We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #61 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Brier, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed here before and really enjoyed our stay. The staff here is the best and so friendly and helpful. All three Juan's are wonderful and helpful. The rooms are clean and very nice. The Facility itself in nice and clean. There is plenty of parking. Even though you are close to the street you really don't hear the traffic.

There is a nice golf course close by and the Bay is within walking distant to the Hotel. There is a great Susi place across the street and a very good Taco shop right next door. The breakfast here at the Hotel is wonderful.

Everything here is first rate. Thank you Holiday Inn Express Your the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sandra,
I am so pleased to hear that your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach Area was such a success! We work hard to offer our guests the best of service and quality. From our staff and their service, and cleanliness and quality, we want to give this same experience to all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach area, we hope to have you stay with us again soon when you are in beautiful San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    66
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
83
62
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Awesome prices, awesome staff. Extremely friendly. Greet you as you walk by. We booked this last minute and arrived early but were not denied early check. Rooms were clean. Free breakfast! If you're ever in the area his is the place to stay. They don't disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach Area. I am so pleased that your stay with us, even though it was last minute, was "awesome" with an "extremely friendly" staff. I very pleased as well that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld - Beach Area, and we hope to have you stay with is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First and for most i do agree the rooms are small, but when I stay here i feel welcomed with open arms!! I felt like a real guest that was just as important as the guest that are some kind of Club members. I was greeted with beautiful smiles, surrounded by happy people (the people who worked there) which made the stay a delightful one! The lady in the front desk was super nice and attended to my needs very attentively and the young ladies in the breakfast are just phenomenal!! Other than the rooms being small i felt like i was part of the holiday fam.
P.S. Just to let you know for next time the blackout curtains are right behind the sheer/see through ones.
-Guest

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. I am so pleased that your experience at our property was so welcoming and made you feel "important" and made your stay a "delightful one". Here at our property we work hard to give the same level of of "exceptional customer service" to all of our guests that stay with us and I am so glad that you were able to notice that. We hope to have you stay with us again soon! Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This room was barely large enough for 2 people. Also very confusing layout. There are no Restaurants that we could find that you could walk to other than the 7 eleven, Sushi place and a Mexican takeout next door. The room was also missing the blackout curtains and the room was so small that anyone looking in from the outside would be able to see you anywhere in the room. We will not be staying there again and I would definitely not recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not book room 222
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear heltom1,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the executive suite. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Rooms very small,Bathroom was nothing like the other Holiday Inn Express Hotels I have stayed in before, Food was terrible, Staff was very friendly and helpful, The location was Okay.
The hotel could use more ambiance and update the rooms, Could use some painting and Breakfast was terrible,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is guest like you that help us improve as a hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area. We pride ourselves in maintaining our hotel above brand standards and we apologize if you were not happy with your room, and the breakfast. I can assure you that your input is greatly appreciated and is being taken into consideration. We hope that you decide to stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at just about all the Holiday Inn Express locations in San Diego and the surrounding area and this one is near the top when it comes to location and cleanliness. Surprisingly quiet for where it is located, we enjoyed a great view of the golf course across the street. When we arrived, the staff was very helpful and also upgraded us to a room with a sitting room. The floor we were located on was quiet, but I attribute that to being the top floor, the AC in the room was quick and quiet when we wanted to change the temperature in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After staying here to watch BYU dominate SDSU in the Fiesta Bowl, I looked up the hotel on Google Maps to look at the place I had stayed on Streetview. Even though the picture was from only a year earlier, back when it was a Comfort Inn, I could see that the hotel has improved drastically. It was a very nice modern hotel when I stayed there, unlike what you'll find on Streetview. Inside, the hotel is just as nice with perfectly comfortable rooms with all the things needed. The breakfast was very nice, especially since it was free. The only complaints I have are extremely minor; the elevator was unusually slow and the pool was one of the smallest I've ever seen. Also, parking in the inner area can be difficult because it is so tight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area

Address: 4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn
San Diego Days Inn
Days Inn Mission Bay
Days Inn San Diego
San Diego Day Inn Mission Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.