We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Horton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horton Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Horton Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Horton Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer Save 15%!
Ranked #82 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Grand Horton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Grand Horton in San Diego is a very charming place located in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter, just a few blocks from the convention center.
We found it to be unique, picturesque and fun. It lacks a few amenities, like a work-out area, but more than makes up for it with ambiance. The Victorian style one-of-a-kind rooms are much more pleasant than your basic cookie-cutter room.
The staff are friendly and courteous. The restaurant is really good.

Go. Enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreciate your taking time to submit a guest review of our hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased you consider our hotel to be charming and fun. Very pleased you consider our staff to be friendly and courteous. Thank you for your suggestion about a work out room. We are seriously considering adding one as an amenity. Hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    115
    43
    33
    34
See reviews for
19
100
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

After a two week cruise through the Panama Canal, the 8 of us traveling together checked into the Horton Grand Hotel. My step cousin who lives in San Diego suggested the hotel to us. It is a smaller hotel and charming in every way. It was also convenient to everything. Many good restaurants in the neighborhood. My husband was having back issues and needed a wheelchair. The hotel had one and loaned it to us, so our stay in San Diego went smoothly thanks to their accommodating our last minute need. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked this hotel because I prefer places like this that have personality vs the usual hotel. I didn't realize how lovely it would be with all the gorgeous antiques. I found it amazing that a place with as much character as this was right in the gaslight area and so close to the convention center. The hotel staff was always pleasant and very helpful and the restaurant staff were very efficient and cordial as well. Would definitely stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chose this for my first visit to San Diego, was not disappointed. Nice rooms, everything was clean and the setting quaint. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Liked very much being able to walk around to the restaurants, theaters and convention center.
Wish they would have had in room safes, my only complaint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I travel about 150 days a year...so I am in and out of hotels all the time. Let me first say this place is very different from you cookie cutter marriots and hiltons.

The hotel has a very homie vibe and is kept very well. My room was very nice with a deck that over-looked the tree filled courtyard in the middle of the property. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious!

This hotel was a little cheaper than the rest as far as room rates but is just about 5min walk from the convention center which was key for my stay! Also, the gaslight district is right there which makes it easy to find a place for a bite to eat and some local color.

All of the employees at this place were very polite, courteous, super helpful and always greeting me with a smile on there face! The cheese shop was a great place to grab breakfast and lunch! Everyone there was very friendly and awesome.

Paula and Shannon at the front desk were so friendly...they were willing to help me out with anything they could and made coming and going from the hotel pleasurable!

All I can say is the personable vibe I got from this whole establishment made me feel like I was at home with friends! This is key for me seeing as though I travel alot.

DEF STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We very much appreciate your extensive review of our hotel. We are thrilled to read your thoughts. Paula and Shannon are very thankful for your comments. Thank you very much for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Turn of the Century New Orleans victorian style decor. Meeting facilities adequate. Food good.
rooms and bath not built for big people. Weather was too cold to enjoy balcony amenities. Good value for price.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were attending a conference at the Convention Center and love walking around the Gaslight district of San Diego. The Horton Grand was an excellent choice. The rooms were compact but clean, cozy, and attractive. The beds were superior and the view from our 4th floor window reminded us of several European destinations. The breakfast was just okay, but there are so many restaurant choices in the area that didn't matter. The Staff was friendly and responsive to special requests to change our room. This will be our hotel of choice in San Diego in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid room 421. It is next to the service elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We thank you for taking your time to submit a guest review, and provides us an opportunity to express our appreciation for staying with us. We are grateful for being your hotel of choice in San Diego in the future. We have informed the restaurant managers of your comment, and they apologize for you experience. Hopeful on your next stay you will give our restaurant another opportunity to delight you. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Horton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horton Grand Hotel

Address: 311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horton Grand Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Four Blocks to Convention Center, Petco Park, and Horton Plaza Shopping Mall. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand rooms have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker with signature selections, and HD TV. Valet parking available for charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Horton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horton Grand Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horton Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.