We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of real luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The heart of real luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Built about 45 years ago to be San Diego's most luxurious stay, this hotel definitely delivers. Rooms are beautiful with exceptional attention to detail. Nicely appointed luxurious room, though the decor does feel like it could use a freshening. Bathroom was huge (2 showers!), though carpeting on this room did have a faint musty odor.

Staff is highly attentive. Located close to many restaurants, and just across from Horton Plaza. Had a meeting in the hotel that was catered, and the food was really really good. Best brownie I have ever had!

If you are looking for true luxury during a stay in San Diego, this is the place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear takemeaway_2010_10-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback and will pass on your kind comments to our staff. When your travels bring you to San Diego in the future, we hope to see you as our guest once again.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    204
    68
    27
    16
See reviews for
79
223
54
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The greeting by the valet and doorman was pleasant and not rushed at all. Sometimes you get that feeling they want you out of their way, not here. Tucked away off Second and Broadway downtown San Diego this hotel gave me the sense of elegance and class the minute I walked into the lobby. Decorated with some of the same style art, chandeliers, furniture and carpet that you would find from the period of French monarchy you feel transformed into a guest not just a customer. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful with early check-in and late check-out. Room was comfortable, quiet, clean and well decorated with marble bathroom and elegant window coverings. We had an excellent view with large sliding glass doors out onto a small standing balcony facing out towards the Coronado Bridge/Island. The location puts you about three blocks North of The Gas Lamp District and plenty of restaurants, clubs and entertainment. From House of Blues, Yard House and Hard Rock Café to one of my favorites La Fiesta Mexican Seafood or Fred’s Mexican Food just for fun. Whatever your taste you cannot go wrong with the service, style and location.

Room Tip: Ask for the south facing rooms for great vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked a secret deal and ended up in this hotel. Very old fashioned room and shower.

If you like the style of “Ludwig XIV” you are right here, if not this is not your hotel.

Everything was on extra charge, parking, resort fee etc.. Could not get the room we wanted. For the price we paid we expected something else.

Location is ok if you want to explore the Gaslamp quarter and San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is rather unique, apparently miles away from the common chains that you encounter everywhere. The frontpeople are extremely nice and helpful, the room service impeccable. Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms somehow retrò but in a nice way. There is free wifi everywhere and works fine. The workuout room is indeed a roof where you can run laps or use treadmills and cyclettes in the open air in front of the heated pool. Also, few weightlifting machines will make everybody happy.
One negative note comes from breakfast. There are more waitresses that tables but things appear to be far from smooth and, when they decide not to have a (rather small) buffet, it may take 30-40 minutes to have breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. It is a few blocks from the Coronado Bay, so not on the water, but there were several views of the water between other buildings. The cleaning staff were exceptional, the food in the hotel was excellent. The exercise machines were outdoors, but covered by a roof. It was a very pleasant stay. My only complaint was the level of noise from traffic/sirens in the city. I stayed on the 12th floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Westgate is a lovely older hotel in a great downtown location. Friendly staff and a wonderful room with a great view. We loved the Havana Night Under the Stars on the rooftop outside our room. San Diego has an amazing public transportation system that will get you almost any where you want to go in the city. We used a cab on Friday evening to get to and from a nice seafood restaurant in the Harbor. We are in our 70s and had no problems seeing the Zoo, Old Town, Balboa Park Museums, the Harbor, and a sight-seeing trip up the coast to Oceanside to walk on the Old Wooden Pier. Great value for a lovely trip to an amazing destination.

Room Tip: The Horton Plaza is one block away with dozens of interesting shops and stores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Like many others, I always rely on Trip Advisor to book hotels on our vacations. Once again, we were not disappointed. The Westgate was perfect from check in to check out. We have never seen all hotel staff, who genuinely enjoy their positions with any hotel as we witnessed here. We were always greeted with a warm smile and "Can I give you directions", Is there anything else I can do for you today", and "Welcome back" after our daily excursions. Tremendous staff from top to bottom. Really made our stay very, very enjoyable. Congratulations to Management and all staff at The Westgate on this.

The Hotel itself is warm and inviting. The lobby is worthy of relaxing and taking in all that it offers.
The rooms are large and well laid out. Never had an issue with anything during our 7 days stay.
The pool and 3rd floor area is a great place to relax for a few hours.

The location is fantastic. Gaslamp district a block away. Short walk to Little Italy and San Diego Harbour. In fact nothing seems to be too far away from downtown San Diego, so a great starting point for excursions.

We have travelled to many locations, and we usually never stay in the same place twice, simply because we enjoy trying new places to stay. I can say without hesitation, when we return to San Diego we will stay at the Westgate Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.