We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Fee, W H Y ? ? ?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westgate Hotel to your Saves list
The Westgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Concord
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Resort Fee, W H Y ? ? ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

A very nice property, and conveniently located on the border of the gas-lamp quarter of San Diego. The hotel presents "a European elegance" and the rooms are more than spacious.

The front desk personnel are quite helpful, and very pleasant. They know good restaurants, and provide excellent directions.

I only had one disappointment, the annoying "resort fee." For what did I pay an extra $ 15.00 a day (after being successful with a priceline bid)? No one could tell me why I was charged this fee!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    220
    69
    30
    16
See reviews for
88
236
57
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I found the Westgate online by accident...which was serendipitous. As it is not part of a chain, the property has its own website, but often does not appear in lists of hotels in downtown San Diego where it is located. Nor is it particularly visible from the street, where the entrance is recessed inside an arcade-like entrance, almost hidden by large urns of tropical plants. Given that the building, built in the 70s, has 19 stories of rooms, a large underground parking garage, a main-level floor of shops, and a second-floor ballroom, this is all the more unsusal.

The hotel is unique in other ways as well. Modeled after an anti-room in the Palace of Versailles, the lobby and adjoining rooms are decorated in a resplendent fashion reminiscent of the great halls of Europe: giant chandeliers, antique furniture uphostered with period tapestries, chinoiserie, grand mirrors and paintings...and huge displays for fresh-cut flowers arranged in over-sized bowls, urns and vases. Even more remarkable, there is no signage whatsoever: no post-card racks, no magazines, no tourist displays--indeed, nothing that would indicate that his is a hotel in a busy urban locale.

Check-in was fast, polite and professional. When I explained that I hoped for plenty of sunlight in my room, the young woman at the desk quietly up-graded me to a higher floor where she assured me there was lots of light and a view as well. Indeed, the room was lovely, once the bell-man ushered me through the small anti-chamber that disquised its entrance. He had appeared curbside when my taxi arrived from the airport, and had spirited my luggage to the row of elevators in the looby where he waited until I had received my key. After showing me around my spacious room, opening the heavy drapes to reveal the stunning view, he disappeared as unobtrusively as he a materialized--all the more astonishing given than he looked like a Thirties moviestar.

The room was large, with pale striped wallpaper, brocade drapery, reproduction Louis X1V furniture, fine bedding, and no artwork other than a gilded mirror. The bathroom, which consisted of two rooms, along with a large closet, almost formed its own "wing," with a long vanity and stool in front of the room-wide mirror. The WC included a sit-down shower large enough for two. The Gilchrist and Soames toiletries were in bottles twice the size of most hotel amenities, and they were replenished daily.

The hotel's turn-down service is excellent--which I found surprising, given that I don't particularly appreciate the ritual. My first night there, I went to bed early, and missed it. My second night, I came home to find the lights in the room dimmed, environmental sounds playing from the radio, the heavy damask quilt and throw pillows removed from the bed and piled neatly on a stool that must have been hidden in the closet, the bed "remade" with down duvet and three sheets, and two discreet chocolates adorning a breakfast menu on the coverlet. The effect was peaceful and relaxing, and most appreciated after a hectic day.

I have never stayed in hotel (and I have stayed in many) where I felt both valued and ignored...in just the right ways. From the moment I arrived, I felt so welcome that I considered myself priveleged; yet, simultaneoulsly, no one approached me during my stay, or interupted me when I worked in my room on the wireless internet, as I did two afternoons Housekeeping was immaculate, but invisible. On the one day when I stayed in all day to work, the head of housekeeping phoned me late in the afternoon to ask if I wanted my room cleaned, and to avail myself of the turn-down service. Somehow, she knew that I had been in my room all day, and had left me alone until she felt obliged to enquire about my wishes.

My wish is to be able to stay here again. The dining-room is one of the loveliest I have seen. The food, judging by the two breakfasts I enjoyed there, was original and delicious, the service, once again, impeccable. The small bar is elegant yet intimate...which perhaps summarizes my experience of the whole hotel, where I stayed for one week. How a property of this size manages to run a complicated facility with such attention to detail amazes me...and makes it very rare in my experience of American hotels. And I paid less than I would have if I had booked a Holiday Inn. Go figure.

My only quibble about my experience is entirely personal. The Saturday night that I visited the bar to listen to live music, almost everyone there was dressed in gowns and tuxedos ... attending the opera, no doubt, which is near-by, or the wedding reception that was being held on the third floor. These patrons all looked appropriately dressed for their surroundings. In my jeans and sweater, I felt so out-of-place that I left which, no doubt, was unecessary. But I wish I had brought some fancy clothes--which I will do next time I visit.

The Westgate is such a fine hotel that it qualifies as a destination in itself.

Room Tip: When you book, make sure that the daily "resort fee" is included in your cost. This allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This ornately decorated hotel is in a great location - we walked to Gaslamp Quarter as well as down to the waterfront ,and there is a trolley stop right beside the hotel if this is too much walking for some. Bed was firm and comfortable, shower pressure was awesome, lovely bathroom area, mini-fridge handy, and room quiet. Any staff we spoke to were pleasant, and the room was nicely cleaned and decorated (not our normal taste, but lavish style in keeping with the hotel's theme and fun for a change), with chocolates delivered in the early evening. Yes, we heard some low-level city noise, but, well, it's in the middle of the city, so....no trouble for us. No view from our room, but we were out too much to worry about that.

