We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #120 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three nights.unfortunately had a low level room with no view.the rooms are well enough appointed....but the check in process was really slow.The gym and pool are we're of a good standard.
The hotel is reasonably expensive and a car is essential to reach points of interest.the most annoying part is the $25 dollar a night parking costs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear BKW65,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a chance to relax by the pools. Although your stay was filled with positives, it is disappointing to hear that you experienced a slow check in process.

Thank you for visit and for your kind words. We hope to host you again during future travels to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    850
    452
    246
    140
See reviews for
551
593
139
790
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I arrived early for my stay and the room was not ready. I was told it would be 30 minutes and I could wait by the pool. 20 minutes later Daniela "front desk employee, from Germany" came out to the pool with a big smile and my room keys. She is an exceptional employee, always smiling and friendly. A great example to anyone in the service industry.

Jim Owens

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear James O,

Thank you for all your kind words and for your recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. Our team is always trying to improve the experience our guests take away, and it is truly pleasing to hear your stay was remarkable.

Your feedback is appreciated and I will make sure your kind words and mentioning of our staff falls into the correct hands and passed down to the employees who truly made your experience unforgettable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina when time permits.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Conveniently located at the airport . Offers frequent shuttle service. Short didtance from downtown area and other Sandiago attractions. Offers two towers with Marina harbor view or bay view. A quality breakfast buffet or menu available. Room service available. Also a bar/small meals on site.

Room Tip: book in advance for beat rates offers a prepaid rate if sure your visiting this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear terry l,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. You truly used our property the way it was designed and we couldn't be happier to hear about the details of your stay.

Chef will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed every plate served.
Thank you for visit and for your kind comments. We hope to host you again during future travels to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was just an average hotel for us.The rooms were nice and clean.Our room had a nice view of marina.We were there to see San Diego and this hotel is a good distance from most of the sights which made it costly to get around. There was a shuttle bus on site but ended at 10pm.(for a cost)The biggest problem was the $22.00 a night for parking.This would a great hotel if you were arriving by boat or a 1 night layover because it is right next to airport.

Room Tip: a room overlooking pool and marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear bobbyclobber2010,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and we were delighted to read the wonderful review you shared on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing memorable experiences, and we're glad it showed.

While the majority of your time with us was excellent, we are disappointed to hear you feel the hotel is a large distance from other attractions. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed just one night. If your staying to visit san diego there are better options downtown. This place is across from the airport with not much close by. Lobby is very nice but hotel rooms are a bit old. Resturants are pricey but unless your driving nothing else around to choose. Definitly not quiet with airport next to it. The biggest complaint was water pressure it was horrible. I would stay here again but not for what they ask for a night

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear VegasTraveler80,

Thank you for your review and recent stay. We understand the complications travelers face when planning a vacation and we are deeply sorry our hotel was not what you originally expected.

We never want a guest to depart from our hotel with worries that there San Diego experience was lack-luster and we apologies if these are the memories you took back with you.

Thank you, again, for your review and we hope for another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A group of friends rode our bikes from Las Vegas to San Diego. Pulling into the Sheraton Hotel and Marina after a long hot ride we were pleased to see a cool tranquil place to rest our tired bones. The available shuttle was a great way to get around the town. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although it took a while for the room to cool off after we check in due to the housekeeping staff shutting them off after every guest departs but that just gave us an excuse head to the pool for awhile. The employees were very helpful and always greeted us with a smile and ask how they could be of service. The only problem I had was the water pressure in the room, it wasn't great, it did the job but could have been a lot better. Overall though I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

my experience at this hotel was overall verygood. This was a business trip so i did not reall get to enjoy the really nice pool area. I had a balcony overlooking the pool and the marina wich was excellant. i would strongly reccomend that if you go you insist on a balcony with Marina view.

The service was generally good. Everyone was upbeat and friendly.There was an incedent where i needed a new room key. i did not have my wallet so no ID but i had a large meeting ID badge on. they made me go to the room and wait for security. after a long wait security came and just opened the door...no request for ID?

The meeting facilities were good. The banquet food was disapointing. Both quality and selection.
The service at the Tapitina bar and the bar by the pool was exceptional.

This hotel is very close to the airport the wrong room and you will be staring at it. it is also far from downtown. there is an exceptional bus that will run you back and forth to town and atractions for 3 dollars per day...highly recommend this.

Verg efficient airport shuttle service as well.

Room Tip: i think a combination of pool marina view above the 6th floor is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;