We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, service, and very clean!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #62 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff, service, and very clean!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Front desk Juan (shorter fellow there is 2) was very friendly and helpful!! Breakfast was very good lots of selection. I think her name was Elisse, young girl sooo friendly!! Staff willing to do anything to make you happy! Only downfall parking spots are very small so sometimes a bit difficult parking as it is so tight. I would definitely stay again. Literally 6 minutes to Sea world, Pacific Beach and La Jolla.

Room Tip: We were on pool side ground floor nice cool rooms. Beds comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
I am so pleased that your stay with us was so "excellent" and that your experience with our staff was so memorable. Our hotel is very fortunate to have such a hard working and caring staff that really care about our guests and what they can do to accommodate them. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach Area and for taking the time to write a review about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    53
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
66
54
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we enjoyed it very much. Locations is not bad, considering that it is close to the sea world and the harbor area. What is was most impressed about was the staff. Very helpful & friendly. The room size is good and the breakfast is substantial. I was mainly on a business trip and hence was not able to go to some of the restaurants nearby. Will love to stay with them again in future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Valued guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach Area. It is great to hear that the staff at the hotel impressed you and that they were "very helpful & friendly". I know they work hard and strive to give their best. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast and that our location was convenient to your stay. I hope to have you stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach area again as well. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is nice and staff are very friendly which are nice its just a very busy spot and so much traffic around here. The rooms are a little on the small side and I didn't find the beds to be very comfy which made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I do apologize, we are located in a "busy area" where there is so much to do. We are located to many San Diego beaches and attractions that it can get busy at times. I am pleased that you had a positive experience with our staff. We hope to have you stay with us again when you are in San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we enjoyed it very much. Not only because of its locations which is close to most attractions, the downtown harbour area, and airport, but also for the hotel itself. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is good (a few hot stuffs). The printer at business center allows you to print out the boarding pass before you heading to the airport. The room is clean and updated. There are good restaurants around, and a convenience store right cross from the hotel. Overall, we love this hotel and will come back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am so pleased that your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area was so convenient. We are very fortunate to be located so close to all that our beautiful city has to offer. I am so happy that you were able to take advantage of that and some of our amenities at the hotel as well! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we truly love to hear what our guests have to say about their experience. We hope to have you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura county
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The only positive about our stay was the VERY VERY VERY friendly staff. The location of the hotel is right off a very busy street and between two car dealerships...made me feel like we were staying at a cheap Hollywood BLVD motel. Breakfast: the food was horrible. our first breakfast they had fruit (bananas that were mostly brown and old)...the dinning area is so small and stuffy. Parking: this is terrible, if you're not in the parking lot by 8PM, good luck finding parking. The room: we had a two queen bed for my wife and daughter...the room was SO SMALL we could barely move around in it. When we opened up our window, we saw open garbage cans from the hotel and mechanics working on cars (terrible for a vacation). At night, the light from the hall comes through the door and lights up the room like PETCO Park. The bathroom was nasty, it was so small and it looked like they had not cleaned the floor in years. Walking through the hall to our bedroom you could smell cigarette smoke and what smelt like wet dog. One of the days we were there, they were steam cleaning the carpets on the floors. I'm glad the were cleaning, but the smell was disgusting, and you had to be careful not to step on power cords (should have given everybody a discount). We were so disappointed in our stay that we changed our schedule and left a day early. The hotel amenities is not worth the price they're charging. We are very disappointed in Holiday Inn Express and will think twice before choosing to stay at another Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very surprised to hear that your stay with us was so horrible. I can assure you that cleanliness is vital to our hotel and we offer a full hot breakfast buffet and not just fruit. I apologize for this horrid experience and I hope that you may stay with us again and we can show you what an amazing hotel we really are. We take pride in our hotel and the service we provide our guests; I hope that you may reconsider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week. It had nicely updated furniture with a comfortable bed and chair. The air conditioner worked well. The room was extremely quiet and clean. My only criticism would be the size of the room was minimal-the desk chair touched the bed and there was limited space for two people to move around the room as the foot of the bed was only a few feet from the dresser/TV. The sink area was good, but the tiny enclosed bath and toilet area was claustrophobic. The breakfast area was clean, nicely appointed and had lots of food choices. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to hear that you had a "pleasant stay" with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach Area. We strive to give the best experiences to our guests and I am glad to hear that your stay was no exception. We are very proud of our renovation outcome and I am excited that you enjoyed it as well. We hope to have you stay with us again when you are in beautiful San Diego. Thank you for choosing to stat at Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

excellent day to meet the friends for an outing around the area. good breakfast and fast and easy. Jason was still there and helpful as ever. Saw the aquarium and glider port in LJ. Sat by the pool and read. Overcast a little but the friendly staff made up for it...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
I am so excited to hear that you have had yet another successful say with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach Area. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience and for staying loyal to our property as a returning costumer. I know that our staff loves to see a familiar face time and time again. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our pool and that the location was convenient to your stay. We hope to continue having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.