We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the first stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #119 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just like the first stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just completed a long weekend stay during Mothers Day weekend. This stay was as good as my first stay. Everyone I encountered was very help. Checking in was a breeze. Was upgraded to one of their studio suites which over looks the Marina and city view. Their club lounge is really well stocked plus a great view. Even though this hotel is a 10 minute drive from downtown I would still recommend this hotel. Service has always been great here. Would I stay here again of course.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear gabo29,

Thank you for sharing this great story and for choosing the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina as your hotel of choice. Host you for a second time was an honor and we are pleased to hear your Mother’s Day weekend was unforgettably great.

Upgrading to Club Lounge is the best value offered at the hotel. The complimentary breakfast buffet and WiFi in the high floor lounge is a perfect way to feed and connect with family and friends.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you soon.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    848
    452
    245
    140
See reviews for
550
590
138
790
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The test of a fine hotel is its ability to satisfy its guests; AND to respond well to foul-ups, which this Sheraton did. Our otherwise delightful stay was marred on our last night by a lobby staff-induced foul-up regarding our room keys. However, the next morning, supervisory staff repaired our unreasonably damaged psyches by proving the Sheraton's dedication to taking care of its guests. What might have resulted in a Never To Return experience was immediately turned into a Definite To Return experience. Kudos to Jaynie and Tony !!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: This hotel is the place to stay during the annual Gator By the Bay music festival
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear tom41Denver,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your bitter-sweet experience. While we put tremendous amounts of effort in to minimizing inevitable complications, sometime problems come up that are a major inconvenience for our guests. It is our responsibility to quickly resolve the problem and ensure the guest enjoys the remainder of their stay.

Thank you for sharing this amazing story as we couldn't be more proud of our associates for doing anything necessary to fix the problem. Please be aware that your mention of Jaynie and Tony will be communicated to the appropriate leadership.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times, most recently for four nights to attend a conference. Older hotel, but recent renovations have helped restore much of the original luster of this property. Bay Tower is further from the "action" of the main tower, but the rooms are larger and the views from the bay-side rooms are outstanding. I've typically booked via Hotwire or Priceline and gotten rooms for 50% of hotel's website prices. Despite booking in this fashion, I've found the hotel staff to be very responsive to my requests for a bay-side room. Although hotel is some distance from downtown, the location is ideally for jogging, walking, and renting bicycles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights at the Sheraton for a conference. Conference services were very good. The location is out of the city on a small island. Great views and walking path nearby. Rooms were very clean and beds/pillows were incredibly comfortable! There are two towers - Bay Tower has fewer amenities, Marina Tower has Starbucks, nice pools and business services. Not someplace I would stay as a tourist in San Diego due to location but very nice accommodations for our conference!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent water views. Close to downtown. Aircraft carriers across the bay. Beautiful pools and hot tubs. Rooms very clean, nautical theme, beds comfy. Five minutes from airport, continuous shuttle service. Staff very friendly. Was there for business conference but would come back for personal travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Not our typical pleasant Sheraton experience ... We had an upgraded room and it was a decent size but at that point of being run down without looking that way. Our sink handle was loose making use of it difficult, shower head leaked and the towel hook fell off the wall. Notified the front desk, but you would think daily service would catch these things. They only fixed the hook and nothing else.
Restaurants on premise were mediocre quality and very expensive and service was slow every time. Service st the front desk was also bizarre - no customers around but asking a question always required them to stop web browsing or whatever they were doing to even look up to acknowledge your presence that always seemed to annoy them.
Standard food fare in the club lounge but drinks weren't cheap at all. Better to go to happy hour someplace fun than that stuffy place. And $22 a day for uncovered self parking at a place close to nothing walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear DavidJustDavid,

Thank you for your review and recent stay. Your experience at our hotel is certainly not the norm and we are deeply saddened that you did not find quality and value in our features and amenities. The lack-luster service you received at the front desk and with the guestroom repairs is unacceptable and will be further investigated.

We never want a guest to depart from our hotel with worries that there San Diego experience was deteriorated. We certainly owe you an apology.

Thank you, again, for your review and we hope for another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed the weekend here, and had an incredible time! She is a Starwood employee, and knows what level of service to expect from them. We were definitely impressed at their passion in what they do and their desire to go above and beyond the normal standard to ensure guest satisfaction.
We stayed in the Marina Tower, and would definitely recommend it. We had a great view of the Marina, to include a local pirate ship. The hotel is located very close to downtown San Diego and The Gaslamp District. While being located extremely close to the airport, we didn't even notice.
A big Thanks to Daniel the front desk Manager for getting us in on such short notice. We loved the hotel and staff, and will make a point to stay here every opportunity we have!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear ChelsandJosh06,

Thank you for your sharing such an amazing story, Josh! We love welcoming Starwood employees to experience the high standard of service and amenities that our guest receives.

Our associates are the best in the world and we take pride in showcasing the best of San Diego and the hotel, every time. Please be aware that your mention of Daniel will be communicated to the appropriate people.

Thank you very much for your kind words and we are excited to welcome you back for another exceptional experience at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;