We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel was quite nice at probably the most central and most convenient location in San Diego. It is a heavily decorated, old "Victorian" style which can get a bit tiring to the uninitiated like me. I would like to see some more modernism inside this hotel. The staff was excellent, their restaurant was amazing (had one of the best Angus black iron steaks twice and was never disappointed). It provides fast and reliable wifi. I was quite bummed out though that they are charging $15 a day (without taxes) for "facility" use (internet, a little dodgy coffee machine in the room and an old in room safe) without giving you the choice of opting out if you wished. The safe that I paid for was quite disappointing. It was very old and took ages to lock it whilst I did feel that if anyone truly wanted to steal something from it he would have made it! During the last day of my stay the whole thing just gave up and did not work at all. The people from the hotel could not fix it. I would like to see some better quality coffee, tea and hot chocolate using the in room facility (given that the little dodgy coffee machine stays put). I think the presence of a DVD player in the room was obsolete (who want to watch a DVD in a hotel especially if there is a linked central hotel audio visual service). The audio visual system in general was also disappointing to use - analog signal LCD TV, only a couple of channels were clear and available whilst the internal entertainment TV system was quite dodgy. No satellite or cable channels despite this being one of the premium hotels. Cleanliness was perfect however comfort wise I was a bit disappointed. The hotel is situated nearby a very busy street which is good in a sense. I was in one of the higher floors and soundproofing was not great through the windows. Unfortunately sound proofing was also bad as well in-between the rooms. Most of the days of the week the room(s) around mine were vacant, however, during the weekend (including Friday) these rooms were occupied. The room which has a connecting door to my room had barely any soundproofing. The occupants were not loud but you could here pretty much everything as the connecting door is adjacent your bed, from talks, to the shower, toilet flush, tv etc. All in all, a good hotel, however, taking account of the comfort status it is trying to sell I would suggest they attend to these small things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    233
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
102
252
59
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a great place! The location is perfect, very close to the Gaslamp district which is where all the action is, and also close to a great shopping mall. Rooms are quite big and give the feeling of luxury and comfort. I would absolutely stay here again. Concierge was very helpful and very knowlegable about what we wanted to do.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor so the views were not very good, but i can imagine how good it would be up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is styled like a 17th century French palace. The reception area is very stylish. Our room was on the 18th floor and views of the city from the balcony were amazing.

The room was accessed via a small private hall off the main corridor. This provides a sound buffer so no problems with noisy neighbours. The room itself was very spacious with a Kingsize bed, desk space, armchairs and ample dressing area. The shower had plenty of room and was powerful, unfortunately it tended to leave a puddle on the floor.

A resort fee was charged on a daily basis at $22 and valet parking was $32 a day. This gave you 2 bottles of water, fresh ice each evening, a free paper (never got one) and WiFi access.

The location is fantastic as it is opposite the Westfield shopping centre and on the edge of the gaslight district.

Overall a great place to stay and if you get up high the views are fantastic. I think the resort fees should be included in the price.

Room Tip: High rooms get fantastic city views. Don't forget the cost of parking and resort fee when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When our family, including our 8y.o. Twins arrived, we all said wow, what a beautiful hotel with a lovely foyer. Getting polite service, we then entered our room, and as my daughters stated on entry, 'can we live here'. Large, clean and elegant room with a lovely bathroom.
As a hotel, it was quiet, clean and in a wonderful position, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
At fault, not to have a fridge operating was disappointing and very surprising and the hotel did not have a pool, but not such an issue but was of surprise also
Overall a lovely place to stay and would well and truly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had a most delightful stay at the Westgate Hotel for five days late September. The hotel is old world and has lots of charm and the service was outstanding. It is in a superb location, close to the Gaslamp District. The Chief Concierge could not have been more helpful in every way. She was knowledgeable about the city and was so sincere in trying to help as much as possible. I would like to return to this hotel and bring my family and spend a few days enjoying the hotel and San Diego. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Westgate Hotel. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my second stay at the Westgate. The staff was very warm and welcoming and helpful at every step. Bed comfort, shower, towels, water pressure were all top notch. Great location as well.

Where the property most falls short is the older furnishings, an old and small TV and the anitque desk area that lacked modern amentiies such as easy desktop electrical plugs and an adjustable desk chair.

If you like historic properties this may be for you, but in some ways the property is on the verge of just feeling old versus historic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind and honest response. We are honored that you chose the Westgate Hotel and hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Three nights in the Westgate formed the perfect base for a mini-weekend break in San Diego. We chose the hotel for its central location that was within easy walking distance of the main attractions and we weren't disappointed - its a 20 min walk to Petco park, 15 minutes to the Maritime museum and ferries, 5 minutes to 4th and 5th avenues and all their attractions and only 2 mins from Dalton Plaza. We even walked back from Balboa Park (a 40 minute descent down 6th avenue), and a pleasant amble hom,e. it really is perfectly placed for a great downtown experience.
The hotel is themed on a Victorian ballroom with chintz and chandeliers aplenty and an old fashioned barber's shop in the basement. We had a suite style room with plenty of space, which though slightly dated in appearance, was immaculate with no flaws at all. Service was very, veyr good and really helpful - a good, well run professional team. We only sampled one breakfast, which contrary to most business hotels was NOT a standardized buffet - a most refreshing change, though the price was anything but - $4 for coffee? But, the food was excellent and freshly prepared and we it enjoyed it mightily, despite the sticker shock! The only real sting in the tail is the much-commented upon $15 daily surcharge for spa, water, conference centre etc - even fully forewarned on this, I still just don't get it...either charge it all-in on the reservation, or make it apply on as-used basis...why continue to press on with weird approach to customer relations when it elicits so-much comment?
Overall though, a great and nicely classy downtown place to stay and, if they dumped or included the surcharge, it would be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCox, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for your nice review. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Westgate Hotel upon your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#35 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,975 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#8 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,935 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.