We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Best prices from these 10 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn) (Pacific Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #69 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Time Together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife of 14yrs and I wanted a quick little get away before I headed back to work. The staff here were very friendly and the location was not too far from the beach. We rode the MTS everywhere and came back to the hotel after a busy day to a great relaxing environment.
Marcia and Maria Elena were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Pmespino,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are delighted to hear our staffs “were very friendly”. We work hard in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy them during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next “quick little get away” and appreciate your reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
53
40
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express was wonderful. My 16 year old nephew and I had a great time. We didn't rent a car, but it was a perfect place to get everywhere with public transportation. The #30 was a ten minute bus right to the most lovely part of Pacific Beach. Catch the #30 in the other direction and connect with bus and train service will take you to Belmont Park, Sea World and Petco Park. The hotel was very quiet and clean. The service was terrific and the breakfasts were delicious! I never had to wait for a table and I was down there at varying times each day. We got there at 9:30 am and because they had a no show we were able to check in right away, which was nice because we were tired. Our room was clean and the beds were so comfortable. We both got great sleep every night. I will recommend this hotel to anyone going to San Diego. It is a great place at a reasonable price. I can't think of a single thing that would have made this a better stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear lovinglife0729,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is “wonderful”. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience and are pleased to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We appreciate you recommending our the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area and hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff were overly friendly and constantly went out of their way to be helpful. Especially Juan and Marcia they couldn't do enough for us. Also the free breakfeast was really good. They gave you free coffee and tea for the in room coffee pot and two bottles of water every day

Room Tip: the hotel was also close to seaworld, mission beach , etc top floor rooms away from the elevator see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear PatrickD251,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear that our staff “constantly went out of their way to be helpful”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The bad reviews about parking, small room and paper thin walls is ridiculous. The parking was fine, the rooms are a bit small and the sound can be remedied by using the radio/alarm. There is white noise options or listen to some music, we listen to classical every night anyway. I really appreciate that little luxury. The staff, everyone, was really nice and helpful. Breakfast was delish and filling, so grateful for that. Our room did have a slight smell but nothing to get angry over. We were given a corner room, we have small children. So it was as much good for us as it was for other guests! ;) Everything, food, grocery stores, the beach, was with in close driving distance. We loved our stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear you had an “excellent stay” at our hotel. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are so glad you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego and appreciate your review of the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Last fall, I had the pleasure of working with Luis Borbon to book a room block for my daughter's wedding. He was an absolute delight to work with. He made sure that all of my questions were answered, and that everything was set up to my satisfaction. I was working with another "luxury" hotel at the same time, and not only did their sales rep pale in comparison, she didn't compare at all. Give Luis a raise! Have him work as a consultant to show other hotels the meaning of service.

And speaking of service, the staff at the hotel, led by GM Juan Alarid, was exceptional. My guests had nothing but rave reviews, and told me that they had never experienced such fine, attentive care.

The property isn't on the beach, or in the trendy sections of San Diego, but it is very close to these locations, and it is well worth it to experience the care and professionalism of the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World-Beach Area!

That other "luxury" hotel will also be receiving a Trip Advisor review--but in no way will it be like this one. Their service was abysmal, and they could learn many things from the employees here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear that “customer service is alive and well” at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We appreciate your kind words about Luis and Juan, and agree that they are vital members of our team. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are glad you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We weren't sure what to expect when we booked two rooms at this hotel, but were pleasantly surprised. We stayed here three nights and every time I left the room I saw staff mopping, vacuuming, or scrubbing some part of the hotel. It was literally spotless.

There were plenty of restaurants and stores in the area if we wanted to grab a meal of needed to pick up any items. The hotel was very conveniently located to everything we wanted to see including Old Town and Mission Beach, which were literally right around the corner. Coronado Island, Balboa Park and the Gaslamp district were only a short drive away even though everything looked much further on the map.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel is “super clean and convenient”. We strive in providing a well-maintained property and are thrilled to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are located within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are glad you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here the first week of June. I had called ahead several times because I was so worried. It was our first time traveling so far and so long with our special needs daughter who has a low immune system as well. The room was spotless, everything we needed and them some.
The staff was amazing! So sweet, helpful and patient.
My 13 year old asked to stay there again the next time we visit the area, just because the staff was so nice to her.
So yes we are planning another trip as soon as we can, maybe October!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are delighted to hear that our hotel allowed your family to have a “great vacation”. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience, as well as accommodating our all of our guests’ needs and are thrilled to have accomplished said task. We anticipate your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.