We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horton Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Horton Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Horton Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Rooms are medium-sized, 1800-ish, and a great facility when you consider the entire package (ease, comfort, location, front-desk help). Within walking distance of everything in downtown San Diego. The great restaurants located nearby number make the location alone worth staying at the Horton Grand. Close to trolleys and the ball park. Nancy, a front-desk manager, went overboard in making our visit a welcome one. The others helped endlessly with trips, tours, and transportation. A must-stay hotel. It will be our first pick on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    150
    56
    35
    38
See reviews for
21
138
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tour_contact
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here with a group over the July 4 weekend. This a great hotel. Definitely stay here rather than some bland chain hotel. It has a lot of style and character. The rooms are lovely in an old world way. They were very comfortable and clean. It is in a good location to wander around the Gaslamp District and down to the waterfront. The staff were excellent, very helpful. We loved it. Would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is a bit of history and a bit of fun. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Rooms are a bit small, but so were people in the 1800's, we had no problem with it. The desk clerk actually showed me the room before I checked in, to be sure it met my needs. There is no restaurant all the time, but there is a good breakfast buffet for $12 and a good lunch buffet for $15 with a wide variety of choices. There is a well-stocked bar that opens at 5pm and specializes in local wines and premium whiskeys. I especially liked the bartender, Howard, who after my first day remembered me and what I liked. Even when it was crowded the service was fast.

Room Tip: If you can get a room not facing the street it is quieter. However, the soundproofing is fairly dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Lovely, comfortable room with charming and friendly staff in a decent location. I will never stay anywhere else when I visit San Diego.I tried several hotels in this town; hands down the best value for the modest price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Here now in room 317. It's 1:30am and my wife and I are wide awake because of the nightclub across the street. Normally I would let something like this slide, but my wife is seven months pregnant. I mean, who looks at a pregnant woman and thinks its a good idea to put her in a room across the street from a nightclub? Unreal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis H, Front Office Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for bringing this news to our attention. It is a serious concern to hear that this caused such great discomfort during your stay. We would personally like to follow up with you in regards to this matter. Travis Harper, Front Office Manager, would be the point of contact to reach out to at your convenience. Again, we sincerely apologize for the noise levels you experienced from the surrounding nightclub and we hope to have the pleasure of speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I took my girl to the Gaslamp district for her birthday, & we stayed at the Horton Grand. What a great choice. Valet parking was safe & convenient. Hotel clerk was new but well versed in the Hotel. The old century charm was apparent throughout, with recent remodel to the hallways, the place was perfectly clean. Location is great for exploring the area, even Petco field is only a short walk away, but the hotel is just off track enough to be a little quieter when the late night parties really get going. Hotel bar is really nice with 500 whiskey choices & great bartenders. We enjoyed a duo playing a bluesy/jazzy mix of all finds of well known songs with their own slant applied. The room was fantastic, although not huge. Great view from the balcony, (I recommend inside room with courtyard view, 4th floor). It even had a gas fireplace in room. The only down side is because of the age of the building, its a little noisy when the housekeeping crew starts in the morning. However the looks are perfect for the area, it is walking close to the gaslamp area, & drive close to the bay & its attractions. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Court yard view rooms are quieter than street rooms, highest floor has high ceilings. Maybe not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay and was well taken care of by all of the staff. Must give Nany at the front desk a shout out though. She was very friendly and helped with all of our questions and gave spot on recommendations to a few great places.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Horton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horton Grand Hotel

Address: 311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Horton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Located only four blocks to Convention Center, Petco Park, and Horton Plaza Shopping Mall. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand room have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker HD TV and welcome bottle water. Valet parking available for charge. Palace Bar open daily at 5:00 pm and Ida Bailey's open for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Horton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horton Grand Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horton Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.