We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #134 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“San Diego Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Awesome hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful views and convenient amenities. The hotel is a walk from the airport for the light traveler and you don't have to be especially fit. If you are fit, the Midway and lots of really fantastic restaurants are within walking distance - you can always take a cab or bike taxi back. Or, rent a bike for a small fee at the hotel. Best way to see San Diego without the expensive and trouble of limited downtown parking. The concierge, Stella, was especially knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view and maybe you will be able to catch the dolphin and sea lion researchers doing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Cheryl B,

Thank you very much your kind words and recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.

Being so close to downtown and other water front destinations, our guests can explore the attractions or relax in peace at the hotel. We are pleased to hear you also had the opportunity to experience this and share with future travel guests.

Thank you for visit and for your kind comments about our team of hard working associates. We hope to host you again during future travels to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    945
    494
    262
    159
See reviews for
577
640
147
889
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I was there for 3nights in april. The view of my room was really nice, i saw the pool of hotel and the sea. I have really great tome there and if i going to US agian i will go there and stay more than one week for relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfy and the staff friendly. We chose this to be close to the airport and the fact that there is a free shuttle to the airport - it did not disappoint. Because the airport is at the end of the runway there is no noise. It was fun to watch the planes land so close by. There is free wifi in the lobby but paid in the room. The king size bed was great. This was excellent value for money

Room Tip: Request the tower closest to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear denisek5,

Thank you very much for writing your review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased to hear you took advantage of the many amenities that our hotel offers.

As you mentioned, our hotel is ideal not only for business travel, but for leisure guests as well. In addition to the convenient location near the airport - the views, food, and service professionals that our hotel boasts is sure to create a completely unique experience for every guest.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit to San Diego!

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am very familiar with this Starwood hotel brand yet, I never had the pleasure to actually stay in a Sheraton.

Because of my previous experience with Starwood, my expectations were very high. If the variance of expectations of low to high were from 0- 100 my expectation would exceed 200. This means, I am looking for mistakes.

Gladly, I could not find a single one. I made my reservation through a third party company for one night at this Sheraton. I made sure to call the hotel afterwards to make sure that I were to call the hotel and make sure my requests were correct and my extra name on the reservation would be there.

The guest service agent I spoke with was very pleasant, helpful and cheerful. He asked if I were driving a car and advised me of the parking fees (I am always thrown off by this because In my town , we never pay for parking)

The property is relatively easy to find, and with a car very easy to get around. If you like to walk, and who wouldn’t with San Diego’s weather, you don’t really need a car there.
Check in was quick and easy.

Here is a WoW factor, without asking, the front desk agent analyzed what the best location was for me. I was traveling with the better half and a 4 year old, she put us on the 1st floor. All of the hotel rooms appear to have balconies, so the lower the best.

The concierge were very helpful, and every employee that I walked by smiled, asked about my stay, or acknowledged my presence.

Overall, Sheraton exceeded my already high expectations.

Room Tip: Always verify your reservation with a guest service agent. This will prevent mistakes and headaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed one night after a cruise and were on the 10th floor of the Bay Tower facing the airport. Pickup was easy by Sheraton's van at the airport where our cruiseline left us. We checked in at the Bay Tower to find a large, clean room with a comfortable king bed, loveseat, desk, and big balcony with a view of the marina and airport. There was little noise from the airport. The bathroom was older, but clean and in good repair. It was decorated nicely as was the room, in a nautical theme. The bellman and reception staff were very helpful.

Warning about the minibar: If you move any item, you have bought it. I had a warm diet coke in my purse and took out a cold one from the minibar and realized that it was mine!! I should had read the sign first. Do not touch an item unless you want to pay for it!!!

There is another portion of the Sheraton that is about a ten minute walk away that has a nice restaurant in it, a Starbucks and other amenities. Overall, we had a nice afternoon and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: A room in the Baytower is a ten minute walk from the main building. A higher room has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear sarleo,

Thank you for leaving such positive comments about our hotel and your time while in residence. Pairing spacious guestrooms with remarkable service is a recipe for an unforgettable experience at our hotel.

Although your overall stay was excellent, we are disappointed to hear that you incurred unnecessary charges on your bill due to the minibar. The sensors built into the minibar are designed to easily track the consumption of the items within. Occasionally, the sensors will assume guests are consuming the contents within, even when they are simply moving things around to fit personal items in. For future visits, please reach out to the front desk and the charges will be investigated further.

Thank you for your review and we hope for another opportunity to host you again when time permits.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything was perfect, except that our toilet was backed up and we had to wait an hour to have maintenance come and fix the problem. In the meantime, my husband had to take my daughter to the lobby to use the restroom.

The other negative is that the Lanai tower is quite a walk. If you have heavy luggage make sure a bellman helps.

We did however, have an amazing view of the harbor from our room. The room was very clean and quite large. The balcony was large and also had a nice view of the lanai pool which has a view of the harbor. The lagoon pool is a much larger pool but the view of the harbor is limited.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ne england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour, outlook over the marina was good but the hotel was out on a limb, to get into San Diego, or to the the gas lamp region was a hell of a hike or a taxi ride to say the least.
San Diego itself was a great repeat trip for us,with loads to do and see

Room Tip: rooms at the rear of the hotel overlook the marina, rooms to the front overlook the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear DAVEYNeEngland,

Thank you for your review and recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the views from your guestroom, but disappointed to hear you found the location inconvenient.

We frequently receive high remarks for being in such close proximity to downtown – but without the noise of the city. For guests who do not travel with a vehicle, we completely understand that finding a taxi could be an inconvenience. To avoid the frustrations, we teamed up with the Big Bay Shuttle and keep a steady flow of taxis on standby.

Your comments are appreciated and we hope to welcome you back for another great experience.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.