Big perk: We arrived early in the day and were allowed early check-in by helpful front desk / concierge--- much appreciated (and not expected)! We did not use room service, but the prices seemed quite reasonable. We saw some guests enjoying an afternoon tea complete with harpist.

I was originally not going to recommend this hotel because of the $15 daily resort fees. I am not clear what these fees paid for, exactly.... We were told this covered things like the spa, coffee, wifi, etc.--- yet most of these are normally included in the regular daily rate of hotels 2 star and up (in my experience). I didn't see a particularly luxurious spa area (correct me if I am wrong...) that could justify the fee. Coffee in room was barely passable with normal artificial creamers, etc., although herbal tea was nice touch. It would be better, in my opinion, just to inflate the daily rate so guests were clear from the onset what they were paying per day. Alternatively, the hotel could add more to justify this fee. (I'm not certain if this resort fee applies to all hotel guests or just those who had reduced rates - we booked through Hotwire..)

We likely would not return as we do like a pool/jacuzzi area, and I don't understand what the $15 fee per day pays for. It reads as a bit of a cash grab...

If pool/jacuzzi not important to you, the fee is a non-issue, and you appreciate a lavish decorating style (French, 18th century, I think?) this hotel is recommended for location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spent three days in January on an upper floor room, facing East. Since our lower level room was not clean at check in we were upgraded. Nicely appointed, good bed, relaxing furniture. Nice view. Bath, particularly the shower, needed to be updated, with new overhead faucet needed. Interesting how two rooms are reached via foyer room from the hallway. Lots of noise when people across from us opened/closed door. Noisy from street noise and sirens in the night. We ate in the restaurant on Friday night. Surprisingly good. Very expensive daily parking. The hotel was built in the 70's and was opulant in its days.

Room Tip: Hold out for an upper floor room. Save money by parking in a lot across the street. Try the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was on business at the Westgate and was pleased with the distance to the convention center; not close, but not so far that it was a problem. The lobby is beautiful and reeks of a long ago Europe; most of the staff was interning from hotel school and it showed.
My room was large, the bathroom was gorgeous and there was actually a bench to sit on in the bath area to apply makeup. The entryway from the room to the outside hall buffered hall noise and was much appreciated.
All of the above would make the Westgate a lovely hotel and a "hope I get to stay here again" type of place.
HOWEVER......what made the Westgate not only special but superior in my mind is the fact that the staff takes the second step.
I had asked for a wake up call ( that is delivered by a human voice with a delightful german accent ) but got up prior and hopped in the shower. Didn't even think twice.
I didn't hear the phone ring and carried on with my toilette until the door knocked somewhat firmly. Grousing to myself for being interupted, I cracked the door and it was a desk attendant that had COME TO THE ROOM TO SEE IF I WAS OK,,,,,,,,What??? you mean someone thought...gosh....is she on the floor? is she oversleeping etc?

Major kudos to the Westgate.......top that Marriott....Westin...Hilton.....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Westgate is the finest hotel I have ever had the privilege of staying in. It by far exceeded all of my expectations!! The employees were all very polite and accommodating.
Walking distance to the Gaslamp area and PETCO Park.
We had room service for Breakfast and it was very good!
Valet Parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I'm in my early thirties, single and travelling alone to San Diego for a vacation. I booked this 4-star hotel through Priceline for $80, which was an excellent deal. However, upon doing some research I realized there was a $15 resort fee, which includes free bottles of water in the room, wifi and use of their gym. Though I was surprised to hear they didn't have a pool, which I think is unfortunate. I mean which "resort" doesn't have a pool? Parking is also an additional $35, which is on the steeper end.

Overall, I enjoyed very much my stay at the Westgate Hotel. I had a room on the 14th floor and away from the elevators as other reviewers had suggested. The rooms were quite, large and felt very spacious, as was the washroom. Some people commented negatively on their beds, but I found them comfortable and they didn't bother me at all. Their nightly "turn-down" service was a nice, classy touch. Besides checking in and out, I didn't have many dealings with their staff but overall their service was friendly, polite and prompt. And finally, the location of the hotel was phenomenal, approximately 2 minute walk away from the Gaslamp district. I would certainly stay here again if I were in San Diego again.

Room Tip: As with any hotel, you can't go wrong with a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate Hotel

Address: 1055 Second Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate offers the ease and pleasures of the world’s finest metropolitan hotels, and the best of Southern California! Minutes from the airport or the San Diego Convention Center, steps from the trolley/train station and readily accessible by freeway. Within walking distance is the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Opera and the Symphony, Horton Plaza shops and Gaslamp Quarter energy. Return to the quiet of your private room and relax in luxury, then consider a visit to Le Spa or the Fitness Center, a glass of wine in the intimate Plaza Bar, or an elegant dining experience graciously served in The Westgate Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate San Diego
Westgate Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.