We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #128 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is really two properties that are separated by about a 7-10 minute walk. First and foremost, if you are not in the main (Marina) tower, get ready to do some walking. I was stuck in the Bay Tower and had to hoof it over to the Marina Tower for my conference which was fine, but you have to build in that extra time for every trip over. The services at the Bay tower are also not as good. Room service breakfast was supposed to start at 6 AM, but nobody was answering the phone even after 6:30 AM. I then went down to the dining room at 6:30 AM for a wickedly overpriced buffet and was given a wonderful glass of spoiled skim milk. Not much of an apology, nothing comped. Bad service choice. There also isn't much by way of restaurants in the area, so you should definitely get a car if you are staying here (but don't forget the $22/day for parking.) Housekeeping was really slow. They kept servicing my room later and later, and by the last day it was 4PM before they got to my room. Add to all of this that my room faced the airport, and this place was not worth the money. The prices seem reasonable, until you start getting nickle and dimed, and then add in the fact that it is difficult to walk to anything since you are essentially on a small islet. I only stayed here because of a conference, but I would honestly stay at another location if I had to do it all over again.

Room Tip: Stay away from Bay tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your recent stay and for the time taken to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is with candid feedback like yours that we are able to improve our guest satisfaction and provide every guest a stay to remember.

We like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while in residence. We are disappointed to hear that room service was not responsive to your requests; please rest assured that I will personally address this issue with the appropriate leadership. Our property commonly receives great comments about timely staff, which is why your comments are troubling to hear.

Thank you, again, for leaving your comments. We are hopeful to earn another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel and staff.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    903
    471
    253
    149
See reviews for
564
625
143
835
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I caught the room on sale. I stayed one night in the Marina tower and found the room to be very nice. The view from the balcony of the harbor and the airport were nice. I found the people to be very friendly but the prices to be high. I did not touch the mini bar but did go to the gift shop for soda. The prices were a little on the high side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was a nice size and the balcony though a bit small was fine for myself. They have a green program where if you don't want maid service you gain 500 points a night.They say you will receive a voucher I didn't and had to ask upon checkout. I still havent seen the points appear so that may be a myth. And when they say green they mean green the maid does not enter does not take even the garbage. My first night was very nice in the room second night what a disaster my neighbor was a couple with a baby who believed i guess to let the baby cry itself to sleep. No sleep that night . IMO you shouldnt do that in a hotel especially where the walls are paper thin. View from balcony was of the marina and the airport. Never heard the planes. Quick to get to free shuttle 5 minutes from the airport. That was great . Food was so so . If i had a choice i wouldn't eat their food again. Pool was nice not crowded . Staff was friendly . All in All not a bad hotel just an acceptable hotel . There may be a few hotels just as close with better food. I was there the end of august.

Green Features: green hotel but should explain no entry at all . tell you what you should do with gargabe( put it outside room ) who knows.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Richard R,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our Green Choice program – you should see your points within the next few weeks. Although you felt the dining options were not adequate, we are pleased to hear our associates played a positive role in your experience.

Your constructive comments will be communicated to the appropriate leadership. We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days here, a nice looking hotel, we stayed in the towers overlooking the bay.. Great views! However I think it's time for a renovation of the rooms especially the bathrooms. Our tub got backed-up one morning, but the staff was very accomodating! Also the Hotel is very close to the airport which was a plus! I would stay here again if they renovate.. its time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've stayed at this Sheraton a number of times - it used to be our "go to" hotel in San Diego, but the last two visits have made us want to "go to" anywhere else! First, you need to TRIPLE verify that you are in the tower and the room type that you want. We were put in the wrong tower twice, and didn't get the room type we reserved & paid for two out of three times. Customer service was minimal at best; after much complaining, they threw in a free breakfast but we still didn't get the room we had paid for. The rooms ARE nice, especially in the redecorated Bay Tower (which is the smaller and quieter of the 2 towers, with a MUCH smaller pool & no outdoor bar service). Views are great, and we used to love the outdoor patio bar at the Marina Tower, but on our last two visits it was dirty, crowded, and lacking in service. If you are looking for the downtown San Diego experience, this is not the best place to stay, as you will need to drive to get anywhere. But the views are great, and there is a nice walking path along the shoreline with access to a couple of restaurants. One big plus, the pillows are FABULOUS!

Room Tip: The Bay Tower is further down the road, but much quieter and less crowded. Marina Tower has more am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Leslie D,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay. We appreciate your loyalty and we are deeply disappointed to hear that your latest experience was less than satisfactory.

Although we cannot guarantee specific rooms pre-arrival, I understand that we clearly missed the mark on understanding which tower you were requesting. While I do not have adequate information to investigate the problem, I can assure you that this is rare for our property.

The time taken to write your review is appreciated and we are hopeful for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel, but rooms and bed a little small. Had a great view overlooking pool and marina. Great location, but will definitely need a car unless you want to eat all your meals at the hotel. They charge guests for parking. Not cool. Service was great. They responded quickly to my request for a refrigerator and they even called the room afterwards to make sure request was taken care of timely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A large meeting venue situated with extensive water views in all directions. Overall decor was a little tired but clean. Staff was helpful and efficient. The rooms in the Bay Tower are larger than in the Marina tower. The conference services staff took care of our large group without any problems and the food was varied for each meal and good. We had a service issue in Quinns, the "sports" bar when they took their time getting volume on the TV while we were watching a big game. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: The Bay Tower is a 6 min. walk from the Marina Tower but has larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Earl H,

Thank you for your kind words and for your recent stay at the Sheraton San. It is always exciting to hear about such a great experience here at the hotel.

We understand the importance of listening to the big game, and we do everything possible to create the ultimate lounge to do so. At the same time, we must be sensitive to other guests who may be dining in Quinn’s as well.

Thank you for mentioning our excellent team as it is very important to us that every guest is welcomed with friendly and helpful staff. I know our associates will be proud to hear about your experience.

Thank you again for your review. We are hopeful to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.