We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet with awesome view of yachts in the marina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #134 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet with awesome view of yachts in the marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a conference and was able to stay at this hotel. Directly across from the airport! Best view of all the boats and yachts in the Marina that look awesome when the sun rises and sets. Rooms are ok and have a nautical theme. Draw back is the 1 major restaurant is 2 star caliber and slightly expensive, but the bar restaurant has better food. Truly like the marina view and you can walk along the marina to Sheraton suites! The grounds are nice and maintained. Now if you rent or drive a car parking is 14+ a day cash or credit card are acceptable. Hotel is 13 to 17 miles from the main downtown attractions like the gas lamp district. Marina is next to the naval base as well so you will hear lots of planes from the airport and naval base. All in all Sheraton marina and hotel is a very nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Trippinsista,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and 5 star review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the exceptional views of the marina and bay. While traveling to San Diego, guests expect to experience what the city is best known for. It is our mission to showcase the many qualities of San Diego, including the breathless views and the waterfront locations.

Thank you for sharing your great experience and we hope for the opportunity to host you when travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    983
    515
    274
    163
See reviews for
593
667
152
923
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was having some work done on my home in San Diego so I stayed at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Maina on a Saturday evening. I have stayed at this property many times before and it is the San Diego hotel that I recommend to friends, family and business guests. I have stayed at all of the Starwood Properties in San Diego and this is my favorite. The bayfront location and proximity to the airport, downtown, the Zoo and Sea World make this ideal.

The night I checked in was quite busy. Despitie the crowds, the check-in process was excellent. I waited no more than a few minutes. I am fortunate enough to be a Platinum member but I noticed that the same quality and friendly service was being provided to all those who were checking in. I wish all Starwood properties were as consistent and accomodating as this one. Precious and Jaymie were especially helpful and provided me with a beautiful room that will keep me coming back as a loyal customer. I mentioned that I would like a quiet room and they more than accomodated my request. It was the best night sleep I have had in a long time. As usual, the room was well-appointed and spotless. This may sound trivial, but I appreciate the quality flat screen televisions they have in the rooms. A small point, but it made for an even more enjoyable stay.

The hotel is a large property and what I enjoy, is that it has a resort-type of feel. Just being at the hotel feels like a vacation which after a long week was most welcome. I had access to the Club Room which is one of the best. It is located on the top floor of the hotel and has beautiful views of San Diego Bay. The food and refreshments offered are generous and the service again is excellent.

This is an excellent hotel for the business and vacation traveler alike.

I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the marina are a bit quieter than the ones facing downtown, however, the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I thought I had booked as close to the airport as possible,shocked when other people on the bus got off and people got on ,wanting to go to mexico , let me off half mile down the road, food finishes at 9, just got some flat bread and a glass of beer, large room beautiful, staff have limited english or they speak spanish american room service very expensive it is a chain so what do you expect

Room Tip: check before hand which of the two hotels this is the new one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This property is beautiful. Located right on the Marina, very picturesque. Very close to the San Diego airport & downtown area. We had a 1st floor room, located right near the lovely pool and waterfall.The room was very quiet, no outside noise could be heard with the sliding glass door closed. The cons to this hotel are the parking fee of $22.00 a day..And no free internet. Which is $11.95 per 24 hour period. Very steep in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Just completed a long weekend stay during Mothers Day weekend. This stay was as good as my first stay. Everyone I encountered was very help. Checking in was a breeze. Was upgraded to one of their studio suites which over looks the Marina and city view. Their club lounge is really well stocked plus a great view. Even though this hotel is a 10 minute drive from downtown I would still recommend this hotel. Service has always been great here. Would I stay here again of course.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear gabo29,

Thank you for sharing this great story and for choosing the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina as your hotel of choice. Host you for a second time was an honor and we are pleased to hear your Mother’s Day weekend was unforgettably great.

Upgrading to Club Lounge is the best value offered at the hotel. The complimentary breakfast buffet and WiFi in the high floor lounge is a perfect way to feed and connect with family and friends.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you soon.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The test of a fine hotel is its ability to satisfy its guests; AND to respond well to foul-ups, which this Sheraton did. Our otherwise delightful stay was marred on our last night by a lobby staff-induced foul-up regarding our room keys. However, the next morning, supervisory staff repaired our unreasonably damaged psyches by proving the Sheraton's dedication to taking care of its guests. What might have resulted in a Never To Return experience was immediately turned into a Definite To Return experience. Kudos to Jaynie and Tony !!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: This hotel is the place to stay during the annual Gator By the Bay music festival
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear tom41Denver,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your bitter-sweet experience. While we put tremendous amounts of effort in to minimizing inevitable complications, sometime problems come up that are a major inconvenience for our guests. It is our responsibility to quickly resolve the problem and ensure the guest enjoys the remainder of their stay.

Thank you for sharing this amazing story as we couldn't be more proud of our associates for doing anything necessary to fix the problem. Please be aware that your mention of Jaynie and Tony will be communicated to the appropriate leadership.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times, most recently for four nights to attend a conference. Older hotel, but recent renovations have helped restore much of the original luster of this property. Bay Tower is further from the "action" of the main tower, but the rooms are larger and the views from the bay-side rooms are outstanding. I've typically booked via Hotwire or Priceline and gotten rooms for 50% of hotel's website prices. Despite booking in this fashion, I've found the hotel staff to be very responsive to my requests for a bay-side room. Although hotel is some distance from downtown, the location is ideally for jogging, walking, and renting bicycles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.