We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Westgate hotel. Directly across from Horton Plaza and next door to the Grant hotel. The rooms are huge and come with a refrigerator. Private, clean and very nice. Did not try the restaurant because so many inexpensive places to eat in the Horton Plaza area. But drinks are expensive if you don't do the happy hour which has half price appetizers and drinks but when you order a drink- they really give you a Drink! and appertizers were wonderful. Warm cookies in the evening too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    233
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
102
252
59
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just got back from a tour of Cali which started off in San Diego. We had no preference as to where we stayed, so we used Priceline and ended up at the Westgate in Downtown. I read reviews prior to arrival and knew about the parking fees and the extra $15 daily charge....these charges were also reviewed with me during check-in.

Location is great, walkable to Starbucks which came in handy in the morning. The lobby was a bit outdated but with some charm....it's probably the look they are going for. We really liked the double doors that separated our room from the hallway....we absolutely never heard any noise from the halls. Loved the bottles of water in the room. Room was large and home-ish....also really liked the extensive cabinets, drawers, and counter space in bathroom. Like someone previously stated, definitely wish there was a small trash can in this vanity area....I kept dragging the one from next to the toilet into this room, but the housekeeper kept putting it back next to the toilet.

Valet is expensive, but comparable to the rest of the hotels in the city I believe. I wish there was a self park option, because tipping valet everytime we got our car started to add up....also noticed the valet looking at their tips as soon as we gave it to them....kinda awkward.

We didn't use the gym, room service, restaurant, bar, or any other services from this hotel because we were out touring the city. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider coming again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor....we were on the fourth floor and had a lot of street noise that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a 6 day business stay at the Westgate. We have been coming here for the past 4-5 years. The place has a grand old-line feel to it.There are many nice things to say about the hotel: I found the staff very responsive, the Concierge, Shaddha, is terrific. She is friendly and directed us to a number of wonderful restaurants. The location is right in the center of the Gaslamp area. The rooms are large and clean. The sandwich shop, right outside the hotel, is reasonably priced and good. However, there is no swimming pool. My only real negative comment is the trend the hotel is taking in terms of upkeep, Many of the carpets are in need of a good cleaning or replacement. The bathroom sink constantly clogged and much of the wood trim is in need of repainting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August 2012. It is very nice with large rooms, very clean, comfortable beds, etc....No complaint regarding the accommodations or location in the downtown area. The major disappointment and surprise were all the excessive fees. PARKING FEE at the facility is $32.50 per day; a MANDATORY FACILITIES FEE of $15 per day to have your bed turned down, bottled water & access to the gym regardless if you refuse the water, refuse the gym offer and NOT have your bed turned down in the evening; a TRANSIENT OCCUPANCY FF TAX FEE of $1.58 per day, and a TOURISM MKTG ASSESS FEE of $.30 per day. All of this plus ADDITIONAL TAXES & FEES of $20.86 per day from Priceline.Com. Needless to say, although this is a nice hotel, there are other "nice" hotels in the downtown area that you may wish to consider. Unfortunately, when using Priceline.com, after you place your bid for a hotel you do not know in advance which hotel will be selected for your bid. Consequently you could be subjected to all these fees and not given the opportunity to back out of your bid. It makes one wonder what the value is by using Priceline.com. Happy Travels!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed alongside my wife at the Westgate on Aug 2012 for two nights and it was very pleasant.
The charges for Parking are outrageous (US$ 32,00/night), but this is rule in San Diego, therefore the Hotel can take the blame.
The room is big and clean, shower very (VERY) powerful, worth to take take with kids due to the high pressure of the water.
Staff is very friendly and often goes out of the line to please the guest.
Location is perfect, close to several good spots, restaurants and sightseeing places.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at this Central Downtown Hotel last weekend with friends as part of our annual Padres weekend. There were a lot of pesky SF Giants fans there also.
A very nice Hotel with friendly knowledgeable staff and if they did not know they got right back to you. One of the few older style class hotels downtown. Almost like the older East Coast Hotels with a nice smaller lobby with chandeliers with room for High Tea Fri-Sun. There was a wedding and reception starting when I left for Petco Park on Sat. I am sure the guy with the Padres jersey on will be edited out of the pictures I got in during my slow exit form the crowded lobby.
Room service24/7 is great my friends said but there are no ice bins and they have to be ordered from them.
I said welcome to a almost full service hotel. There is free internet, 4 bottles of water per day, free local calls and use of the business center included in the resort/amenities fee of $15 per day.
The restaurant is not open for all meals and the bar is from late afternoon to midnight.
When I booked the rooms the website said that their new partnership with a fitness club which they are connected with on the 3rd floor would be open in mid August with a new pool.
Last week the club and the pool was not open and not expected to be until October.
A little disappointing.
Since the restaurant is not open for three meals a day I am surprised that it has a 4* rating on many websites.
However I booked thru Priceline and as they say it will do and it did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff was great, particularly Shraddha the Concierge. We spent 8 nights at the Westgate and was busy every day thanks to her assistance. She knew exactly where we should go and even saved us money on some of the excursions and shopping. Overall we were treated more like family than visitors.

The hotel is super charming with old victorian charm, fresh flowers throughout the lobby and great rooms. The hotel has turn down service every night and essentially cleaned the room twice a day. Cleanliness is very important to us.

The only reason we are not giving this a 5 star rating is the additional $15/day charge they snuck in during check out. It's not a lot of money but we would have appreciated knowing upfront.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#35 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,977 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#8 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.