We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comic Con 2007” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #127 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comic Con 2007”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of Comic Con 2007 (Comic Con is a citywide conference which pretty much sells out every hotel room in the San Diego area.)

Upon arrival parking was relatively easy to find as it is adjacent to the hotel BUT the parking lot was full, so once we found a parking spot, we went through the nearest hotel entrance we could find and it was a very long TIRING walk to the front desk. The front desk staff was very courteous and cordial and check-in was speedy.

We were checked into a room in the Marina Tower (the main tower) and we were VERY disappointed. We had requested a room with a King bed but were checked into one with two beds instead. The room was very basic and it was quite noisy, as well. IF we had stayed in this room for the duration of our stay, I would have been thoroughly dissapointed.

The following morning we received a call from the Front Desk stating that if we desired we could move to a room in the Bay Tower. We packed up our things, drove to the other Tower (it IS necessary to drive between the Towers...too far to walk) and boy, were we pleased. The Bay tower has quite the resort feel to it and it is adjacent to the Marina (not sure about the Marina Tower as our room there faced the main street) The lobby was very elegantly decorated and the rooms were very large and cozy and were decorated in a tasteful nautical theme. It was much quieter in this Tower and the vibe was much more laid-back than it was at the main tower. They should be two different hotels!!

My advice: Stay at the Bay Tower unless you are there overnight on a layover and only care about the bed...
Also for those attending Comic-Con, this hotel is located at a very good location. The Comic-Con trolly makes pickups right outside the main entrance, and the Comic-
Con room rate was very reasonable, as well.
All in all, I would stay here again (but only in the Bay Tower!! :) )

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    903
    472
    254
    150
See reviews for
564
625
144
835
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

We really enjoyed are stay at the Sheraton. We got a great deal though. I don't know that I'd want to pay $200 a night, plus parking and internet though. We stayed in the Bay Tower. It is like another hotel, seperate from the Marina Tower, and has it's own check-in desk. There is quite a bit of distance between the 2 of them. The bay tower is smaller than the marina tower. There was plenty of parking at the Bay Tower, and it was $22 a day, or $28 for valet. The room was nice enough, and we had a great view of the bay, downtown, and Coronado Island. I would say this tower has a better view. The beds were comfy, and they had lots of comfy pillows too. The bathroom was small, but the shower worked well. Towels were not the best. The internet was $11.95 a day, and it was on the slow side. The mini-bar is expensive and if you move something in it, you will be charged, although they did take the charge off my bill, with no problem. Being close to the airport, I did not hear the airplanes at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed for one night post cruise and were pleased for the one night with a Priceline pick. We needed a place close to cruise terminal, airport and with a nice pool and the hotel filled the bill. It is out of the way for exploring San Diego. We did not have a car, parking cost were not an issue, and a machine for printing the boarding passes for next morning's flight is in the lobby, as are computers that are availabel free of charge of 45 minuits. Came in handy. The pool is very nice, but cement is falling and towels are had in the fitness room. We had fun later the afternoon watching the ship sail by for it s next cruise. Used the balcony a lot, it had chairs

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSDHotelManagement, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 1, 2009
Dear Guest,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay when you return to San Diego.

Sincerely,
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

The Sheraton is literally across the street from airport and by most accounts is a higher end hotel with business personal in mind but Sheraton is actually a gem for families as well, now, there is the main hotel building which sits across the airport and harbour overlooking boats, and then around the corner the bay tower which is in my opinion the better option jutst based on the fact it overlooks the ocean! So nice the balcony i great, pool hot tub although not working properly as far as heat during our stay was impeccably clean. Free starbucks coffee in the room and the beds you cannot beat.......you need a car if you want to go out to eat or sightsee. The hotel does charge 22 a day for self parking but truth be told all hotels in this area do that. The only complaint i have is the bathroom is very small and was not very clean hair on the ground tub was not as clean as i would have hoped....but the room itself very clean.Beware no fridge no microwave and the in room mini bar is ultra sensitive so dont touch it or the sensors charge your room for snacks you didnt eat....but they were gracious and quick to take off the charges that were invalid. I was able to do early check in and front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Thanks for a pleasant stay love the Sheraton...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Very close to airport which was helpful. Checked in at Marina Tower. Young guys standing around that let customers also stand around. Room in Bay Tower which feels like staying at a budget hotel. Scratchy old generic white bath towels. Only enough for one shower (one set each). Nice bath products. Bathroom clean but so crowded. Small bathtub. I did like the bed and there were lots of pillows. View of the marina which was nice. We didn't mind the airport noise because we are pilots of a small plane, but it was frequent and loud. Not sure a non-pilot would be happy with that. No WiFi in the tower. Had to use an ethernet cable with my laptop. $12/day for internet that is slow. Couldn't watch internet videos because connection so slow. That really annoyed me. Restaurants had pretty good food but average service. Overpriced for what you get. Either lunch or dinner always $45 or more without liquor. Conference facilities fine. Long walk between the two towers which is nice for the most part. I will be back in SD for another conference in Oct. and will not plan to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSDHotelManagement, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 1, 2009
Dear Guest,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us and certainly take your feedback seriously. We apologize for the issues you encountered and hope you had the opportunity to address these concerns with the front desk, so we could have the opportunity to make it right. Again, thank you for your comments and feedback.

Sincerely,
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

I got the room through Hotwire for about over $100 a night. I was a little concerned before the stay due to some pretty iffy reviews on Tripadvisor, but my wife and I both came away very happy. The rooms are very clean and brightly decorated. Someone commented how the color scheme gave her a headache, but I liked the bright blue nautical theme and it fit well with the hotel. We liked the location. The views are great, it's close to the airport and all the major attractions, and there's a walking/jogging trail right outside. Of note, there's FREE internet available in the lobby. They don't seem to advertise it, probably because they want you to pay for it in the room, but it's there. The only negative, which is probably true of all the major hotels in the city, is the outrageous $22 per day parking fee.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a meeting. The room and the facilities are nice. Be aware though that the hotel has 2 towers and they are NOT close to one another so if you are staying for a meeting ask to be in the tower where the meeting rooms are ( I believe it's the Marina tower). As far as airport noise I didn't hear it. I walked from the hotel to downtown, it's a 45 mins easy walk, there is a nice sidewalk that goes all round the bay, lots of people jogging and riding bikes so pretty safe. Didnt eat at the restaurants or used the pool, but my room was right in front of the pool and looked nice. You can walk to the hotel from the airport, it's right in front of it, 5 min walk. I didn't have any luggage with me so had no problem, but the hotel provides a free shuttle back and forth from the airport, but again it's extremely easy to get to it just by following the sidewalk.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.