We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Horton Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Horton Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Horton Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Provo, Utah
1 review
“Charming and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I stayed here for a few nights with some colleagues. I absolutely LOVED this hotel! When we checked in the two ladies at the front desk were not terribly friendly, but the rest of the staff couldn't have been more friendly and courteous. The hotel is full of period furniture off the landings of the grand staircase. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The toilet was noisy, but it only woke me up the first night (when I had left the bathroom door open). I had a balcony room facing the street & nightclub. My door would not open and the nightclub was very loud. I didn't use the air conditioner but the heat & fireplace worked very well. We knew ahead of time that the internet was not free, but it was very easy to access. The restaurant was open for breakfast beginning at 7am, but I left the hotel before it opened every day, so having a muffin available would have been wonderful. The hotel is located just off of the main Gaslamp street, so it was close enough to various shops/restaurants/convention center, but far enough where you didn't have the constant street traffic (if you don't include the club next door).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    151
    56
    36
    38
See reviews for
21
139
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

The Horton Grand is a great place to stay. On the edge of the Gaslamp District it is close to the action but situated on a side street of you can still get a peaceful night's sleep. The Staff is always ready to assist with any requests I had. The rooms are cozy, filled with antiques and a gas fireplace. This is always my first choice when staying in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We held a two day course for 20 biomedical research scientists at the Horton Grand Hotel in San Diego. The facilities for the course were excellent and the assistance with the practical aspects surpurb. Justin and Shannon at the front desk made the experience particularly enjoyable through their friendly, helpful presence.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We'd read both good and bad about this hotel, from chic to shabby, and I have to say our experience was wonderful! The hotel is historic and therefore don't expect your Hyatt or Hilton experience. This was fine by us, and the hotel is filled with historic pictures and has a very comfortable-warm feeling about it. Our room, a suite, was large with a little kitchen area. Very clean and even had a sitting area. I think next time we would choose a room with a balcony where you can sit and enjoy the outside. Everything is within walking distance and unlike some other Gas Lamp hotels, it's far enough from the raging bar scene that you can sleep at night without earplugs!. The bar downstairs is quite fun, and we enjoyed starting our evening there and getting all the current information about what's happening in the district. Just out the door and to the left was one of the best breakfast spots I've ever eaten at. It's called Cafe 222 and their latte's are the best!! If you happen to be attending something at the Convention Center, it's only about a 5 min. walk from the hotel. We're looking forward to our next trip down to San Diego and we will definitely stay at the Horton Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Here is what you are not getting for their sizzling deal ($99/night) like they call it. Poor air conditioning, no free internet ($9.99), they have a sign that tells you how to connect, but I had to call at the reception to find out about the surcharge, no breakfast, no newspaper, no public phone, they used to have one but they took it out for money reason, no wine bottle opener, it took the lady at the front desk 10 minutes to find one and when she found it, she was hesitating on giving it to me saying that people never bring them back, ice machine on the 4th floor was broken, so I had to go down to 2nd floor. The windows in my room wouldn't open, 75 cents every time you make a phone call from your room. No comment cards at the reception or in the room. No paper and pen in the room to take notes. My last comment is overcharge for what you get. Don't expect much is you go there, a tv and a bed and you will be happy then

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerusa001, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
We sure appreciate your review and notifying us of our shortcomings. We extend to you our sincerest apologies. In response to your comments, we are sorry about the air conditioning. We were able to determine the room where you were a guest and have repaired it. We are a certified historical property, and therefore, some of our windows cannot open, most do partially open for safety reasons. All our balcony rooms do have operational doors leading to balcony. Internet is a fee as you said. There is a Starbucks one block from our hotel where they sell newspapers. The public phone was recently removed by directive of phone company due to lack of usage. There is a public phone next to our property. The ice machine is being repaired today. There is a charge for local and 800 number calls. Paper and pen was mistakenly not placed in your room. We have reminded all our housekeepers to check daily to assure air conditioning system is operating properly and all room amenities are in room. We sure hope you return and give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel is in a great location, tucked away but right in the middle of all the action of the gaslamp district. The service was good, fast, and friendly. A great place to stay if you want a convenient location, a quirky historic feel, and don't mind doing without amenities that a lot of the larger hotels can offer for a fee (ie. fitness center, restaurant, etc).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Asian lady that checked us in on Sunday was so rude that we almost moved to another hotel. After she left, the staff was GREAT. The bar is beautiiful and the rooms are historic. A little trouble getting the temp in the room to balance and the toilet is extremely noisy. The restaraunt is excellent. Ida Baily herself would be proud. It was a little disappointing that they do not allow ghost touring of the haunted areas and that they have removed the "event diaries" from the rooms so you can't read about the spooky happenings before you arrived.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerusa001, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us. We are so very sorry for the very inappropriate greeting and check-in hospitality. We have constructively discussed this review with her and advised her of our guest hospitality standards. Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. We are a fully restored Victorian style hotel. We apologize for the air conditioning temp balancing and toliet operation.

We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Horton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horton Grand Hotel

Address: 311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Horton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Located only four blocks to Convention Center, Petco Park, and Horton Plaza Shopping Mall. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand room have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker HD TV and welcome bottle water. Valet parking available for charge. Palace Bar open daily at 5:00 pm and Ida Bailey's open for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Horton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horton Grand Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horton Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.