We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When we were staying at this gorgeous hotel we had a problem in one of the shopping malls and since no one could help us our ama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“When we were staying at this gorgeous hotel we had a problem in one of the shopping malls and since no one could help us our ama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

When we were staying at this gorgeous hotel we had a problem in one of the shopping malls and since no one could help us our amazing concierge shraddha carlin came and helped us with the problem we had i just want to say how amazing and kind she was during our stay at the hotel thank you so much for helping us shreddha carlin

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    204
    68
    27
    16
See reviews for
79
223
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

San Diego has so many good hotels in or near the Gaslight District it is hard to find a bad one. I travel to San Diego 7 or 8 times a year and have for 3 years now so I have probably stayed at all or most all the 4+ star ones. I am never disappointed in a stay at the Westgate.

It is unique. almost all of the others feature the upscale glass and chrome look typical of hotels today. This is a throwback style and the elegance is everywhere. While not my favorite hotel in San Diego if I were planning a nice memorable romantic weekend with a significant other, it would be at the very top of the list.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went to a party in downtown San Diego and decided to grab a hotel room for one night on Hotwire so that I wouldn't have to drive.

Ended up getting the Westgate Hotel, which is older but well-maintained and still somewhat elegant, in an old school sort of way.

Service was outstanding and the staff was very professional and polite. The front desk agent upgraded us to room 1496 on the 14th floor which had a great city and partial bay view and was surprisingly large. This room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

Only slight negatives were parking, which is expensive (I didn't have to pay it though, as I have downtown parking already), and a $15 "facilities fee". At least, that fee did include internet access via wi-fi, which normally costs extra. It also includes bottled water in your room.

The location is outstanding. Just across the street from the Horton Plaza shopping center and a short walk to the Gaslamp District (and 2 blocks from my office, for what it's worth). Cruise ship terminal is maybe 10 blocks away, so it's also close, but a cab might be better for those with bags.

I enjoyed my brief stay at the Westgate. The price was very fair for a hotel of this quality. Comfort and service were top notch. It comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooms are huge, and very well priced. The staff were very attentive and friendly all the time, and the hotel had nice touches like 4 free bottles of water every day, and a turn down service at night. The hotel is beautiful and really well maintained, and there are literally taxis waiting right outside to take you wherever you wish to go. A great experience, a wonderful hotel, it was so worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We recently had business in downtown San Diego and chose the Westgate. We enjoyed our stay. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The heated pool is terrific. We misplaced a T-shirt and alerted housekeeping - when we got home, we had a Fedex package from the hotel with the T-shirt in it. Only requests would be that they lower the parking fee of $32 per night and only replace sheets and towels when requested by guests as a more environmentally friendly policy. Of course it would be nice to have breakfast included, which it wasn't. Our overall experience was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I really, really, loved this hotel. For a start it's decorated in a classic style, frankly it's like something out of the Sound of Music but it's individual and distinct rather than impersonal and modern. I found the staff excellent, courteous and helpful and I really enjoyed a swim on the rooftop pool. I'd to check out after 1 day as I was attending a business conference in another hotel but I wish I hadn't. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because of the additional service charge of $15 for internet access which I felt was a little underhand and not in keeping with my experience and style of the place. I think it helped that I obtained a room at a discount via an internet booker but if you are going to San Diego, stay her, it will help make your trip. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Pros: rooms are spacious, they turn down the bed and leave a chocolate, and the staff is so friendly and helpful. Con: $32 for parking per night. I definitely recommend this hotel when in the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.