We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vacation ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the first week of June. I had called ahead several times because I was so worried. It was our first time traveling so far and so long with our special needs daughter who has a low immune system as well. The room was spotless, everything we needed and them some.
The staff was amazing! So sweet, helpful and patient.
My 13 year old asked to stay there again the next time we visit the area, just because the staff was so nice to her.
So yes we are planning another trip as soon as we can, maybe October!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are delighted to hear that our hotel allowed your family to have a “great vacation”. We strive in providing our guests with a memorable experience, as well as accommodating our all of our guests’ needs and are thrilled to have accomplished said task. We anticipate your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Your staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking was a bit cramped as are all areas at the beach. It has good access to Sea World and is two miles from the beach.

Room Tip: park early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are delighted to hear that our rooms were “clean and the bed was very comfortable”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are located within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in SD for 4 nights and had originally booked at A different hotel and ended up leaving early because it was terrible there. I am so glad we booked the holiday inn for the next 2 nights!! The hotel was clean, the staff was over the top helpful and nice, and the complimentary breakfast was amazing! I believe it was Jose and Annalisa (can't remember exactly) that were great about checking in with us to make sure our stay was going well. We had a Great experience! I will ALWAYS stay here for all our future trips!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ec31911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear we have “great staff, comfy beds, and awesome breakfast”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted to have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We anticipate seeing you again and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my hubby. I think there was an event in San Diego so most hotels were fully booked and this was the only Holiday Inn close to my husband's work that was available. That is probably why they could not check us in when we got there around noon. This was fine since we were aware of the situation and the male frontdesk clerk was very friendly. Our room was of average size and was clean. It was just unusual that the first thing you see when you open the door is the sink. We also notice the walls and doors are too thin that you can clearly hear the people talking along the corridors and you can feel the vibration on the walls when the next door close their doors.
The room has a mini ref and coffeemaker. There are good restaurants nearby. The Japanese restaurant and thai resto across the street is a must try. There is free breakfast for Platinum IHG members which offers continental breakfast. However its only open until 9:30 am, i almost miss it good thing i checked the directory. We also requested for late check out but was intially declined even if we were IHG Platinum member since they were fully booked however after some prodding from my husband, the manager gave it to our request. Overall it was an okey experience.

Room Tip: We opted for the twin room coz it was a little bigger than the single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gsl_9292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel has a “good location with friendly staff”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast too all of our guests (not just Platinum IHG members) and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Although it is sited in an industrial area, it's an easy 10 min drive to restaurants, grocery outlet shops, seaworld, 10 min to airport. Hot Breakfast included automated pancakes, scrambled eggs although the restaurant was small for peak hr crowds. Beds were comfortable. Gym only had cardio machines and no weights. Swim pool was small. Would still return for the value for money

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChongCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are pleased to hear our hotel has a “convenient location”. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Decent standard for a Holiday Inn Express, although the management were not aware of our Priority Club membership, and failed to realise that we are entitled to points even if we book through a third party. My only gripe was the use of plastic cutlery for breakfast, I later realised that this was also the case in another HI Express hotel in California. I would rather pay a few quid extra and get proper cutlery. Distance to SeaWorld was only 5 minutes by car and Old Town was not too far. I would stay here again for a short stay and for visiting Sea World.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. As you mentioned, we are within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. Unfortunately, we were unable to provide you with membership points, because it is required that you book though an IHG direct channel. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferron, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

PROS:

Staff was very kind and helpful. One young man helped take our luggage to our room when the luggage cart got a flat tire. Beds were extremely comfortable. Rooms were decent size for the price. Breakfast was almost like going to a restaurant. It was a breakfast feast. Seaworld was just a few minutes drive away as was the beach. I think the beach was about 3-4 miles away. Price was decent for the area. We paid $240 including tax for 1 night stay for 2 rooms with total of 4 queen beds. Internet worked well.

Cons: Rooms were a bit small but I wish we would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Stay longer than 1 night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We are thrilled to hear out hotel is a “great valued” and a “great service”. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to thoroughly enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#119 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing