We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horton Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Horton Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Horton Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer Save 15%!
Ranked #82 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Great service at hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Having never been to San Diego, we decided to stay at the Horton Grand. Loved the accommodations and the location. Throughout our stay, we found ourselves asking the valet named Casey many questions about what to see and where to go eat. His recommendations were right on. He was very friendly and helpful. He made our stay more enjoyable. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    126
    47
    32
    37
See reviews for
20
113
31
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

The building is awesome. Bully in 1885 and located in the Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego.

But ... if you are on the island avenue side, sleep is not in your future. This is especially true Thursdays thru Sundays. The noise from the palace bar continues until 2300 or later. Then the thumping of base starts from across the street at the Fluxx Club. That will take you until 0300 or later.

If you stay here, demand a room as far away from Island Avenue as possible.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a real SAN CBD find and I would highly recommend it - not just a modern plastic hotel . It is a combination of two historic hotel (The Grand and The Horton) and Wyatt Earp apparently lived in the hotel for 7 years. I think I could to. Right in the middle of the Gas Lamp (bars and restaurants) part of town but the hotel itself is quiet. Short walk to the harbour and also PETCO park for the baseball.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My wife and I chose this Hotel for its location in the heart of San Diego's famous Gas Lamp Quarter known for its (nightlife) Restaurants and Bars and everything else thats within a 10 to 15 min. drive depending on what type of ocean activities you want to partake in. Beds are SUPER comfortable, which is a necessity whenever we vacation! The A/C actually works, kept our room ice cold! The only reason I gave the room 4stars is because it did not have a mini fridge or a microwave. Also if you want quietness get a room in the back of the hotel due to club Fluxx is right across from the hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful especially the bell hop man named "CASEY" who gave great insight as to where to go! The bartender "Taylor" was also very nice and always greeted me by name. These Gentlemen made us feel very much at home along with great service and greeted us with a smile (everytime)!

Room Tip: Rooms in back and on the inner part of hotel are quite, but why else are you going to the Gas Lamp Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary. Loved the historic aspect of the hotel. Our room was cute, clean and had a nice view from the balcony. Check in staff was very friendly. Valet was friendly. We didn't have any issues and wish we could have stayed for more than one night. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverside, California, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Really cool vintage downtown hotel - old but excellently restored with modern amenities and lots of charm. Reasonably priced with clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent location - easy walking distance to gaslamp district, waterfront, & Petco Park. Was very happy with it and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel offers a breakfast buffet for $12, but I would skip it. It was OK but not great and there are several better places within easy walking distance.

Note that the only parking option (other than city lots) is valet at $30/day, which I think is high, but not really that out of line for downtown San Diego. This is not well stated on their website - I had to hunt around for it. I find that a little annoying as I think hotels should prominently list all their ancillary fees but I guess that's just the way of things these days. I have a full sized pickup and they were able to park it without damaging it which, based on previous experiences, is quite an accomplishment in downtown San Diego.

Bottom line - even with parking added in, this place was still a much better deal than most of the downtown hotels and sacrificed nothing in the way of quality. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Since this is an older hotel, standard rooms are a little smaller than newer hotels. If that bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, CA, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Every summer, I take my staff(of 3) to a Padres baseball game in San Diego. I get a room for myself and them at the Horton Grand. We've stayed there several times before. This occasion was a satisfying stay. The rooms have been upgraded slightly. There is now bottled water and a coffee machine, and the breakfast buffet is back. This is a Victorian era boutique hotel, and the furnishings and ambiance are right out of the 1890's. (The place was once a brothel back in the day!). Reservations done right, room clean, bed comfy, linens and toiletries good. There is no fridge or microwave, but most rooms have a gas fireplace. The rooms are small, but furnished with Victorian furniture and fixtures. A great place for a week end getaway. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Get an inside or back room. The rooms facing the street can be noisy on the weekends when the drunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Horton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horton Grand Hotel

Address: 311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Horton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Located only four blocks to Convention Center, Petco Park, and Horton Plaza Shopping Mall. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand room have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker HD TV and welcome bottle water. Valet parking available for charge. Palace Bar open daily at 5:00 pm and Ida Bailey's open for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Horton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horton Grand Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horton Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.