and gym area. The hotel had its own unique character that made it perfect for our stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

When we were staying at this gorgeous hotel we had a problem in one of the shopping malls and since no one could help us our amazing concierge shraddha carlin came and helped us with the problem we had i just want to say how amazing and kind she was during our stay at the hotel thank you so much for helping us shreddha carlin

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

San Diego has so many good hotels in or near the Gaslight District it is hard to find a bad one. I travel to San Diego 7 or 8 times a year and have for 3 years now so I have probably stayed at all or most all the 4+ star ones. I am never disappointed in a stay at the Westgate.

It is unique. almost all of the others feature the upscale glass and chrome look typical of hotels today. This is a throwback style and the elegance is everywhere. While not my favorite hotel in San Diego if I were planning a nice memorable romantic weekend with a significant other, it would be at the very top of the list.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went to a party in downtown San Diego and decided to grab a hotel room for one night on Hotwire so that I wouldn't have to drive.

Ended up getting the Westgate Hotel, which is older but well-maintained and still somewhat elegant, in an old school sort of way.

Service was outstanding and the staff was very professional and polite. The front desk agent upgraded us to room 1496 on the 14th floor which had a great city and partial bay view and was surprisingly large. This room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

Only slight negatives were parking, which is expensive (I didn't have to pay it though, as I have downtown parking already), and a $15 "facilities fee". At least, that fee did include internet access via wi-fi, which normally costs extra. It also includes bottled water in your room.

The location is outstanding. Just across the street from the Horton Plaza shopping center and a short walk to the Gaslamp District (and 2 blocks from my office, for what it's worth). Cruise ship terminal is maybe 10 blocks away, so it's also close, but a cab might be better for those with bags.

I enjoyed my brief stay at the Westgate. The price was very fair for a hotel of this quality. Comfort and service were top notch. It comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.