We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Horton Grand.....Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horton Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Horton Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Horton Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer Save 15%!
Ranked #88 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Horton Grand.....Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My stay at the Horton Grand with my wife Anna was honestly one of our best hotel experiences ever. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable, and overall just very nice. The bed was also super comfortable! We were hoping to see a ghost but did not get the opportunity, at least this time.Breakfast the next morning was moderately priced and very good.
Honestly, the people that are knocking this hotel in some of these reviews are a little ignorant. If you are a business person looking for WiFi and the latest technology, go plug in your computer at Starbuck's or choose a brand-new hotel with the latest gadgets. The Horton was built in 1886 and has been nicely modified for a historic hotel, while still retaining a 19th century feel. It is what it is.....a very well maintained historic hotel. We will definitely be going back again soon!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    137
    49
    32
    37
See reviews for
20
120
33
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The owner of this hotel must be a Scrooge. This was the end of December with temps in the 40-50's and the corridors and lobby were frigid. Unable to turn the heat up in the room and gas fireplace was on a timer but did not work. Room itself was fine although the bathroom was a little small. Great location but our room faced the street and was very noisy late at night. Be aware that parking is $26/night additional and good luck finding any on-street parking in Gaslamp Qtr.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our hotel. San Diego is usually not cold for as long as it has been. However, we apologize for the temperature in your room and inoperative gas fireplace and have reviewed those with our operations team so they can correct both problems. We are very sorry that you did not have the warmth you deserved in your room. Hope you will consider returning to our hotel to experience a much more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Horton Grand Hotel was lovely. However, the friendliness of the staff was lacking. Out of the 5 different front desk staff persons I came into contact with, NONE were friendly. In fact, they were down right rude! The TV had minimal reception. No internet. No micro/fridge in room. No ice to be found. There was a fireplace in the room, as advertised, but it was only 'for show'. The hotel itself was gorgeous and comfortable and right within the Gaslamp Quarter and an easy walk to the Convention Center. If the staff had been friendly, I would stay again. I can deal with no ice, no internet, no micro/fridge; but I can't deal with rudeness! Based on my experience, I would not stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortonGrandTeam, General Manager at The Horton Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We thank you for taking your time to complete a guest review of our hotel and for staying with us. We are very sorry for the very unacceptable service friendliness provided by our staff. We have reviewed your comments and friendliness expectations with our service providers. We hope you will reconsider giving us another opportunity to accommodate you. We recently installed new flat screen televisions in every room. Maintanance has been notified to inspect our televisions and take corrective action on the one in your room. Internet is provided for an hourly and daily fee. Ice is located on the 2nd and 4th floors, we are sorry you were not aware of this. Every room has a gas fireplace and that does emit some heat and is relaxing to sit by and for viewing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Horton's Grand is in easy walking distance to the San Diego Convention Center and all the attractions of the Gaslamp Quarter, yet feels "off the beaten path", is quiet, and (my favorite part) many rooms have a small balcony overlooking a brick courtyard of ficus trees. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The gas fireplace in the room was romantic, but as there isn't a glass front panel, this wouldn't be good for kids. As an independent hotel, it has character and doesn't feel cold and sterile as larger hotels can be. It doesn't have one of those features those sterile hotels do offer, however: coffee maker in the room. But coffee is available at the front desk. I note this only as an FYI, not because it would prevent me from choosing this hotel again. On the contrary: I've made a note to stay here whenever I return to San Diego. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: request a room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. 4th floor balconies are above the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am sure any words I type will be inadequate to describe my experience here. This is indeed a grand hotel; it is architecturally interesting and beautiful, it is filled with lovely antiques and old photos, and it is quiet and peaceful. There are fireplaces i every room (gas). There are beautiful antique pieces in the public areas, as well as in the rooms. The furniture that is not antique is fitting to the time period and beautiful as well. Our room opened onto a courtyard and had a little balcony. In the courtyard were trees adorned with strings of white lights and tables and chairs. We were lucky enough to meet the owner and her family. One night, there was entertainment in the bar (piano and singing) and after enjoying a drink and the music, we were invited on a tour of the hotel. The owner and her family were gracious and lovely people. The staff were extremely kind, friendly and helpful. The location (heart of the Gaslamp Quarter) is perfect. The next time I am in San Diego, I will most certainly stay here. In fact, I may just plan a trip to San Diego for the sole reason of staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms that open onto the courtyard offer a lovely place to sit in the mornings and evenings. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Enjoyed my stay. Hotel staff was extremely pleasant, and helpful.
2 things that should be changed: since hotel doesn't have 24hr room service, or even a 24hr store/eatary, rooms should contain microfridges. No place to store food, and unable to purchase food onsite--not to efficient.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a conference which took place at the Convention Center.
What I enjoyed the most:
- located (1) at the heart of Gas Lamp quarter but (2) in a quiet place (3) within short walking distance to the Convention Center and (4) harbor which is a great place for a run. In my view it would be difficult to beat this.
- very beautiful and atmospheric building and interior. All my friends (not only me) who came to visit where impressed.
- very clean room with all things I needed. Easy to control temperature. Very comfortable mattress. I asked for a quiet room and it was quiet.
- the staff is very polite and responsive. Conversation was nice and informative. They understood and appreciated all my or my friend's needs and problems and reacted adequately to help us. One example: I missed my delivery which had been delivered when I was already in London. The re-shipment was organized by the staff at the optimal lowest but reliable cost.
- plenty placed to eat nicely (just to mention fresh catch tuna). Just 5 min walk.

My general feeling: comfort, convenience, reliability and confidence. The latter two are not so often in my experience.
I'll not waste time to look for another hotel when I'm back to San Diego next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Horton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horton Grand Hotel

Address: 311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Horton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Located only four blocks to Convention Center, Petco Park, and Horton Plaza Shopping Mall. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand room have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker HD TV and welcome bottle water. Valet parking available for charge. Palace Bar open daily at 5:00 pm and Ida Bailey's open for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Horton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horton Grand Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horton Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.